We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hostel”
Review of Nightingale Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sofia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nightingale Hostel
Ranked #86 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a really nice stay in Nightingale Hostel. Nice people and really good breakfast. In the evening we eat bulgarian food in the hostel. That was nice! its a good hostel in the centre of the town. everthing is just around the corner! you could say its almost perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

I was with the flu when i arrived and the first few days i spent in bed. there was always a warm cup of tea and plenty of extra blankets for me when i wanted. very kind people and a great family vibe. i was very happy i stayed here! they made such good food i couldn't resist even though i asked for somewhere else to eat as soon as i smelt what they had cooked i decided to have a night in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Great location, easy to find and close to all of sofias main attractions. The staff are really friendly and willing to help. Traditional home made Bulgarian food offered for dinner at low prices, and free breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Digbyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hostel is in a really central location and super easy to find - just look for the book market. The owner was super friendly and helpful. He gave us great hospitality and great recommendations for things to see/do and places to eat. He gave us great directions to the Rila Monastery too. The beds, common room, breakfast and everything was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristenDayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

A brilliant hostel, with a brilliant atmosphere, owned by a brilliant man! Mikhail made us laugh daily, our every need was catered for and more (offered us salads and pasta and rakia and whatever else he had going at any point in the day!), we were given a bulgarian language lesson, met so many other nice people, and just generally had a great time! We ended up staying an extra night because we loved it so much. Beds, showers, toilets, common room, computers, balcony, location, everything was great.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank rose1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Nightingale hostel is in a great spot central to everthing,clean and quiet and run by a great guy named Chris,tonight i met the owner Mihail who is a very nice bloke and was giving some good advice about some horse riding to do here.. its all good at Nightingale,,ciao!!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank mattywill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We could not manage to contact the owner to organise pick up from train station so had to get a taxi, luckily the taxi was not bad. Okay customer service but we arrived with some people we met on the train who did not have a reservation and after initially being told there was space for them, it turned out they had other bookings. After no luck finding them another hostel he said they could stay. Great for them but the owner will have to refuse the people who reserved...
There are nice showers in the big mens bathroom with a balcony. The womens however is so so small, and the showers are INSIDE the toilet cubicles. As a girl I find this grossly unfair and frustrating.
Not a great entrance to the building butt is much much better inside. Clean-ish. Good internet and lounge area.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Softscooop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sofia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sofia
Hilton Sofia
#3 of 135 in Sofia
1,364 reviews
8.4 mi away
No photo provided
Discret Hotel
#1 of 2 in Vladaya
1 reviews
4.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#55 of 135 in Sofia
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Sofia
Central Hotel Sofia
#6 of 135 in Sofia
599 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sofia
Holiday Inn Sofia
#17 of 135 in Sofia
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
10 Coins Hostel
10 Coins Hostel
#5 of 140 in Sofia
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale Hostel

Address: pl.Slaveykov 2A | 1, Solunska Str, Sofia 1000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia > Oborishte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Sofia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightingale Hostel is located at famous Slaveykov Square right in the center of Sofia downtown - cool place where you will find 6 rooms, a common room, 2 Shower places with 24 hrs hot water, 2 toilets,an equipped kitchen, Free Wi-FI internet, a tourist desk, secured lockers in dormitories, key card access system and 24 hrs front man.From 8.30am to 10.00am we provide a complimentary free breakfast with a choice of cereals, milk, tea, coffee and sugar with Check In after 1pm, Check Out before 12 am. You can use our luggage room and kitchen for free.After 11pm you should put down the noise and drink out of a hostel.For travelers with artistic abilities and if they want to make performance for other guests we offer a free nights stay. Enjoy your stay in Nightingale Hostel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing