We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and food near Sofia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lebed

Lebed
Ranked #451 of 1,004 Restaurants in Sofia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view and food near Sofia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The restaurant is in Pancharevo, a suburb of Sofia a short drive from the city, and is located on a large terrace overlooking the big water reservoir and the beautiful mountain on the other side. Perfect for a summer evening alfresco. Inside it is more formal - after being recently refurbished in slightly Asian style. Service was great, attentive and efficient, the food delicious. It offers broadly Mediterranean cuisine, with fresh fish and meats (a separate sub-menu of a variety of steaks), pasta, as well as interesting seasonal salads and platters to share, and rich desserts. The wine list is not overcomplicated, with its main focus on premium Bulgarian wines, but also international offerings. There was a special kids corner with animation. The restaurant also features a small zoo of sorts - actually a collection of exotic birds - pheasants (at least 15 varieties) and peacocks. Prices are on the high side for Bulgaria, very reasonable in the international context.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlado24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for a Summer evening in good company”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lebed is outside of the city centre, so we do not go there very often, but it is a treat if you have guests or just somebody you want to treat, a birthday to celebrate etc: food is good, the location is really nice, service is fine, wine list good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelleSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lebed Restaurant sits on the edge of a lovely lake in the hills close to Sofia. By taxi it is about a 15 – 20 minute drive, and well worth the journey, especially as taxis are not that expensive. It is a large restaurant, but carefully designed so that you are not conscious of there being a lot of other guests. There are different areas for seating, so it suits a romantic dinner, supper with friends or even a wedding reception. If you are going for a romantic supper I’d recommend asking for a lakeside table.

The restaurant itself is modern in design and beautifully decorated, stylish and carefully lit. Care has clearly gone in to creating a wonderful ambience.

The menu is extensive, perhaps overly so (but I’m dreadful at making my mind up) and is a modern take on Bulgarian cuisine, so expect plenty of meat and cheese. The food is good, I had a lovely ‘veal sampler’ and a super chocolate soufflé, and the wine list is fairly extensive, largely the better Bulgarian labels.

It’s at the expensive end of the scale, albeit still good value against other European capitals, although in absolute terms the steaks were expensive – but my feeling is that this is the case for steak anywhere in Bulgaria.

The service by and large was good (unusual for Bulgaria) although we had a slight ‘blip’ when the wrong wine was brought to the table.

So in summary a good location with great ambience and very nice food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markw_bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A superb restaurant - food, service, location, everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent a quite delightful 3-4 hours here. Welcomed as if returning friends and guests (actually our first visit) we were shown to one of the best tables in the place - at the front overlooking the beautiful lake and mountains. The service we was formal and friendly, unobtrusive but there just when you need it!

Probably one of the top 10 locations of any restaurant I have been to!

The food was quite superb. I started with the potato-wrapped chicken with an amazing dip / sauce, followed by expertly grilled fresh salmon with a mixed salad in the coolest triangular bowls. A lovely mellow Bulgarian red was superb and my friends tuna and duck with raspberries turn out to be better choices than mine. The strawberry cheesecake was (I am told) amazing - I no longer indulge in pud! Great coffee and no hurry to leave.

Allow about 15 lev each way for cab, but really you can spend many hours there - we planned to walk around the lake a little but was just too hot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Been there many times, Always 1st Class...Better in the Winter, it's beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's nice to see a real good restaurant in Sofia,,Bulgaria, with proper service,,,,you get your starter when you start, and it's done correctly, The atmosphere is wonderful..the staff is friendly and knowledgable of the menu they are serving..the wine list is to Dream of. !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bongobyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebed also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Lebed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing