We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yafata - CLOSED

Yafata
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I definitely recommend Pri Yafata. It's an old restaurant with lots of traditional decorations all around, and its menu features the highlights of Bulgarian cuisine. The wait staff is definitely knowledgeable and will work with you to make sure your experience there is as good as it can be. Best of all, they serve up true delicacies that will probably leave you wanting more. If you go, I hope you like it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Squeegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delish food, worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stopped here because the hostel told me this place had good traditional Bulgarian. I was a bit worried when I didn't see anyone else there -- but then I realized it was only 4:30 and way too early for dinner!

I asked the stone-faced waiter for recommendations; I'm pretty sure he pointed to every single thing on the menu. I got the pork, sausage, and mushrooms in chili sauce, which blew my socks off! I wasn't expecting it to be so good. It looked sort of boring, like it would just take like a beef stew. But the spice blend and the right amount of heat and the tenderness of the meat with the generous mushrooms........... very very good!

I hear they have live music later at night, but I wasn't there late. I wish I had more time in Sofia to try more dishes at this place. Alas, I will save it for another trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomnomyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had dinner. Nice stuff. Good red wine 18'5 leva. Food was good. Folklore and payed Bulgarian music. We loved the atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mark692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Invest in a new chef!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This a typical Bulgarian establishment serving typical Bulgarian fare. The restaurant is furnished and decorated in typical Bulgarian fashion. The only reason we chose to eat here was that it was directly opposite our hotel and we were caught in a thunderstorm! The menu was a 'meatfest'!! My partner chose the mixed grill and I had shish kebabs. My partner's meal was delivered on a plate the size of a dustbin lid and piled up high. There was chicken and sausage and other types of meat that defied desciption! All served luke warm with cold roasted vegetables. My lamb kebabs were inedible. There is an apathy about this type of establishment that I find puzzling. I don't expect 'fine dining' but at least the food could be well cooked and prepared. Avoid at all costs!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HardyMarsh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“food OK but local dancers are quite annoying”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Can't say much more than the title says. The food is mostly national Bulgarian cuisine and it is fine with reasonable prices. But these dancers are really a pain as they come to each table and moreover whenever I've been there they are always present. A constant threat :)

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Yavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yafata also viewed

 
Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing