We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Mala Kuhinja

Mala Kuhinja
Ranked #19 of 392 Restaurants in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In our restaurant you can find daily fresh staff. We offer you a Vegan menu,Vegetarian menu and Gluten free also.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our first meal out in Sarajevo and it was fantastic. The chef combines some asian flavors with the traditional balkan flavors and the results are spectacular. It is only open for lunch but if you bring a part of 10 or more they will open it to your group for dinner. Whenever I have a large group in the future I will always bring them here because it was so amazing. The amount of food you are served is quite large with several courses (soup, salad, two entree courses and dessert). Everything is made using fresh ingredients and you can bring your own alcohol. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seaglass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    40
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Vegan, Vegetarian and Gluten Free Options!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wow, what a treasure to find this place. They don't have a menu but you tell them what you won't eat and they will make you an incredible meal. It's like having your own personal chef. Talk about fresh food! Sadly, I only discovered this place on my last day in Sarajevo after I already had lunch at another restaurant. So I only had the vegan corn soup. It was delicious. My husband had a stir fry dish that he said was awesome. Senad and Rafim are the owners and they were great. We really enjoyed meeting them. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sarajevo at its finest”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stopped in Sarajevo for lunch on our way through the country and what a fantastic find this restaurant turned out to be. There is no menu, the chef/owner asks about allergies/dislikes and proceeds to bring out one amazing course after another. They do not serve alcohol but allow you to bring your own or the owner will run next door and pick up something for you like a Sarajevsko (one of the worlds finest beers and a signature of Sarajevo) as he did for us. Truly an experience NOT to be missed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was not only one of the best meals we had on our entire vacation, but one of the best meals we have had...period. The simplicity of the ingredients with the creativity of spices made each course more than perfect. The place is small, but comfortable, there are only two people working, and they greet you warmly and also cook your meal....there's no menu, but we were asked if there was anything we didn't eat...and I couldn't believe the bill, so incredibly reasonable. Go to this place before it becomes impossible to get into!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ShannaMiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I cannot recommend Mala Kuhinja highly enough. The owner was tremendously nice; the food was amazing. Don't miss this place if passing through Sarajevo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mala Kuhinja also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Mala Kuhinja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing