We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to go”
Review of Cevabdzinica Zeljo

Cevabdzinica Zeljo
Ranked #9 of 378 Restaurants in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“You need to go”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The consensus on here is right: best cevapi ever. It is simple and no nonsense. Go, eat, and get blown away by how amazing meat, bread, and white onion can be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    194
    52
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible čevapčići....”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I will not give 5.0 to legendary "Željo" because in 2 occasions we had the feeling that we need to eat as soon as possible and "get lost". Staff was not rude, but makes it clear that you should go (taking away the plate while still eating the last bite). Also, they have not even asked if we want anything to drink..

In any other restaurant, i would give them 1.0 for that, but quality of čevapčići and lepinja is 10.0 (not 5.0) so... what else can i say...

don`t miss Željo... even if it`s crowded, if you need to wait 20 minutes to get a (part of) table,, it`s worth of waiting...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zvonimir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“the best ćevapi i had...ever.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

as the title says the best ćevapi i ever had.
and i've tried a lot of them.
but these are the ones that blew me away.
you eat them, you are full, but you don't get heavy. it almost seems as if you have not eaten anything. it did not upset my stomach, it did not give me any problems whatsoever. considering it's a lot of meat with bread and onions, this is not a usual thing.
if you're there i recommend 10 pieces with kajmak and a glass of yogurt.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Chevapi.......Ah! An absolute blast in every sense of the word!
You will love this restaurant, you will go back every single day you stay in Sarajevo.

The restaurant carries the name of one of the two most famous football clubs in Sarajevo, "Zeljo".
They have a long tradition and a great atmosphere.
You will be so happy after leaving this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“the best ćevapi in entire Sarajevo”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The service is so quick, we ordered and the ćevapi were in front of us in 2 minutes. The atmosphere is authentic Baščaršijan, simple and very old-fashioned, people are coming in and out. there is no way to eat anything that is not fresh because they sell about 20 portions per minute. Our kids (7 and 12) often remember these, and ask us to go again in Sarajevo because of good cevapi (we live in Croatia, and we can eat cevapi here, but not that good).Very good bosnian specialty, try them in Zeljo is a must when you are in Sarajevo!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ines R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cevabdzinica Zeljo also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Cevabdzinica Zeljo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing