We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ćevapi in entire Sarajevo”
Review of Cevabdzinica Zeljo

Cevabdzinica Zeljo
Ranked #9 of 389 Restaurants in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“the best ćevapi in entire Sarajevo”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The service is so quick, we ordered and the ćevapi were in front of us in 2 minutes. The atmosphere is authentic Baščaršijan, simple and very old-fashioned, people are coming in and out. there is no way to eat anything that is not fresh because they sell about 20 portions per minute. Our kids (7 and 12) often remember these, and ask us to go again in Sarajevo because of good cevapi (we live in Croatia, and we can eat cevapi here, but not that good).Very good bosnian specialty, try them in Zeljo is a must when you are in Sarajevo!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ines R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    196
    53
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Probably best cevapi in Old Town”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Basically if you ask locals they will recommend you three cevap houses: Zeljo, Mrkva and Petica Ferhatovic. I tested all of them and my definitive recommendation is Zeljo. First of all I really like taste of cevapi in Zeljo, and second I was disappointed with other two: the ones in Mrkva were rare on the inside and the ones in Ferhatovic were too salty and made me feel bloated for hours after eating them.

Also be sure to ask for "kajmak" (heavy cream spread, local specialty) with your cevapi, or if you don't like this ask for "kiselo mlijeko", drink similar to yogurt, also local specialty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Textbook Bosniak Cevabzinica”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Families and locals sit down and order 5, 10 or 15 cevapci and there's not much room for anything else on the menu. It comes out in a metal plate - served with deliciously spongy br. Cheese and raw onions are extra, but definitely worth it. No beer or coffee is served here, so don't expect to wash down this national dish with either, but eat like the locals and head here for the best cevapci you'll ever have. And at local prices, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sayohatchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it - Went Twice”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Purists grumble that there is much better Cevapi to be had, but you can't argue with the position of this place, being right in the old town. I loved mine - meat, cheese and bread: what's not to love.
Really tasty if you go for the '15' option, you won't be hungry for a while.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPartlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Favourite place”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First place to visit on my every trip to Sarajevo! It´s not the ćevapi alone (although they are great), it´s the atmosphere, waiters, the man at the cash register-whole package!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dario Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cevabdzinica Zeljo also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Cevabdzinica Zeljo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing