We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you get a receipt”
Review of Guest house Skend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guest house Skend
Ranked #16 of 124 Sarajevo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2010

The guesthouse is fairly well-located, about 25 minutes' walk along the river to the Bascarsija area. My room was comfortable and breakfast adequate, but the continuous sound of gurgling water pipes made it very difficult to get a decent night's sleep. Reception, which is in the family's living room, was often noisy with loud music and children running around. The smell of cigarettes was also very noticeable. On the eve of my departure I was shocked when I was asked to pay my bill a second time. The owner refused to acknowledge the invoice she had written when I showed it to her and became quite agitated when I refused to pay again. My advice would be to ask for a receipt as proof of payment and not to accept an invoice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishRoverBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Guest house Skend
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

Essentially the accommodation comprises of an extension to a family's house which has private bedrooms and a shared communal area, kitchen and bathroom. The rooms are very well catered for with a TV, plenty of space and good shelter from Sarajevo's blazing summer sun.

The hospitality of the family is probably the best I've ever experienced in a hotel/hostel. The kitchen is kept stocked with bread, cooked meats, spreads, tea, coffee, cereal, juice and whatever else you would like for your breakfast/lunch. The family are extremely helpful with any requests (though only the youngest son speaks English very well) and go out of their way at every opportunity to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. One morning I went to wash some clothes in the utility room and the older woman of the family stopped me and insisted that I didn't need to worry about it - when I returned all of my clothes were washed, ironed and placed on my bed!

Location wise I don't think you can fault it - it's a short walk to the main centre of Sarajevo and right next to a large shopping/sports centre - and it's very quiet so you can get a good sleep. The only downside for some people might be the quiet nature of the hostel and the lack of partying/fun, but not looking for that kind of trip I was delighted with the service I received.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blank_frackis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Very nice, clean, well cared for, comfortable rooms. Pension run by a very warm and charming couple. Had a bit of trouble finding it the first night, but that was our fault (tip: DO NOT GO UP THE HILL). Would recommend very highly to anyone visiting Sarajevo.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlstuckinacube2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

I used this small family run hotel several times over a 3 year period, mostly on business trips to Sarajevo. I have always felt at home there and very appreciated as a customer.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BokiBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

this might be listed on hostel websites but its more of a family home or guesthouse. the location in skenderija is a 20 min walk from the old town bascarsija or 15 mins to the train station. each floor has private rooms with tv in each room. there are two shared bathrooms on each floor with laundry facilities in one. there is a common kitchen on each floor and the fridge has basics like bread, milk, and fruit juice. family is friendly but does not speak much english.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

we have been in skend hostel for 2 nights, but we could have spend there much more time. It is actually a private house, and the owners are really sweet, they make you feel at home.
We'll be back in skend hostel in summertime!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank volimbalkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rossana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 68 in Sarajevo
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#3 of 68 in Sarajevo
157 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guest House Rose
Guest House Rose
#11 of 124 in Sarajevo
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Guesthouse Sirko
Guesthouse Sirko
#46 of 124 in Sarajevo
2 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pansion Harmony
Pansion Harmony
#2 of 124 in Sarajevo
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Garni Hotel Konak
Garni Hotel Konak
#10 of 68 in Sarajevo
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest house Skend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest house Skend

Address: Tekija 12, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Sarajevo
Price Range: $44 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guest house Skend 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Guest house Skend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing