We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Quiet Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guest house Skend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guest house Skend
Ranked #25 of 107 Sarajevo B&B and Inns
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was a nice little guest house we stayed at in Sarajevo, Bosnia, it was the choosen accomodation with INtrepid travel.

This was a nice little place run by a friendly local family. One rule you have to take your shoes off on entering and walk in slippers or socks.

The room I had was very nice with AC and TV and a nice window. Pitcher of water was provided with some type of bun baked by the lady. The bathroom was around the corner and was quite ok with good shower and everything.

Room was cleaned everyday. Lobby area was small but had lots of plants and very clean. Free wi fi in whole building. Had a nice dining rooms with pop out windows where we cooked with the family.

Breakfast provided was simple but nice.

Overall I would recommend this place to anyone who plans on visiting Sarajevo and was a more authentic experience with the cultures.

Room Tip: All single rooms on the bottom floor. Overall very quiet in whole house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
12
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This guesthouse could be a great and charming place to stay, it's just the room we had for three nights was overall dirty and not up to par.
Our apartment on the very top floor was roomy with a double bed and single bed along with a bathroom and small galley kitchen.
Breakfast food is left in the fridge for you and places are pre-set at the table in your room.
When we arrived we immediately noticed crumbs and dirt/dust on the table in our room as if it hadn't been cleaned between guests. The floors had throw rugs which were covered in dirt and more food crumbs. We kept our shoes on when in our room because of it. We spent our first 10 minutes or so killing the spiders that were hanging around over the beds and in the bathroom.
The bathroom also looked like it could use a thorough deep clean, and the tub is mostly useless as the sloping ceiling over the tub and how it is configured made it near impossible to take a bath, let alone forget being able to use it as a shower.
The wi-fi signal didn't reach our room and I had to go downstairs to get a signal.
We had laundry done while here but when it was returned, my trousers were covered in dried washing powder, they weren't properly rinsed before being dried.
This place has potential, and I think the lower floor rooms were cleaner than ours. I got the impression the top floor isn't rented out very often. With a deep clean and the use of a powerful vacuum, it would make nice place to stay.
Sadly the way it was when we were there, I can't recommend the Skend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DumbDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Pros
- There's a kitchen so you can cook or get snacks & drinks anytime
- Nice location - just 15 mins walk to old town or you can jump on the tram and get there in 5 mins. It's also not in the middle of old town so you can have some peace and quiet
- The room's got everything I needed - a bathroom filled with useful things like cotton pads etc, a TV.
- Zumretta, the owner, is a wonderful woman who will do her best to help you enjoy your stay
- Everyone who works there is very friendly
- The convenience store next door makes getting snacks/fruits/drinks etc easy
- Affordable
- There's great homemade juice, jam and fresh honey everyday.

Cons
- If you like a lot of nightlife, you might want to stay in old town instead. It doesn't feel that fun nor safe to walk back to skend in the middle of the night
- The local kids in the neighborhood can make it uncomfortable for a single female traveller sometimes - be wary.
- You have to get your dinner before you come back to the area (skenderija) as there's nothing much to eat around skend
- Sometimes it can be a little overwhelming to live in such a small place with so few faces - it doesn't have the anonymity of larger hotels, thus while you're theoretically free to do whatever you want, sometimes you feel like everything you do is known to everyone..
- Wi-fi was really, really slow. The internet on the computer on the second floor was fast though.

Room Tip: All are OK. The ones with bathrooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabanana36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is a small family-run guesthouse. We stayed for four nights and would definitely recommend this place.

It is kept spotlessly clean and the owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It is about 15 minutes from the old town and about 10 minutes the other direction to the railway and main bus station - although it is easy to pick up a tram / bus anywhere in the city more or less right outside. They also have a good selection of maps and tourist information and can sort out taxis for you, etc.

Also has free internet available 24hrs.

In summary excellent service and value!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teerak93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

The guesthouse is fairly well-located, about 25 minutes' walk along the river to the Bascarsija area. My room was comfortable and breakfast adequate, but the continuous sound of gurgling water pipes made it very difficult to get a decent night's sleep. Reception, which is in the family's living room, was often noisy with loud music and children running around. The smell of cigarettes was also very noticeable. On the eve of my departure I was shocked when I was asked to pay my bill a second time. The owner refused to acknowledge the invoice she had written when I showed it to her and became quite agitated when I refused to pay again. My advice would be to ask for a receipt as proof of payment and not to accept an invoice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishRoverBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Essentially the accommodation comprises of an extension to a family's house which has private bedrooms and a shared communal area, kitchen and bathroom. The rooms are very well catered for with a TV, plenty of space and good shelter from Sarajevo's blazing summer sun.

The hospitality of the family is probably the best I've ever experienced in a hotel/hostel. The kitchen is kept stocked with bread, cooked meats, spreads, tea, coffee, cereal, juice and whatever else you would like for your breakfast/lunch. The family are extremely helpful with any requests (though only the youngest son speaks English very well) and go out of their way at every opportunity to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. One morning I went to wash some clothes in the utility room and the older woman of the family stopped me and insisted that I didn't need to worry about it - when I returned all of my clothes were washed, ironed and placed on my bed!

Location wise I don't think you can fault it - it's a short walk to the main centre of Sarajevo and right next to a large shopping/sports centre - and it's very quiet so you can get a good sleep. The only downside for some people might be the quiet nature of the hostel and the lack of partying/fun, but not looking for that kind of trip I was delighted with the service I received.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blank_frackis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Very nice, clean, well cared for, comfortable rooms. Pension run by a very warm and charming couple. Had a bit of trouble finding it the first night, but that was our fault (tip: DO NOT GO UP THE HILL). Would recommend very highly to anyone visiting Sarajevo.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlstuckinacube2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unica
Hotel Unica
#45 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#23 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astra Garni
Hotel Astra Garni
#34 of 68 in Sarajevo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Halvat Guesthouse
Halvat Guesthouse
#1 of 107 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel R
Hotel R
#18 of 107 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Check Inn
Hostel Check Inn
#14 of 145 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest house Skend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest house Skend

Property: Guest house Skend
Address: Tekija 12, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guest house Skend 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Guest house Skend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing