We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pansion Stari Grad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pansion Stari Grad
Ranked #6 of 105 Sarajevo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Novalja, Croatia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I think this is the best value for money you can get in Sarajevo. This is the second time we stayed here and we will always stay here when we come to Sarajevo, of course, if possible. It is situated in the very center, 100 meters from Bascarsija and have a guarded parking place for a car. This time we get a larger room than last time, and the cleanliness is still at the highest level as well as the friendliness of the staff and owners. We feel very comfortable here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaudio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
47
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very nice place in the beautiful city of Sarajevo. The Pansion is comfortable for getting around the city either on foot or using public transport.
Excellent value for money. Rooms are simple and clean with large bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent a couple of nights in this pleasant B&B, perfectly located on the edge of the old town. Just tucked away enough for a quiet night's sleep and yet easily accessible by car (a parking space can be reserved on site), it is within a few minutes walk of the main old town sights. Rooms are of a good size and breakfast is included in the price. Recommended to anyone looking for a convenient and comfortable place to stay in Sarajevo.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flipflogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

First, I must say that it was our first visit to Sarajevo. We didn't know the city and we thought is was much bigger, so we wanted to stay as close to the city center as possible. Little did we know that the cheaper hotels that we thought were very far, were actually at 5 min walking distance. Anyway, we chose Pansion Stari Grad due to it's proximity to Bascarsija and to the very good reviews we read on Tripadvisor and booking.com
And now about the good, the bad and the ugly.
The good:
Very good location, 100 m from Sebilj. Very friendly staff, who speaks excellent English. Clean place, comfortable beds and pillows, soundproofed rooms with private bathroom (lots of hot water) and big screen TV.
The bad (and the ugly):
Very poor breakfast, maybe the poorest we've seen. A few slices of cheese that everyone wanted because it was the safest thing to eat, some mystery meat (that nobody wanted), boiled eggs (which I suspect were a few days old), jams in jars (not a good idea, because people can use their spoons full of saliva to eat from the jar), bad coffee. The bread was good though. I had breakfast only once because we had to leave very early to Srebrenica, otherwise I preferred to have breakfast somewhere else.
The towels are pretty old and had some holes in them.
All in all, we probably could have spent less money to live in similar conditions or we could have found a place that offered better conditions for the same price. A little more attention to details and the willingness to spend some extra money on breakfast food, towels and better toilet paper would make Pansion Stari Grad a much nicer place to stay that it is now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madalush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location is the key advantage of the pension- you leave directly to the Sebilj Water Fountain square. Small, old house but with unique climat, Friendly, responsive and very professional staff (perfect english) - especially big thanks to Samir and Amela for advises/guidances, pick ups etc...).Convincingly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gryzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novalja, Croatia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The biggest advantage of this hotel is definitely its location. Situated in the old town, 100 meters from Baščaršija, in the heart of the city. The rooms are small and the bathroom too, and I think that they are more like single rooms than double, but they are incredibly clean like the whole hotel. The host and the staff are very very very kind and patient and willing to provide a lot of informations. Breakfast is very basic, and I think that it should be improved, but within 500 meters, there is a lot of great places for breakfast and are very cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room number 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaudio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Cosy, quiet, clean place with athomsphere and great central location. Even the bus station is not too far to walk, but trams run all the time. Very friendly staff who all speak good english. Good simple breakfast. Warmly recommeded and Sarajevo is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.1 mi away
Garni Hotel Konak
Garni Hotel Konak
#7 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Old Town
Hotel Old Town
#10 of 68 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pansion River
Pansion River
#3 of 105 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Halvat Guesthouse
Halvat Guesthouse
#1 of 105 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pansion Harmony
Pansion Harmony
#2 of 105 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guest House Rose
Guest House Rose
#13 of 105 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pansion Stari Grad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pansion Stari Grad

Property: Pansion Stari Grad
Address: Sagrdzije 29A, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pansion Stari Grad 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pansion Stari Grad is a luxury Sarajevo mini hotel located in the heart of old town, within walking distance of everything that makes Sarajevo famous world-wide,Pansion Stari Grad offers accommodation with a mixture of Bosnian and Ottoman decoration. The moment you enter the pension, the warm atmosphere will welcome you. You will have a feeling of being home away from home. Pansion Stari Grad offers 10 beautiful and very comfortable rooms. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building,all rooms are non-smoking and every room has a private bathroom,TV-satellite program , air condition, free wireless connection, fire alarm, heating and other hotel amenities such as: free toiletries, hairdryer, house-keeping service every morning, breakfast in the room. Pansion Stari Grad offers breakfast buffet which is served in the dining room and on the terrace as well. The terrace and the rooms have a beautiful view on the famous Olympic mountain "Trebevic". Safe parking which is under video surveillance is in front of pension with extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pansion Stari Grad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pansion Stari Grad Hotel Sarajevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing