We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They said it was the best hotel in Sarajevo and we agree!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2009

When we booked the room I talked to them on Skype and they said 'we're the best hotel in Sarajevo' - I thought sure - it was like shooting in the dark and hitting a bulls eye! We spent 3 night here and it was great. The other big box hotels we saw were really in places away from what tourist's want to see (or in neighborhoods I would feel safe walking around at night) like the Old Town. Not easy to find by foot, but worth it. We'd go back there in a minute. The price was very reasonable by Washington DC standards and the fact this is a capital city. We traveled from Sarajevo to Dubrovnik (Hotel Argentina) and Havr (Amorfa Hotel) and this was the best hotel we stayed in and the others were ***** and **** hotels, respectively. Spacious room, helpful staff, clean and a few blocks from best part - the old town. Just a lovely boutique hotel tucked into a nice neighborhood. You cannot beat the location. When you walk in it is like a work of art, marble floors throughout and tastefully decorated and clean, clean, clean and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on (really) and reliable WiFi Bravo! *****+

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 270 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

We spent 3 nights in Hotel Michele (Room 41) and it was amazing! The entire hotel is furbished with great care and attention to detail. Our room was spacious - almost the size of a suite - with an extra high ceiling and windows to both sides which flooded the room with light. Excellent service - the nice man in reception made us some tea at 10 p.m.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I stayed at the Michele for five nights in July - mostly based on the great reviews I read here.

The rooms are huge and very beautiful, air-conditioning worked perfectly - even with temperatures in the upper 30s C. All of the staff seemed really nice and helpful, very reactive to all issues raised. Was served a cold beer before I had even had the time to hand over my passport :-)

The location pretty good, only a couple of blocks from downtown. However, it's quite a climb up the hillside so you're still not going to be popping in and out that often.

There were some issues though. There was a construction site (school?) right across the street and the noise started every morning before 8 am - and was very loud. On the top floor room there was an extremely high ceiling, with glass windows and only a seethrough drape covering the windows. So it was very nice and light during the day, not so nice when you woke up staring right at the sun at 6 am.

The wifi was pretty good but it was also out on two days. The latter time it took a full day to fix it. Also I would call the breakfast selections pretty limited. Yeah, you won't go starving but I expected a little bit more.

Overall a wonderful little hotel, beautiful and spacious rooms, a nice experience. But on the other hand you're paying a LOT of money for something that's definitely not 5-star quality. The price levels in Sarajevo (2-3 euros for shorter taxi rides, max. 25 euros for a three-course meal at the best restaurants etc.) are such that for Michele's prices you're not getting your money's worth, I feel. Would still recommend it to my friends with a caveat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This is a wonderful, albeit quirky hotel. We drove into Sarajevo and couldn't find it - google maps couldn't find it either. We actually hired a cab to lead us there! When we got there we wouldn't have recognized it as a hotel - it is on a tiny street next to an unfinished apartment building, with a sign about as salient as Waldo. The staff was wonderful, the internet free, the room the single most beautiful hotel room I have ever stayed in (including the Presidential Suite at the Charles in Cambridge, MA). Immense, comfortable, nooks and crannies all over, an interesting library (including Jean-Paul Sartre in Croatian) in the room. The breakfast was wonderful. But their act was not quite together. The air conditioning didn't work the first night (they apologized profusely but didn't offer us a lower rate), the hot water in the shower didn't work the second day, some lights blew. So if you are expecting the ziplessness of a Hyatt don't go there, but if you want an extraordinary experience by all means do go there!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WotanUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The Hotel Michele was one of the most unique and beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in ....and I travel a lot! From the outside you would not expect the creativity and attention to detail that was displayed in each room!! We stayed in Room 41 and loved the room so much we decided to bring our dinner in and enjoy it on our deck! The breakfast service catered to your individual wants and desires! And....we were given a parting gift care of Hotel Michele to remember Sarajevo.
The hotel management was delightful and helpful....I recommend this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Sarajevo!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytripciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We didn't know what to expect. The cab driver took us to a residential neighborhood. Thought I had made a mistake regarding location..but actually the hotel is two blocks from the main street of Sarejavo. WE were greated by a very nice woman who spoke English very well and was very helpful with directions. Requests for extra towels were delivered immediatly. Breakfast was very good too..fresh juice, eggs made to order , cereal, meats and cheese. yogurt...and the best part..espresso.and as much as we wanted.
OUr room was huge and was actually a studio apartment with a beautiful garden patio. My only suggestion or negative about this apartment is that it has a kitchen but no coffee /tea service. A hot - pot or tea -pot to heat water for tea or coffee would have been wonderful. All the staff was very helpful

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Stayed here for a couple of days with my partner after a lengthy work trip around Bosnia. We'd never been to Sarajevo before and so we wanted a good place near the centre. Tripadvisor reviewers had a few good things to say about this place so we thought we'd give it a go.

It was a little tricky to find at first (even with a Sarajevo local guiding us) as it is a few blocks back from centre's main streets in a narrow backstreet. Each guest is allocated a parking space and ours was right outside the door where it was monitored by CCTV systems.

First impressions are that some serious effort has gone into the front of the place with large metal bars decorating the balconies of the front rooms.

Inside, the receptionist (the owner?) greeted us like an old friend before taking us to our room. First we were in room 22, a very large two-bedroom apartment at the back of the building. Beautifully decorated and furnished, with a massive lounge, large tv with satellite channels and a fully-equipped kitchen. Two large bedrooms, one with a double bed, one with two singles and all the way across the lounge was the very nice bathroom. Only drawback was that the lounge had no exterior windows and was only partially lit by glass blocks facing the windows in the hall outside. However, this was a very minor issue and there are many lighting options!

Breakfast is amazing with a huge spread laid out for each guest....seemingly laid just a few seconds before you leave your room. Everything from fruit juices, coffee, meats and cheeses, cereals, yoghurts, bread, toast and choice of eggs saw us through to late afternoon each day.

After two nights, the beautiful weather drove us to move to a room with a balcony and so we moved to room 42 on the top floor which has a wonderful roof terrace. More a suite than an apartment, my partner (who was there on holiday while I worked) was very happy with a terrace in the sun for her to relax on by day. Apparently this was the room used by the likes of Richard Gere, Kevin Spacey, Richard Moore at al during their recent stays. Fantastic.

The city centre is a ten minute walk downhill and there is a little shop just round the corner for supplies for nights in.

They will arrange a taxi for trips to/from the airport which is about 25min drive away.

Fantastic accommodation, superb service and Sarajevo is an astonishing city. I'd recommend it all to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
#4 of 69 in Sarajevo
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#3 of 69 in Sarajevo
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#1 of 69 in Sarajevo
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#6 of 69 in Sarajevo
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#2 of 69 in Sarajevo
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#13 of 69 in Sarajevo
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Michele Sarajevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Michele Sarajevo

Address: Ivana Cankara 27, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: $82 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Michele Sarajevo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michele is a small, discrete and family run boutique hotel located in quiet residential area, Sarajevo city centre. Situated in small narrow Street (which is typical for Sarajevo), few hundred meters from main pedestrian zone and just few minutes from Old Town and all other attractions. Opened in 2006 provides high level quality of accommodation and service. Since then it’s been visited by many famous people who visited Sarajevo such as: Bono Vox with family, Richard Gere, Kevin Spacey, Morgan Freeman, Steve Buscemi, Terence Howard, Michael Moore, James Brolin, etc. If you are looking for a spa, gym, or pool this may not the place to go, but if you want to experience the elegance and soul of old town Sarajevo there is no better hotel in the area! Hotel Michele is pleasing blend of modern and traditional very well combined.Furnished with antique furniture, paintings from famous artists and many other things which would better find their place in some museums gives it a charming appearance and makes you fell cozy and warm.. The staff is English speaking, helpful and friendly and will answer any question. For convenience for our guests we have indoor and outdoor park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Michele Sarajevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing