We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just terrible”
Review of Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“just terrible”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel is smelly, smoking is allowed everywhere, even the "clean" towels smell like cigaretts....we booked a double room, but we got a twin room. The employees are rude, don't care about the guests. Street dogs in front of the hotel, couldnt sleep, at least 12 dogs barking in front of the hotel in the middle of the night. Fridge didnt work in the room, bedsheets not the cleanest ones. Breakfast was okay, quiet poor. Wifi didnt work in the rooms!

Room Tip: contact them via email, because we booked a double room, but we got a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    39
    32
    10
    1
See reviews for
6
21
18
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mayo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My Wife and I stayed here on our second night of a tour of Croatia and Bosnia which was organized by Elite Travel. The food was a set menu for the night for dinner which was small portions. The bedroom had a very hard lumpy uncomfortable bed and the shower did not work properly with water spraying out of the shower handle which joins the hose as well as the head of the shower. Total disaster and the breakfast was no better. The hotel staff were friendly and the drinks were very cheap and they accepted the Euro. The TV in the room had all foreign channels with no english speaking channel.

We wont be back !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mayojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarajevo hotels

Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Clean modern rooms; some larger than others. No guide in room to hotel services. No room safe. The bath was a jacuzzi, with a shower, but no shower curtain! The hotel has ‘non-smoking’ rooms, but is not entirely smoke free; the bar, restaurant and corridors can be rather smelly. Breakfast was poor quality, and didn’t encourage trying the restaurant for dinner. The hotel is about 3 km from downtown, and is rather isolated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

As we were travelling with a student travel agency, we weren't expecting a high class hotel, but this hotel was a blast! We had a triple room, with 2 single beds and one larger bed. the room was kind of small, but we fit :) The bathroom was so spatious that we could dance inside, and it had hydromassage tub, too!!! We had our room cleaned every day. The position of the hotel is ok, but we had to take the taxi each time we wanted to go to the center. However, it didn't cost much.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mala_maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel was built for the winter olympicsheld in Sarajevo in 1984 and probably hasnt changed since then! However the staff did their best with what they had and the food was fine. Location is interesting but as part of a Cosmos tour this is what you get.The sheets were clean as was the bathroom but the rooms definately need up-dating.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Whilst built in the 1980s, the style is more 1960s. The rooms need renovation, as my shower screen came off in my hand as I tried to close it. The hotel has a nice seated area by the bar that you can use after meals. Meals are very limited, especially if you are vegetarian. Drinks are really cheap though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My first impression is that it's not as clean as I hoped (especially the bathroom), but I think it's because of the decor. The blue & black bathroom tiles aren't a good choice and the hotel's furniture and decor is outdated. However, with that said, it's a perfectly adequate place to stay in Sarajevo if all you're looking for is a bed and bathroom.

This hotel was burnt during the war and rebuilt in 1997. It is bit isolated and away from the main road and not within walking distance to the historic center either. There's a guestbook on the receiption desk that's worth a flip. The first few pages of comments were written by delegates from other countries (mainly USA and Fiji) who stayed there for a peace conference.

The hotel restaurant serves good food and the staff is friendly. There's a bar and lounge on the 2nd floor and the "business center" consists of a small desk with a computer with free internet for hotel guests. There aren't any safes in the rooms, but you can leave valuable items with the front desk to store in the hotel's main safe.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hecco
Hotel Hecco
#44 of 68 in Sarajevo
78 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#24 of 68 in Sarajevo
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hayat
Hotel Hayat
#56 of 68 in Sarajevo
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#25 of 68 in Sarajevo
74 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Octagon
Hotel Octagon
#32 of 68 in Sarajevo
53 reviews
3.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#57 of 68 in Sarajevo
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand

Property: Hotel Grand
Address: Muhameda ef. Pandze 7, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Sarajevo is a modern 3 star hotel. Located in the center near of the Parliament of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Olympic Hall Zetra and cultural - sports and exhibition center "Skenderija" - "Mirza Delibasic. We are located just 3 km from Bascarsija (historic town) and 10 km from the International Airport Sarajevo. Close to public transport and private parking area with video surveillance for approx. 150 vehicles makes the hotel is easily accessible by all types of guests. The peaceful surroundings of the hotel with plenty of greenery provides ideal conditions for congresses, conferences, seminars and also for a good rest after work. ACCOMMODATION Hotel Grand in its three wings is provided with 126 rooms, 4 apartments: single and double rooms, single and double rooms with french bed, rooms for the handicapped persons, rooms for VIP guests (king size bed), non-smoking rooms, rooms with jacuzzi, family rooms (connecting rooms), baby cot on request. ROOM FACILITIES: mini bar, bathroom / WC or jacuzzi, hair dryer, LCD TV (digital cable networks), IDD telephone lines, Air-condition, wireless internet (free of charge), el.sockets 220, SOS alarm. Breakfast - buffet 06:30 to 10:00 h Check in: 14:00 pm, Check out: 12:00 am SERVICES 24 - hour reception desk, bar, restaurant for breakfast - buffet, 2 a la carte restaurant for all occasions, bar with terrace, restaurant with a garden club, the adaptability of menus for people with special diet, lift, information desk, business corner (business office with a computer, printer and internet connection), free internet access throughout the hotel (wireless internet), daily room cleaning, air conditioning, parking with video surveillance free of charge, laundry and ironing services, Individual safes at the reception desk free of charge, the option of paying by credit card (American Express, Visa, Diners, Euro Master Card), 6 + 1 shuttle bus services, photocopying and sending faxes. CERTIFICATE HACCAP Certificate - a system of food quality and service, certified by the Swiss certification company SGS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sarajevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing