We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Balkan Han

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balkan Han
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not much to add here. Unkas is a great host and very helpful in planning excursions, side trips, and onward travel. Beds are big and comfy, and location of the hostel is great... five minutes from main center of the city. If you stay here, you MUST go on the tour given by Unkas' friend. The €25/50 Mark price tag may seem intimidating, but I can tell you it's well worth it. For the price, you're out and about for around 4-5 hours. Transport and entry into Tunnel of Hope museum (a must!) included. The guide was alive and living in Sarajevo during the 44 month siege and crossed the 800m tunnel of hope himself. You also go to the old Ottoman barracks and abandoned Olympic bobsled track, both places with amazing views and history that would be very difficult to get to otherwise. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ndouglas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

The truth is that the owner sometimes makes the difference. And this is the case. Unkas is a perfect host, you immediately feel at home when stepping in the hostel.
Rooms are cozy, beds comfortable and linen soft and clean. You have a nice internal yard where you can spend a good time with other guests. Unkas is always available to give you tips and suggestions on what to do in the city.
Plus I would like to underline the quality of the tour "Sarajevo under the siege" that he promotes. It's a non-common tour that gives you the chance to explore the surroundings of Sarajevo (mountains and hills around the city) and it helps a lot in better understanding the recent sad history of the city.
All in all a great experience and a city that you must visit to understand the history of the entire Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickypv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

A fantastic place to stay for anyone visiting Sarajevo. This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in, the bedrooms are really well kept and clean, with big double beds on the bottom bunk (if you're lucky) which are extremely comfortable. The bathroom is very impressive, with super modern showers and is also very clean. This is all topped off by one of the most hospitable men I've ever met: Unkas is the owner, manager, barman, tourist information guide, whatever he needs to be to help. I don't have a bad word to say about him or the hostel and for the price it is a must-stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiftycix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a start for our stay, we got served a welcoming drink when we arrived and the Unkas, running the hostel presented himself. The hostel itself is quite small and cozy, with a beautiful garden in the inner inner ward. We had no luck with the weather, it was cold and rainy, but you can borrow slippers to keep your feet dry. There is a small bar in the basement, great to meet up with people. They also organized a common dinner with a friend to get people to meet each other and have a good time, the food and the drinks were so good, balkan styled cuisine. If you don´t have a clue what to do in Sarajevo, don´t worry, Unkas and his friends will tell you the best tips to get around the city!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I got the recommendation from a guy that I met in Montenegro. He hold me it is a nice place but the owner parties some times to hard. I think, drinking a beer and playing the guitar is not hard partying. Unkas, the owner, is just the best. You have to imagen a guy that is 60 years old but you would never guess his age. He has so many experiences in traveling and I think he has seen a lot. Anyway he recommended me a impressive and very intense tour of a friend of him about the siedge of Sarajevo.
I would love to stay longer because the city is awesome and the place is just the best! Unfortunately I didn't had the time and left after two days.
Keep it going Unkas!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank Cr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My 24 hours in Sarajevo was greatly enriched with the stay in the Balkan Han Hostel which is one of the quintessential hostels. The colors of the rooms in harmony; clean and comfortable beds; closeness to the major city attractions have been the most notable to me. The owner Uncas' good humor and management philosphy are worth stating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Amazing experience at Balkan Han! Unkas is so warm and friendly, he makes you feel right at home. He remembers your name and organized night activities that helped us all get to know each other. I am traveling alone and that really made a difference. The garden is beautiful, the hostel is very clean, and has a great atmosphere. Unkas rocks!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Key819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
#3 of 195 in Sarajevo
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travellers Home Hostel
Travellers Home Hostel
#5 of 195 in Sarajevo
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Doctor's House
The Doctor's House
#1 of 195 in Sarajevo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
#2 of 195 in Sarajevo
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pansion River
Pansion River
#3 of 124 in Sarajevo
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel City Center Sarajevo
Hostel City Center Sarajevo
#19 of 195 in Sarajevo
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkan Han? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkan Han

Address: Dalmatinska 6, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Sarajevo
Price Range: $17 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened Balkan Han Hostel is situated in Dalmatinska street, in the heart of the city, less than 200 meters from downtown’s pedestrian zone and very close to all the attractions city has to offer.Although our hostel is located next to the main street (Titova) in the city centre, our green garden is like an oasis of peace in the center of the city!With freshly renovated rooms and brand new beds, Wi-Fi and internet zone with MacComputers, kitchens, Cable TV, beautiful green garden and totally new colorful bar as a common room and party zone, we provide pleasure to remember!  Staying at Hostel Balkan Han, travelers can meet multicultural BALKANS in a new-age edition, taste national food and drinks, experience brand new BalkanGipsyBass&Brass music and feel the great Bosnian hospitality, experiencing the word 'HAN' which dates from the Ottoman era and means 'lodging for travelers and their caravans'.  So, grab a place in our HAN and enjoy the BALKANS!Our hostel offers: 3 rooms (two dorms, one private); common room with bar ("BUJROOM ROOM"); internet place (two Mac computers available); 2 toilets, one bathroom, one shower cabin; lockers; beautiful wide green garden with chairs, benches and hammocks to relax or have a coffee, tea, BBQ...; parking place and 24h supermarket close to the hostel.In our "BUJROOM ROOM" (also open 24h) you can get drink, snack, listen to good music and have great fun.Dalmatinska Street is in the heart of the city. Less than 200 meters (two minutes walk) from pedestrian zone of downtown and Ferhadija Street. You can easily find us by the Eternal flame monument and Central bank of BiH. If you are coming from the city bus station or railway, you can take a tram number 1 and get of in front of the National Theatre (Narodno pozoriste). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Balkan Han reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing