We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Sarajevo”

Jewish Museum of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Ranked #22 of 118 things to do in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
sarajevo
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must see in Sarajevo”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Even though I am a local, I go to this place at least once a year. It is nice, clean, informative, the guide is great, and it is just a nice place for mediation and thinking about the history of Sarajevo and its Jews. If you are a foreigner, I recommend that you visit this place first as it is a nice "intro" into the multicultural visit of Sarajevo.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank msavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    47
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nara
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Probably a fairly good museum, but we could not visit it”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went to visit the museum two days in a row during the listed opening hours, and both times we found it shut down with no explanation. We were very disappointed. The city was kind of ghostly because of a Muslim holiday of Bajram, but there was no notice on the door mentioning any special closure. We also called a few times, but there was no recorded message. A waste of time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sushivibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Informative and Well-Organized”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My mother and I visited a lot of Jewish Saraejvo. Since we went off season, we were the only ones in the museum. The people working there basically gave us a personal tour in that they were there to answer all questions. They even showed us the window where you can take a picture from the Synagogue and see the church and mosque. It really painted a picture of the multicultural aspect of the city.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank shirasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The visit to this small museum gives an insight into the history of Bosnian Jews and the opportunity to visit the inside of the old synagogue where it's located. Although the exhibition is modern, I felt the lack of an introductory text for each of its sections (as has been done in the new Holocaust Musem in Skopje, Macedonia - although, being housed in a purpose-built building, the available space in Skopje is much bigger).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Excellent overview of Jewish life in Sarajevo”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I thought the museum did a very effective job of portraying the history of the Jewish population in Sarajevo, over the past several centuries. It was particularly interesting because in Sarajevo, one learns about the three dominant religions but it's interesting to also learn about a fourth religion that co-existed fairly peacefully until WW II. One of the most poignant exhibits was the name of those Sarajevo citizens who hid Jews during the war. The curator spoke English well and was happy to answer questions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Museum of Bosnia and Herzegovina also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Jewish Museum of Bosnia and Herzegovina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing