We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but not everyone might feel welcomed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not everyone might feel welcomed”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a generally very nice business hotel, slightly away from the city center, but easily reachable by really cheap taxi service (2.5 eur) or complimentary shuttle bus (which runs only three times a day).
Rooms are relatively small (although I've read in several replies by management to the posts here, that there is an option to upgrade upon arrival, none was offered to me), but very nicely designed, with much larger bathrooms than one would expect from such rooms. My room was on 10th floor and it had very nice views over the city and mountains. It seems that in every room, there are both bathrobe and slippers available, free minibar and free wifi. In the bathroom, there is a large walk in shower, though with a very week water pressure.
One of the best things about the hotel, is it's lovely cafe terrace next to the river.
Hotel seems to be technologically relatively advanced, so there are those "smart" elevators, where you have to select floor before you enter (this is neat, but could feel a bit claustrophobic). also, do not disturb sign button, is not that easy to find.

WARNING: The hotel is imposing some islamic rules. So you will find no alcohol anywhere in the hotel, and this includes beer. The same goes for ham and pork. There is also a dress code enforced throughout the hotel, including lobby and corridors, so forget about shorts in summer (unless you want to change once you leave the hotel).
I would generally not have problems with this, if the hotel would clearly position and market itself properly. Quite contrary, hotel is portraying itself as a modern business hotel. At the same time, Bosnia is multicultural, multi faith, secular country, if the hotel is willing to cater to specific clientele, this is fine, but they should warn the others.
Additionally, among 50+ TV channels available in the hotel, there is not a single one from the other entity of Bosnia and Hercegovina. This is just plain stupid, in a country which is struggling to find its identity as multicultural nation, and is still healing the wounds from the past, such moves are definitely not helping.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors and upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dBogda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear dBogda,

Thank you very much for sharing the experiences of your recent stay at our property with us. I am pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the service levels throughout your stay. In regards to your highlighted shortfalls, please note that out of the 6 Bosnian TV channels we are transmitting, only one Channel is a regional one, the remaining five channels are nationwide TV channels including FTV, BHT1, Al Jazeera Balkans, Face TV as well as OBN. Regarding the dress code within the hotel, we ask our guest in our in-room compendium not to wear "inappropriate clothing" in our restaurants and specify those as swimwear, pajamas as well as underwear. Such a dress code is implemented in hotels worldwide. Lastly, regarding the non-serving of alcoholic beverages, Hotel Bristol Sarajevo is a property managed by Shaza Hotels, which follows embraces the culture of the people of the silk route, hence alcohol as well as pork products are not being offered. Shaza Hotels is an independent five star hotel operator supported by an affiliation of prestigious partners which includes Kempinski Hotels.

Dear dBogda, I do apologize if you had the impressions that the hotel is trying to impose certain rules onto the guest, but please rest assured that in a city such as Sarajevo which is also called "Jerusalem of Europe" the entire Hotel Bristol team is very open minded and appreciative of all our customers.

The entire Hotel Bristol team is hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Kai Behrens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    136
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
71
23
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great, very polite staff, great food. Excellent spa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomoslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Tomoslav,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the comments of your recent stay at our property! I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo. Please rest assured that your compliments will be shared with the team.

Tomoslav, the entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is new, modern, very clean and well kept with friendly staff. The front desk staff in particular were very helpful. I also liked the access to I-Pads in the breakfast room. Nice touch!
Where I did not feel happy is in the room I got (910) which was very small for a five star hotel and did not have space for two pieces of luggage! No luggage rack either, so had to keep my suitcases on the floor during my 3 day stay. I was expecting (hoping) that room service would take note and do something about it--no such luck!
Two other shortcomings: No room clock or radio. I think room radio clocks (now with I-Pod docks) add much to staying experience. Finally, no HBO or other movie channels. Missed them as I surfed over each and every Middle Eastern news and sports channel.
Finally, sleeping in on Sunday is difficult. Unfortunately, near by churches are ringing their bells every hour on the hour after 8:30 and I could hear all too well from my room.
In light of the above, I won't return--I don't think I got value for money. I recommend that those that want to stay here (the hotel has much going for it) are aware of its limitations!

Room Tip: 910 is very small and can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Manuel C,

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing the experiences of your recent stay at our property with us.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the services offered in our hotel, like the iPads which the hotel provides free of charge for all residents in our restaurant 'news'. As for the room sizes, due to the historic structure of the hotel which was build in the early 1970's , our Superior Rooms feature only 20 sqm, hence space is limited. For travellers that seek a little extra space we always recommend toupgrade themselves for only an additional €20.00 per night to one of our Deluxe Rooms. These Deluxe Rooms offer on 25 sqm a King Size Bed, coffee table and working desk as well as a shower and bathtub.

Manuel C, I do hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Bristol Sarajevo in the near future and would like to offer you a site inspection for you to see all availbale room types in order for you choosing the most convenient for you.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This time around I took the Junior Suite which is really worth every penny, what a wonderfull experience. The staff is friendly, everything is so clean and fresh, really nothing to complain about except for the issue they had with hot water. Apperently there was some issue with water in the whole city so you had to wait for some 10min when turning on the hot water before it actually came to the room, but for me there cannot be any exuse, the hotel must make sure to have hot water at all times instantly, irregardless if there is no water in the city at all. This is what one expects from such a great hotel.
Nevertheless, this by no means left any doubt in my mind that I will stay at Bristol the next time again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moncic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Moncic,

Once again thank you very much for your constant support! It makes me very proud that the Hotel Bristol team was able to win a very loyal customer with you.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

great staff, friendly, helpful and polite. Great hotel & food, internet worked everywhere, nice gym, just can't enjoy a glass of wine or a beer anywhere. Rooms were clean, very nice. Get a cab for you, close to everything. 3km to the old town.

Room Tip: all rooms were good as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank embassyworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Embassyworker,

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing the experiences of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo. I am very honored to learn that you experienced our employees as very professional and customer focused. In regards the non-availability of alcoholic beverages, as a member of Shaza Hotels, we are following the cultural values of the Silk Route, hence alcoholic beverages are not being offered but an extensive alternative beverage selection is available throughout our property.

Embassyworker, the entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo.

Best regards

Kai Behrens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was invited to speak at a conference held in the Hotel Bristol Sarajevo. It was extremely comfortable, and the srongest points were (a) friendliness of staff, (b) efficiency of staff, (c) cleanliness and overall appearance; (d) excellent and free of charge wifi across the hotel, and (e) many other pleasant characteristics.
The only thing that I found surprising (not to use the word 'shocking') was the strict adherence to the apparent 'no alcohol' policy of the hotel. There is not a drop of alcohol to be had inthe entire hotel: not in the mini-bars in the rooms, not in the bars and restaurants of the hotel.
I am not an alcoholic, far from it, an I can survive weeks if necessary without touching a drop. However, when you are dining in an absolutely great restaurnatlike 'The Braserie', part of the hotel, and you get an excellent meal, prepared by a truly great chef, it is kind of a let down to be denied even a simple glass of wine with the meal. For me that amounts to cultural barbarism...
Other than the above single criticism, it is really all good news about this great hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MariusWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear MariusWanders,

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing the experiences of your recent stay at our property.

I am very pleased to learn that the Hotel Bristol team was able to meet and even on a few occasions exceed your expectations. I am very proud to learn that you were extremely satisfied with the level of service and efficiency provided by our staff members. Please rest assured that your compliments will be shared with the relevant departments.

In regards to the highlighted 'non-alcohol' serving policy in the hotel, please not that Hotel Bristol is a property managed by Shaza Hotels, a joint venture of Kempinski Hotels, which is following the cultural values of the Middle East & North African cultural values, hence all Shaza Hotels do not serve alcoholic beverages but a extensive beverage selecting based on fresh herbs and fruits.

MariusWanders, the entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just wanted to say thank you to Jusuf (and his coworker Mirnes) for providing plenty of information about the city and activities to me and my travel mate. They were very polite and helpful which contributed to overall good first impression of the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100vladimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear VladimirStojkovic,

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing the comments of your recent stay at our property.

I am very pleased to learn that the Hotel Bristol team was able to meet your expectations. I am proud to learn that Front Office staff was especially helpful. Please rest assured that you compliment will be passed onto Jusuf and Mirners.

VladimirStojkovic, the entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo in the near future.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#3 of 68 in Sarajevo
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 68 in Sarajevo
207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#1 of 68 in Sarajevo
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#5 of 68 in Sarajevo
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#14 of 68 in Sarajevo
512 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Sarajevo
Residence Inn Sarajevo
#13 of 68 in Sarajevo
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Sarajevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Sarajevo

Property: Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
Address: Fra Filipa Lastrica 2, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol Sarajevo 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bristol is one of the landmark hotels in Sarajevo and Bosnia & Herzegovina. It is located on Wilson's promenade by the right side of the Miljacka river, 6 km (20 minutes drive) from Sarajevo Airport and 3 km (10 minutes drive) from Bascarsija (old town). Hotel Bristol has total of 186 rooms and suites, ideal for day-to-day business travelers. Every room features: interactive TV, wireless internet, in-room safe, private bar as well as luxurious bathroom. Hotel Bristol will have two innovative restaurants – News and Brasserie and a cafe patisserie – Cafe Bristol. Modern banqueting facilities on the mezzanine floor have 4 multifunctional halls with total of 833 square metres of usable space. The facilities will round up with: business centre, underground parking, indoor pool with fitness centre, steam room, sauna as well as a message room. Hotel Bristol will be the first hotel in Sarajevo, which will be operated by an international hotel chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bristol Sarajevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing