We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good news across the Board, if only....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was invited to speak at a conference held in the Hotel Bristol Sarajevo. It was extremely comfortable, and the srongest points were (a) friendliness of staff, (b) efficiency of staff, (c) cleanliness and overall appearance; (d) excellent and free of charge wifi across the hotel, and (e) many other pleasant characteristics.
The only thing that I found surprising (not to use the word 'shocking') was the strict adherence to the apparent 'no alcohol' policy of the hotel. There is not a drop of alcohol to be had inthe entire hotel: not in the mini-bars in the rooms, not in the bars and restaurants of the hotel.
I am not an alcoholic, far from it, an I can survive weeks if necessary without touching a drop. However, when you are dining in an absolutely great restaurnatlike 'The Braserie', part of the hotel, and you get an excellent meal, prepared by a truly great chef, it is kind of a let down to be denied even a simple glass of wine with the meal. For me that amounts to cultural barbarism...
Other than the above single criticism, it is really all good news about this great hotel!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MariusWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Novotel Sarajevo Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear MariusWanders,

Thank you very much for taking the time sharing the experiences of your recent stay at our property.

I am very pleased to learn that the Hotel Bristol team was able to meet and even on a few occasions exceed your expectations. I am very proud to learn that you were extremely satisfied with the level of service and efficiency provided by our staff members. Please rest assured that your compliments will be shared with the relevant departments.

In regards to the highlighted 'non-alcohol' serving policy in the hotel, please not that Hotel Bristol is a property managed by Shaza Hotels, a joint venture of Kempinski Hotels, which is following the cultural values of the Middle East & North African cultural values, hence all Shaza Hotels do not serve alcoholic beverages but a extensive beverage selecting based on fresh herbs and fruits.

MariusWanders, the entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 380 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just wanted to say thank you to Jusuf (and his coworker Mirnes) for providing plenty of information about the city and activities to me and my travel mate. They were very polite and helpful which contributed to overall good first impression of the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
3  Thank 100vladimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Novotel Sarajevo Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear VladimirStojkovic,

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing the comments of your recent stay at our property.

I am very pleased to learn that the Hotel Bristol team was able to meet your expectations. I am proud to learn that Front Office staff was especially helpful. Please rest assured that you compliment will be passed onto Jusuf and Mirners.

VladimirStojkovic, the entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo in the near future.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I just completed a 2 week stay at this wonderful , new, fresh and well equipped hotel. The Hotel combined excellent sevice, nice sized rooms and restaurants with excellent, modestly priced food. I found the service from door man to conierge to general manager to be among the most responsive and engaged that I have experienced anywhere. Truly a wonderful experience that made me care not only for the hotel but to develop a lovely, personal relationship with several people in the hotel. Highest recommendation from a very hard grader!

Room Tip: Face the river!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Novotel Sarajevo Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear BertD,

thank you very much for taking the time sharing the experiences of your recent stay at our property.

I am very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your time with us and not only the property fulfilled your needs but you enjoyed the service delivered by the staff members.

BertD, the entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

After having serious dilemma whether to stay in Bristol or Radon Plaza and choosing the first one, I can say that I chose wisely. :)

I stayed only 2 night, as a business traveler from 01.04.-03.04. and had a five star experience.

Arriving late, at half past ten in the evening, it took me 10 minutes by car to get to hotel. Speaking of the location it also takes app. 10 minutes by car to get to Bascarsija, the old city center.

Check in was great and fast, as well as the check out, with very professional staff working at the reception. Since my check out was very early in the morning (05:00 AM), they arranged a "take-out" breakfast for me.

Hotel architecture is great, although the surrounding buildings are not "eye candies", but on the other hand that's not really up to Hotel Bristol. Hotel interior, public areas and most importantly - rooms are extremely comfortable and well designed. My room was on eight floor, so I even had very nice view of the city. Inside of the room I had virtually everything that I might need: free wifi, complete hygiene kit, good choice of TV channels, a lot of closet space and FREE mini bar. You can hardly get better than that.

Breakfast is very well, with choice of traditional of both standard international and Bosnian food. If you like light breakfast - don't worry, there's plenty of cereals for you. I personally liked their very fresh "kajmak" (heavy cream spread) and "sirnica" (traditional cheese pie) the best. And I must mention the ultra cool feature at the breakfast: there are 10 iPads for your convenience on the table at the entrance of the breakfast area with probably 20 (international and regional) newspapers that you might want to read.

And finally the pool and wellness area. What can I say, it's cherry on top. Extremely well designed pool with LED ambiance color changing light, "Bristol" brand of bottled water that you get for free, comfy bathrobe and slippers, steam bath and sauna of adequate size. Everything was flawlessly clean, of course.

I have to mention only negative thing that happened during my stay - there was no hot water in my shower when I arrived, so I took a shower that first night with completely cold water. This improved the very next morning and it seems the trick was to let the water flow for 10-15 minutes before water got warm.

However after filling up the survey that hotel sent me, General Manager Mr. Behrens contacted me with with an email thanking me for my stay and giving an excuse for the cold water incident. Very professional and well mannered, I must say.

Oh, I almost forgot - upon my arrival I got hungry and ordered a room service at midnight. In 20 minutes I got one of the best chicken burgers that I ever ate. Big recommendation for their night shift chef. :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Petar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Novotel Sarajevo Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear PetarStefanivic,

thank you very much once again for taking your time sharing the experiences of your recent stay at our property.

It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time in Sarajevo and Hotel Bristol was able to satisfy your needs.

The entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo in the not too distant future.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

LOCATION: near the center of Sarajevo, at a walking distance from museums and city center. Very easy to find since it is on the main street that goes through the city.
ARCHITECTURE: great! The hotel was originally built several decades ago, but was heavily damaged during the war and the siege of Sarajevo. Recently it was renovated and looks quite nice from outside. Inside, however, it is just amazing. The floors, the walls, the ceilings at the lobby are just great, the marble ornamentations are very tasteful. The furniture in the lobby is also very nice.
PARKING: small, low capacity, but there is a garage (also relatively small). Tis may be the weakest point of the hotel.
ROOMS: a bit small, but very tastefully decorated. Flat-screen TV, free internet access. Bathrooms also a bit small (remember when the hotel was built), but also very tasteful. Cool lighting. Great shower. All hygienic accessories you need at the disposal. The tram noise outside can be a bit intrusive, but it didn't matter to me.
FOOD: great, fresh, tasty. No alcohol is served. Breakfast buffet is excellent, and there is an omelet bar. Fresh apple and orange juice every morning. Very good meals for lunch and dinner too.
STAFF: very polite and friendly, efficient and eager to please.
SUMMARY: possibly the best hotel in Sarajevo, the fifth star is missing because of room size, as far as I could find out. But it doesn't matter, everything is great. I surely recommend it!

Room Tip: ask for larger rooms and upper floors to avoid street noise
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Novotel Sarajevo Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Dear drecus,

thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your indebt experiences you had during your recent stay in our property.

I am very pleased to learn that the Hotel Bristol team was able to meet and on numerous occasion exceed your expectations. In regards to the room sizes, as you correctly mentioned and noted in your recommendations, for only EUR 20.00 additional you can upgrade your room to a Deluxe Room which gives you extra space in the guest room as well as bathroom to make the stay even more comfortable.

Dear drecus, the entire Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo, the Best City to Visit 2012 by foXnoMad!

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Everything you would expect from a 5-star hotel. Comfortable, clean rooms. Great service.

The hotel is not within walking distance from the old town, but a taxi will get you there in about 5-7 minutes for less than 5 USD. The hotel also offers free shuttle services 4 times a day. I was there in the low season so the staff adapted the shuttle times to my need and were able to modify the itinerary to suit my needs.

I really enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and sauna in the evenings after a long-day of work.

The Brasserie on the river-side of the hotel is very good and the lobby restaurant is OK.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AstonMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Novotel Sarajevo Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2012

Dear AstonMV,

thank you very much for taking the time and sharing the experiences you had during your recent stay in our property. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time in Hotel Bristol Sarajevo.

AstonMC, the entire Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo, the Best City to Visit 2012 by foXnoMad!

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Bristol is an excellent high standard hotel - but what really shines is the standard of service from the staff. Genuine warm welcome and customer care - the open smiles and attention to detail make your day better. All the facilities are excellent and unlike many other high class hotels - everything such as food and drink is fairly priced. The pool is clean and a perfect temperature - no shock when you get in. Out of the centre - but easy to get in - hotel even provides free shuttle. And if you need a drink - two good restaurants in 100m.
Normally after a long business trip I am looking forward to leaving - but this time I was looking for excuses to stay.... will be back....

Room Tip: would choose a deluxe room - they are a little bigger. Though with the variety of welcoming spaces i...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristolsarajevo, General Manager at Novotel Sarajevo Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Dear Gavin B,

thank you very much for taking the time sharing your experiences of your recent stay at Hotel Bristol Sarajevo.

I am very pleased to learn that my team members were able to exceed your exceed your expectations. I am exceptionally proud of the fact that you have highlighted the high level of customer service provided by the hotel staff.

Gavin B, the entire Hotel Bristol team is looking forward to welcoming you back to Sarajevo.

Best regards
Kai Behrens
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#3 of 68 in Sarajevo
157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 68 in Sarajevo
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#1 of 68 in Sarajevo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#6 of 68 in Sarajevo
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#14 of 68 in Sarajevo
522 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
#13 of 68 in Sarajevo
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sarajevo Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sarajevo Bristol

Address: Fra Filipa Lastrica 2, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: $99 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sarajevo Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the capital at Novotel Sarajevo Bristol, with an easy access to the financial district and the old town. Whether you're planning a business trip, family vacation or romantic weekend, you will enjoy the hotel's spacious, comfortable rooms. The hightech equipment of the meeting rooms are carefully designed to provide you with a memorable and joyful experience. Relax in the indoor pool of our fitness room or taste authentic traditional and international cuisine in our restaurant Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novotel Sarajevo Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing