We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Bascarsija
from $111.92
More Info
from $599.10
More Info
Reviews (2,667)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveler rating
992
344
74
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
992
344
74
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town buy souvenirs narrow streets burek bosnian coffee turkey stari grad cafes and restaurants kebab baklava cultural center traditional food ottoman empire walk around east meets west orthodox church gazi husrev beg
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The place is full of cultural diversity. All religions meet at one place. You can drink bosnian coffe and eat dessert in the very center. Do not forget to eat cevapcici

Thank darior995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The bazaar is free to visit. Like a typical bazaar it contains many local products, and gifts that would appeal to tourists. It also contains many restaurants, and icecream shops.
I love being able to potter around and look at the various stalls. I also love that there are many historical buildings in this area that you find as you travel down the various isles.
Be wary of pickpockets in this area. Don't let it put you off going there. Just be extra vigilant and careful.

1  Thank 727tracyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've heard so many nice things about Baščaršija, and I was really looking forward to visiting it. But I have to admit that I was quite disappointed. It felt too touristy to me (although being a tourist myself, it's a bit of an oxymoron). Nice place to go for a walk, window shopping and to grab some burek/pita, but that's it.

Thank nnn274873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really enjoyed exploring see all the important sights, dining and shopping in this old part of Sarajevo. It's very centrally located and a good place to base yourself for exploring Sarajevo. There are lots of people out at all times of day so I felt very safe as a solo traveler walking to and from dinner in the evening.

Thank tvernett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Place to slowly walk through, find a place to slowly sip kahva (Bosnian coffee) on tthe traditional chairs in the street in front of coffee shops and watch the people. Ask the owner how to drink your kahva the right way to enjoy it in fullest.

Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice place to go for a stroll and have a typical meal and drinks. Very authentic. Peaople very nice. I feel safe and comfortable.

Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You can buy the beautiful souvenirs, eat the best čevapi, burek, pita and drink best kahva and rakija

Thank žan č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were welcomed by the local guide today. She has given us an opening eyes into the world of history and religious. It is definitely worth a visit for this city. But do be worry of pickpockets in this city.

Thank Anthony_NgOfSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely part of a lovely city. We got the tram down to this area and explored it and wandered back up through the 'newer' part of the city to the graveyard from the Bosnian War. Such a cultural melting pot full of history. I really enjoyed the food from the café's in Bascarsija.

Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is amazing,lots of stands selling traditional bosnia items and foods,bit crowded and dirty but worth visiting nevertheless.

Thank fijuki191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews