We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a War Tour!”

Sarajevo Funky Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.23*
and up
Herzegovina Day Tour from Sarajevo
More Info
$29.37*
and up
Modern World Longest Siege - Siege of Sarajevo Half-day Tour
More Info
$82.23*
and up
Understanding Srebrenica Genocide - 11th July 1995 - Full Day Tour from Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We believe one the of the most important things in life is to get rid of prejudices and stereotypes in every aspect of life. Our vision in regard of tourism: Sarajevo & Bosnia and Herzegovina - zero prejudice through better understanding and stunning sightseeing. Join us for some great trips throughout Sarajevo and BH to learn and see more in best way possible. Much love!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Plymouth, WI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a War Tour!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Salem met us at our Hotel Konak and began our wonderful tour of the war area of Sarajevo! It was a day filled with personal stories of the war and how it affected the people of Sarajevo. Salem had fought in the war so all of his stories were from personal experience. Our daughter had been here a year after the war and now we could see what had changed. The scars on the buildings are very visible as are the cemeteries scattered around the city. The visit to the tunnel was very eye opening and the whole history was a lesson to be learned. We also walked on the bobsled run and after that had a lovely time of coffee at a Serbia restaurant in the hills. The colors of the leaves made this a most peaceful time of the day and a great way to end such an enlightening day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    23
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Day Tours”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I did a private half day tour with Skender (only slightly more expensive than a group tour). We drive through the city, then visited the Tunnel, and then drove into the hills, with stops explaining positions of both sides during the war. We walked down the abandoned Olympic bobsled track and visited more sites of different abandoned and destroyed buildings. We had a good discussion about what the history, what happened during the war, Skenders own experiences, and his thoughts on the future of Sarajevo, including rebuilding the cable car into the hills (would be amazing). We really enjoyed the tour and would recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressive Tour!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I joined a samll group tour from Dubrovnik to Sarajevo guided by Salem (Skender's father). I really enjoyed the tour. Salem is a very knowledgeable, funny and entertaining tour guide. I was impressed by the locations and attractions we visited and the history behind which he explained very well. Sarajevo Funky Tours is a "must".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 73Maik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Balkans travel!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Prior to leaving Australia I emailed Sarajevo Funky Tours requesting a day trip to the mountain villages of Lukomir and Umoljani with an itinerary specifically adapted to the interests of our family group (5 adults). Thank you Skender for planning a day that was just perfect for each of us. It exceeded our high expectations.
You are enthusiastic, interesting, knowledgeable about your country and excellent company. That day we were surrounded by incredible natural beauty and immersed in a unique local history. The hike to Rakitnica canyon was an experience that will be shared over and over whenever this holiday is recalled - each of our group voted our mountain village trip as the absolute highlight of our October travels.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very good tour operator”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked a day trip with funky tours for a group. It was all perfectly well organized. The way their guides explained the attractions in Sarajevo was excellent. In the afternoon Skender guided us to the tunnel. We got a lot of first hand information about the war 1992-1995. In addition to all this, Funky tours organized us a great Bosnian lunch in a lovely old restaurant. Really very good !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caspar v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarajevo Funky Tours also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Sarajevo Funky Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing