We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tours with small groups”

Sarajevo Funky Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sarajevo Funky Tours originally it was an idea to have fun and help travellers learn and explore Sarajevo city. It was suppose to be fun at first, but today, after many years, has emerged as highly respective and totally customer oriented travel agency, doing variety of travel services in all of Bosnia and Herzegovina and wider area of Balkans. Our trips are dedicated to exceed guests expectations, and are socially beneficial to local community too. Our mission is to provide honest, memorable and life changing experience for our fellow travellers, future friends, by being excellent in every way. Our vision is to break a prejudice through travels. We seek to promote beauty of Balkans, to make this region World's respective travel destination. We are committed to honesty and believe that high level of ethical standard is the only way to true success. We dream zero prejudice.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Skender was an excellent guide. We first did the total siege tour, which gave us lots of information about what happened in the Sarajevo siege. We liked Skender tour so much we decided to stay in Sarajevo one more night and do the Srebrenica tour.
Both tours are very personal and give you great insight into the conflict in Bosnia.

Date of experience: September 2011
Thank LeeLee83_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"total siege tour"
in 92 reviews
"day tour"
in 68 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 39 reviews
"dervish house"
in 11 reviews
"tunnel museum"
in 42 reviews
"mostar tour"
in 24 reviews
"kravice waterfalls"
in 11 reviews
"bobsled track"
in 27 reviews
"bosnia herzegovina"
in 18 reviews
"these guys"
in 17 reviews
"first hand"
in 25 reviews
"sniper alley"
in 19 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 10 reviews
"personal experience"
in 20 reviews
"small group"
in 16 reviews
"recent history"
in 25 reviews
"old bridge"
in 8 reviews
Filter

755 - 759 of 858 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

I took the Total Siege Tour with my wife. We travel all over the would and I would put Skender in the top 5% of any tour guide we've ever experienced - he's a fantastic tour guide, taking you places and sharing deep insights about the incredible drama of modern Sarajevo . The 4-5 hours you invest with him will be invaluable in not only touring Sarajevo, but getting a deep military, poltical, economic and social immersion in the Bosnian struggle against the Serbs. You will not only see the big sights - you will come out of it as a changed person with a much deeper understanding of the positive and negative limits of humanity. This tour is fundamental to the Sarajevo experience, and would be cheap at twice the price. Skender is fluent, prompt, adaptable and carries an infectious passion for his city and country. Days like this are why you travel. A+

Date of experience: August 2011
1  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We arranged a transfer with Sarajevo Funky Tours from Sarajevo to Dubrovnik via Mostar, Blagaj and Počitelj. It was brilliant. Skender is a wonderful tour guide - we have never had such a knowledgeable and inspiring guide. By the end of the day we felt we were travelling with an old friend. We will definitely use Sarajevo Funky Tours on our next trip.

Date of experience: August 2011
Thank HarrynOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We, 6 Dutch friends, booked this tour to Sebrenica and Potocari in July with Skender as our guide. We already knew something about this massacre (because of the Dutch involvement), but visiting this place (the cemetery, the memorial site, the factory in which Duthcbat had its base etc.) gave everything an extra more real dimension. Moreover, the movie that is shown at the factory combined with the information and stories that Skender presented to us makes this tour overall very interesting.

We would surely recommend this tour to everyone visiting Sarajevo.

Date of experience: July 2011
1  Thank Frank_Slingerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We (couple late twenties) went for this after reading all the reviews.

We did 9am till noonish (maybe longer), covering the Tunnel Museum and the siege tour. We went with just another couple. Skender, the guide, drove us out to the Tunnel museum, the whole way detailing the start of the war - giving the political and economic background (he has a Masters in Economics).

The Tunnel Museum was fantastic, and Skender was able to give us a real insight into the lives of Sarajevans who lived through the siege - made all the more relevant to me hearing it from someone two years my junior. He was able to recant both witty and interesting anecdotes, as well as pouring mountains of fascinating facts, figures and other details onto us, giving the full history of the tunnel (which itself is really cool to walk through).

We were then taken to a nearby mountain-top overlooking Sarajevo, and walk around a semi-destroyed building used by the Serbs to house tanks and soldiers. Really good place for photos.

On our way back Skender dropped us off on the 1984 Olympics Toboggan run - we spent 10 minutes walking down to the bottom where Skender was waiting to pick us up.

We were charged 20 Euros each, but gave a ten Euro tip because it was so brilliant.

It's a truly worthwhile way to spend some time in Sarajevo, and to learn about pre-siege, siege, and post-siege life, politics and society. I would strongly recommend this tour to anyone who goes.

(I will upload photos at a later date - presently in Mostar)

Date of experience: September 2011
Thank pooyousir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarajevo Funky Tours also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Sarajevo Funky Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing