We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever”
Review of Hotel Ada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ada
Ranked #11 of 120 Sarajevo B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience ever”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Although I've used TripAdvisor for years, this is my first review. It clearly takes something special! I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights in the course of a one month trip across Europe. After a rather unpleasant experience at a nearby guidebook recommended hostel, we cut our losses, went to an internet cafe and found this place. The building is attractive (apparently it is a former Ambassador's residence) and the room - including ensuite bathroom and satellite tv - was good. But what really made the stay so memorable was the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff and the delicious breakfast feast presented to us each morning. They provided great local restaurant recommendations - on the night of my girlfriend's birthday we ate at a fine restaurant high up the hill looking down on the city which was clearly something of a Sarajevo institution albeit not mentioned in our guidebook. Earlier we had been surprised in our room by all the staff coming to sing 'Happy Birthday' before giving my girlfriend some chocolates. They also helped resolve our queries about train strikes and when it transpired the strike was over, they made us a packed lunch for our journey to Belgrade. At 77 Euros for a double including breakfast it was excellent value especially as many of the central lower to midrange options in our guidebook were around 50 Euros, often without ensuite.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
23
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very friendly and helpful people; super clean rooms.
Excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This family run Inn was a true find. In addition to very comfortable rooms, good location and generous breakfast, my daughter and I experienced there genuine hospitality. It was almost like visiting friends or a family . Our conversation with Aldina provided us with insights into growing up during the siege of Sarajevo and current challenges facing people of B-H. If you are planning on spending a few days in Sarajevo this is an ideal spot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMOK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We wound up here by pure chance after exhausting a long list of recommended hotels and pansions: everyone we called was booked. Honestly, it was serendipity! We stayed two nights and the host (Sofia), receptionist (Aldina), and the rest of the staff (Zeliha, Zelkida, Avdo and Edo) were wonderful: helpful, welcoming, warm, and gracious. Obviously one would say -- since I know all their names. The property is the former residence of the Swedish ambassador and it's charming. It is not huge, encompassing three floors (with a wonderful top floor apartment for long stays) but the rooms are more than adequate size and the baths are as well. If you need opulence this is not it but these days does one ever really need opulence? The breakfast is unbelievable: I have never (and we have had many a breakfast throughout Europe) had a meal such as this: breads, cheeses, yogourt, fruit, juice, baklava, and a made to order omelet with additional cheeses and meats -- I even think I may have forgotten something! I have rated this gem excellent in every category though I deducted one point for sleep quality. While my husband and I are not bothered by street sounds I assume some may be -- while the Ada is not on a busy street its proximity to one may be a factor to some. The old quarter (heart of Sarajevo) is no more than 5 minutes away - great location. You can't go wrong staying here. No credit cards at this time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank araxseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The owner and her staff are not to be missed! Upon arrival we were offered a glass or wine, beer etc. in the lobby/sitting room where we chatted with fellow travelers. An amazing breakfast was included, their english was great and they were very helpful with planning our day. Upon our eary AM departure for a bus to Dubrovnik, they packed us the most perfect breaky/lunch bag with sandwiches, drinks and snacks as if mom made it! Room had wifi. I only wish I could have stayed longer!! Do not miss these folks!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheretonexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

the pansion is clean and roomy i sugest it to all people that maybe don't have that match money for a 5 or 4 star hotel but want luxury to go here, the staff is warm and pleasent, the room's are big , clean and decorated wery nice. also it's calm here and close to public transport, and close to all important city attractions. each room has tv, clima, and a phone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saniZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2010

The staff here are just wonderful. We got coffee, juice and cakes brought up to our room on arrival, Aldina who speaks perfect english walked us down to some lovely resturants to help us get our barings. Breakfast is HUGE and everything you could ask for. The rooms where comfortable and bright.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tally_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
#4 of 68 in Sarajevo
372 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 68 in Sarajevo
209 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#5 of 68 in Sarajevo
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Old Town
Hotel Old Town
#8 of 68 in Sarajevo
264 reviews
3.4 mi away
Halvat Guesthouse
Halvat Guesthouse
#1 of 120 in Sarajevo
321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pansion Harmony
Pansion Harmony
#2 of 120 in Sarajevo
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ada

Property: Hotel Ada
Address: Radenka Abazovica 2, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ADA is three star hotel ,,ADA" 3*** in Sarajevo,Bosnia and Hercegovina. Guests are offered modernly-equipped single, double, triple and quadruple room, as well as suites,totaly 16 rooms . Every room and suite comes equipped with bathroom en suite, wireless internet connection and a TV set with a wide choice of cable channels for an enjoyable time indoors Hotel ADA is situated in the central part of the city of Sarajevo, at Otoka, Hotel ADA provides easy access to all major cultural and historical attractions, including Sarajevans' favourite outing area of a lush park dotted with lakes, springs and rivulets, each full of crystal-clear water that flows from the spring of the River Bosnia and the surrounding breathtaking Olympic mountains offering a variety of relaxation and recreation activities all year around. Our a la carte restaurant offers a variety of national and international culinary specialties. The restaurant has the seating capacity of 70 invitees and is suitable for organization of business and festive events such as business meetings, seminars, cocktail parties, wedding celebrations, birthday parties, team-building and other similar events. Complimentary parking area that is under constant physical and video surveillance is made available to guests arriving by bus or personally-owned vehicles. Upon request, Hotel ADA can provide guests with transportation or organize the sightseeing tours of Sarajevo and its surrounding area, one-day outings or travel throughout Bosnia and Herzegovina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing