We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Bascarshija”
Review of Dveri

Dveri
Ranked #9 of 491 Restaurants in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 1, 2015 via mobile

This is probably the best restaurant in Bascharshija (presumably also in central Sarajevo), and one of the few places offering a variety of dishes for vegetarians. It has cozy and authentic atmosphere. The food is home made and absolutely delicious.
Make sure you try the self made pita (oven baked bread with lots of butter). Veggie soup with egg and sour cream, grilled veggies with butter and garlic, and stuffed peppers with creamy cheese are also highly recommended. The home made herbal tea and house white wine are lovely.
For meat lovers we could recommend the beans with sausages.

1  Thank gg255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 483 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2015

Quite a charming interior, different. Sadly populated by smokers but not too bad. Good warm food on a cold day. Good service, prompt and efficient. Soup and bread very good. Stuffed peppers not to be recommended, Veal great. Left very full and satisified. Large helpings. Adequate

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2015

The decor is fantastic and authentic, staff is great and friendly, smoking is not too problematic, although a nuisance when crowded, food is nice but the prices are too high compared to other restaurants that a similar menu. Everyone was enthousiastic, but it is just worth the money when similar places are as cosy and nice and as good and tasty, but for almost half the price...

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TDB183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2015

Well yes, the food is very good! There is no question about that. The bread that everyone raves about is just… warm bread that you get in restaurants sometimes, so no it’s not any kind of special bread, and I don’t know what the fuss is all about. Unfortunately, we could not enjoy our experience and we did not want to stay too long. The place is a smokers’ heaven, it’s stuffy and not ventilated, you can’t breathe in there. I know I'm in a country where smoking is everywhere and I'm usually not fussy when I'm travelling, but this was a bit too much. That’s unfortunate because the food was excellent and freshly made, the decor and ambience was interesting. So no I would not go again.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BLKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2015 via mobile

Homemade bread was delicious, steak was good andddddd you should go Dveri for good tasting in Sarajevo, like like like....

1  Thank Rahime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dveri also viewed

Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 
Sarajevo, Sarajevo Canton
 

Been to Dveri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing