We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in heart of the old town”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #16 of 114 Sarajevo B&B and Inns
colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location in heart of the old town”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Pros: spacious room, great location, free wifi, comfortable, friendly staff, breakfast included until 10 am (buffet, good variety), good price compared to other options, dark and quiet so easy to sleep well.

Cons: air conditioning unit was weak and took a long time to cool off our room, but it was ok for overnight. We just left it on all day to keep it as cool as possible; computer in the room had Internet but it was so slow there was no point in using it. We had an iPad with us and the free wifi worked really well.

We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lzinsmaster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    29
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
32
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel is one of the best kept secrets of Sarajevo. It is not as fancy as Hotel Europe (although it is right next door to it), or famous as Holiday Inn, but it is a great little hotel with nice rooms and amazing staff. The location is perfect, regardless if you stay in the main building where an excellent Moroccan restaurant is located, or Villa Wien in the heart of old town's labyrinth of small streets. The staff is amazing, and they have a can do, practical approach to everything, and are the best examples of Bosnian hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goranfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I used to go to this hotel for work. Nestled near the old Ottoman city, near the posh Europa Hotel, it was a haven of peace. I preferred their annex building, a room under the garret and on top of their Vienna Cafe, where the service and the capuccino were much warmer. The hotel is steps away from the pedestrian street, and a few meters away from the famous bridge where the murder of the Emperor triggered WWI. Clean, quiet, well located, and welcoming, a good place to savor the old mystery of the Balkans and be optimistic about peace.

Room Tip: Ask for the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunajska Streda, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Art Hotel is a pleasant hotel and has a good location in the old city centre. The room and services are quite good, Free WiFi in the room. Acceptable restaurant - I only did not like that smoking is allowed. Brekafast is not very various.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enviro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Art this past weekend while spending some time skiing in Jahorina. The staff here were very pleasant and helpful, they assisted in booking taxis, giving advice and directions. The hotel itself is as central as you get in Sarajevo, located right beside Bascarsija the main pedestrian street right in the heart of the old town. I didn't get as good a deal as possible on the room because I booked through their own website booking tool at the last minute. Friends who were also staying in the Hotel got a much better deal when booking in advance through e-bookers (or some of those sites - not sure exactly which). The rooms are fantastic, although not as modern as some it was spacious, clean and well maintained. It also had excellent wifi access in every room. My only criticism is that while the room and beds are big I didn't get as good a sleep as I expected - though this may have just been me. The one thing that is worth pointing out is that the breakfast at Hotel Art is quite good. I have been at other hotels in Sarajevo and the Balkans where the concept of breakfast is cold meats and coffee. While both of these are supplied at Hotel Art there is also the option of quite a few other things such as juices, toast (a rarity in BiH), fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, hard boiled eggs etc. So we were very pleased to get a proper breakfast before a day on the slopes. Overall a great hotel for a break in Sarajevo.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The best thing about the hotel is the location - right in Bascarsija and close to everything - and the staff, which is very friendly and helpful.

The room was basic but perfectly clean and nice - with nice touches like traditional carpets.

However the walls were very thin - you could hear everything going on in the hallway and a neighbour sneezing. I haven't seen any other reviews here complaining about this though, so maybe it is only a problem in some rooms...? (this was on the top floor).

The wifi wasn't working but there was a computer with internet access in the room. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrietv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a coulpe of nights. The hotels has an perfect location in the middle of Sarajevo. The staff is friendly with good english skills.
After reading one bad of the reviews (regarding bugs and unfriendly management?!), I would strongly disagree. The rooms were very clean, and after meeting the hotel manager on one occasion, my impression was very positive. Both the manager and the staff were highly service-minded.
The hotel has its own tourist office, if one wishes more information about the city and its attractions. The food at the hotel's resturant "Maroko" was excellent as well.
I would definitly recomend this hotel to others and would stay here again when visiting Sarajevo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#14 of 68 in Sarajevo
503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#6 of 68 in Sarajevo
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Town
Hotel Old Town
#10 of 68 in Sarajevo
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#3 of 68 in Sarajevo
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 68 in Sarajevo
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#1 of 68 in Sarajevo
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: Vladislava Skarica 3, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing