We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It has been marketing itself as a upmarket market leisure hotel with a spa, gym & swimming pool, and the price charged reflected that, however, it felt more like a tired business hotel which has been better days and now would need an uplift. Other than that, the hotel is very well located in a quiet street but still close to the centre of things. The rooms were hugh with comfortable beds, giant LED TV, and best of all, tea/coffee making facilities!! The receptionists were friendly and willing to help, however, not so much for the waiters at the breakfast time who lacked any smile, and were not so keen to explain the menu. Overall, we were happy with our stay at Hotel Central, and may still there if we go back again, though we would make sure we have more time at the hotel to enjoy their leisure facilities then.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweety2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 372 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in terms of facilities, cleanliness and location. The hotel is smart and modern, the rooms clean and comfortable, luxurious bathroom and a HUGE tv. The downsides for me: no parking. You can park at nearby (10min walk( hotel europes underground car park for around €10 per day. Also: no alcohol! I understand that the predominant religion observed in the city encourages abstinence from alcohol AND that this hotel is promoting itself as a health club. But, i dont like people to make lifestyle decisions for me. This discouraged us from dining/spending time in the hotel which only affects potential revenue. The hotel should put a full bar in place or at least the option of alcohol as minibar/room service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hannahlondon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Slap bang in the middle of Sarajevo - perfect location!, the pictures are exactly as they look like on hotel central website. Relax with great spa, swimming pool, saunas, gym etc and great food. If this is your sole mind set for coming here then it is 5 star!!
However there were by my standards a few little glitches! not that i'm particularly fussy. A distinct lack of atmosphere which may well suit some people, no bar, no alcohol, no provision for smokers this also suits many people but i prefer to have these facilities as much i as i like good food and exercise. This maybe petty of me and does not gel with the healthy living feel to this hotel, perhaps i should have asked first but this was not made clear. Anyway it made for a better stay in Sarajevo as we went to more places during the day time and night time and sampled many more resturants/cafes etc and enjoyed the hotel for sleeping and relaxing during the morning time.
Front desk reception has a 1 good girl and 1 not so good girl - not so good girl was kept quite busy with facebook most days which i feel hampered her response for answering a few simple questions on 2 separate occasions .
Last little spat is the bedrooms are noisy and you can clearly hear banging from the gym area so if you work in the building trade and like loud irregular noises then this will also be fine for you.

Graham & Svitlana
Kiev

Room Tip: It is up to individual taste and what you like, the hotel has many plus points and a few negatives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamInnes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We got a great rate for this hotel through Hotels.com and were completely satisfied with our experience. We booked a junior suite and were amazed at how nice it was. The room was very spacious and even had a lovely balcony with a sitting area and a great view. The pool is really beautiful (indoor with wet & dry saunas). We didn't have time to take advantage of the spa but it looked really nice. The hotel is right in the middle of tons of restaurants & bars and had convenient / safe parking at the nearby Hotel Europa. The parking was fairly expensive but was worth it to just park the car underground and not worry about it. I would definetely recommend this place! And make sure you eat at nearby "To be or not to be". Its divine!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSetterPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Hotel is very centrally located and offers comfortable rooms. The lobby is nicely presented and staff are friendly.

Rooms are a reasonable size but have some minor design flaws. The shower head turns and does not point straight, meaning the bathroom floor tends to get wet. The room door design is attractive but needs to be slammed to close. The breakfast included in room rate is too simple, one would expect more than 2 bread rolls and a boiled egg for the price of staying at the hotel.

There are cheaper hotels in the city but Hotel Central is a nice place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtmbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is close to everything. In one direction you have the old town, in the other you have the modern part with lots of shops.

The staff were friendly and offered to organise an airport transfer for us.

The room was fancy, with a big TV, comfortable beds, and plenty of space to store your items. The bathroom was nice, however the shower was awkward to use as you had to hold the head with your hands, you couldn't leave it in the holder without wetting half the bathroom. I liked how the hotel provided plenty of different sized towels. Every day the shower gel, shampoo and soap were replenished, as were the towels.

The doors in the room were a bit awkward to use, to close them properly you had to push up against it and then turn the handle upwards. Took some getting used to.

The breakfast provided with the room was a continental breakfast consisting of two bread rolls, butter, cheese spread, marmalade, a cooked egg (still in its shell) and freshly squeezed orange juice. If you wanted something different, you had to pay the difference between the meal you chose and the continental price. The breakfast room was nicely decorated and it was never crowded so you could eat peacefully.

Overall, this was a great hotel to stay in because of the location and the room. As for breakfast; go down the road and eat at one of the many pastry shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d-eilatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I love this hotel. It is close to everything, clean and well equipped. Rooms are just beautiful, romantic with very comfortable beds. This boutique hotel is simple the best in Sarajevo, and it could be easily compared to the best hotels in Europe. Spa, gym and swimming pool are spotless. Wifi and breakfast are included in price. But the reason I would give this hotel 10 stars is extremely and unbelievable nice and helpful staff. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ida32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
1.9 mi away
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
#3 of 70 in Sarajevo
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#1 of 70 in Sarajevo
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
#16 of 70 in Sarajevo
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Town
Hotel Old Town
#9 of 70 in Sarajevo
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#2 of 70 in Sarajevo
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#14 of 70 in Sarajevo
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Sarajevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Sarajevo

Address: Cumurija Street 8, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: $99 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central Sarajevo 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired, this landmark hotel has been totally redesigned to bring you the absolute best hotel experience. Relax in our luxurious 25 meter pool. Stay in shape at our world-class health club. Spread over three floors, our purpose built fitness club is and packed with the latest fitness and body shaping equipment. Treat yourself to a host of treatments from around the world at our prize-winning day spa, fully staffed by award-wining and highly-trained therapists.The hotel is located in the City Centre next to Sarajevo Cathedral and only a few steps from the Old Town. It is only a 15-20 minutes drive away from Sarajevo Airport and 45 minutes away from the Olympic Mountains and Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Central Sarajevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing