We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple Services But Great Location & Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Sarajevo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple Services But Great Location & Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is rated 4stars by local authirity but I would give it 2 only. The breakfast food is below average carpet is dirty no amenites (no shampoo or soap just towels) in bath. There is a noisy pump working all night. Big tourist groups are either checking in or out everyday. parking is free and lots of cafes and bars around. Small mall, supermarket and pharmicy are at walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdulRahman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    120
    93
    29
    25
See reviews for
62
80
23
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Decently priced but was like a train station. Groups coming and going. Very noisy. Lobby and caffe by reception was constantly packed with men smoking. Breakfast choice was very limited and always the same. So many people were at hotel that during breakfast tables were never cleared. Staff in main restaurant however were very nice. We spent 5 nights there. It is good for conferences. But too far away from Sarajevo centre. There is nothing to do close by except for a few bars. Cost us a lot in taxis going and coming to centre to get a taste of the real Sarajevo and good restaurants.
The finish in bedrooms on sixth floor was modest. Comfortable. But the irregular hum from the vent outside the window did not let me sleep especially since the air-conditioning was not working in my room and I had to leave the window open. The noise kept coming on and off all night! I slept only during the last night when finally my own A/C was functioning and I could close the window.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great hotel with great location next to river, i stayed ther for three nights, we are three men, the room is big enough, we have river view, great staff,
Bad things are
The breakfast is almost the same and limit choice.
The smell of te river is some times bad and this not to do with hotel.

Next time i will stay there agian.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shammaryk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohrid
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Given that is not in the centre and the fact that is more of a modular building, I believe that this hotel is perfect only for conferences and short stays.
A bit crowded and to high turnover of guest, which does not really add to to peace and quest.
Also getting to the rooms might be a bit a challenge given that the hotel resembles a labyrinth.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new part
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebedce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Hollywood for three nights while in Sarajevo for a conference. The location was entirely suitable for me, as It was within walking distance of my event. The airport is a mere five minutes away. There are cafés and restaurants galore nearby, although I did not partake.

The first night I stayed in an older part of the hotel, aboye the bowling alley and down the hall from a conference room, which was noisy until 11 p.m., then totally quiet. Like another poster's, my door locked well from the inside, but could be pushed open from the outside when I left the room. Cigarette smoke was definitely a problem throughout the public areas (unpleasant!), but this is Bosnia... Speaking of posters, there was one of a different kind in that room: a larger-than-life print of Angelina Jolie with a saucy smirk. Interesting choice in décor...

The next day I asked for a non-smoking room. Excellent! Selma at Reception was so very accommodating, and the new room was huge, well-appointed and very clean. GREAT bathroom! Also lovely view of the river (you'll have to pretend the strong sulfur smell is therapeutic). No Angelina - just Balkan forest.

The waiters and cleaning staff were friendly and competent, the buffet breakfast was adequate, and Adi at Reception was efficient, if a tad impatient... The staff speaks English very well, and they will exchange euros for you or call you a taxi. No maps of the whole city at Reception, though - be prepared. Note, too, that they take your ID at check-in (but do not explain why...). If you do not feel comfortable leaving it there until you check out of the hotel, you can ask to have it back within a couple of hours.

If I were returning to Sarajevo, I would have no hesitation staying here agin. I hope the management team suitably rewards those staff members who make the effort to make guests feel at home. Again, special thanks to Selma, who dealt pleasantly with her guests and who really tried to ensure everything was suitable.

Room Tip: Get a room in the actual hotel part, not in the older wing in the bowling alley side. The river is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation_Couple89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had a really bad experience this past weekend. I was visiting Sarajevo from New York to be with my fiancé. I really enjoyed Sarajevo, but the hotel was a disaster.

The last day I was leaving my my fiancé, who lives locally in Sarajevo, visited me for 4 hours before my flight, exactly from 1AM to 5AM, before I left to the airport. The receptionist had a note in his notebook that someone stayed with me overnight. So, he charged me for additional guest 25 EUR (32 USD). This is the first hotel among 100 of them I have visited in my life (I travel almost every week for business) that charges for additional guest. After I left he hotel I saw the hotel rate is the same either for one or two people, so obviously this is something they just made up.

The receptionist was very rude. He didn't want to even discuss this problem, but just cutting me in the middle of the conversation and kept saying I had to pay.

The fact that the receptionist had a note in his notebook about my guest was very weird. The hotel is quite big and has several entrances/exists, but I couldn't believe they are following their guests on the cameras and making notes if you bring a guest into your room. This is just shocking.

Secondly, I used their swimming pool was dirty. I got an infection after I returned from my trip. I had to visit a doctor and got a prescription for antibiotics.

My recommendation. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-Hollywood, Manager at Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Edo,

Please be informed that rates are based per person per night. Therefore, we charged you for the second person as per the official price list and house rules.

The second and more important reason is security of our guests. Each person have to check in at the reception desk with all necessary documents, witch was not the case with your fiancé.

Hotel price list is public and can be seen at the reception desk as well as at other reservation cites.

According to the Institute of Public Health protocol, water samples are collecting two times per week.
This is to confirm that the water quality satisfy all requested hygienic standards.

All mentioned documents can be sent to you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarajevo hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

First time in Sarajevo, so unsure if the surprise of how smoky the hotel was is due to me or that it is particularly bad. One night we came home and on entering the lobby from outside, the fog inside almost obliterated our view of the reception desk!
That said, staff helpful, good gym, nice buffet spread. Slightly outside of main area/ old town.
I would stay here again though

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#4 of 67 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
#3 of 67 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.4 mi away
Garni Hotel Konak
Garni Hotel Konak
#6 of 67 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#1 of 67 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#2 of 67 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
Hotel Europe Sarajevo
#13 of 67 in Sarajevo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo

Property: Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo
Address: Dr. Mustafe Pintola 23, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOMS AND APARTMENTS Rooms and apartments are spacious, decorated and equipped in the highest European standards. All rooms are equipped with king size beds, SAT and local TV, direct phone line and wireless internet connection, mini bar, bathrooms with sauna, whirlpool bath or hydro massage shower, hair dryer… All rooms are with air condition. Wireless internet connection availableCONFERENCE FACILITIES 18 conference rooms, capacity of 20 – 1000 persons (subject to seating arrangement) All conference facilities can be fully supported with technical equipment of the highest standards: sound system, beamers, presentation screens, simultaneous translation system, etc. Wireless internet connection is available in all conference facilities Air conditioned ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hollywood Hotel Sarajevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing