We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, just what is needed in this up and coming City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garni Hotel Konak

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Garni Hotel Konak
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Sarajevo
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great location, just what is needed in this up and coming City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A very modern and clean hotel situated 10 steps away from the busy old town streets of Sarajevo.

Check in:

Easy and swift with no problems at all. The gent on check in was very efficient, polite and spoke perfect English. Nothing was too much trouble and he made our stay that little bit better.

Rooms:

Clean, modern and the one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. LCD TV with satellite, many English speaking channels. Bathroom was very clean and although our shower door was a little broken, and wouldn’t shut properly, this made little difference as everything else had its place and was well presented.

Hotel:

Excellent location, everything is accessible on foot and is close by. Good for bars and restaurants as they are very close by, shopping, sightseeing and just milling about the streets of the old town. Very modern and clean, should be 4* in my opinion as the standard is very good. Hotel also has free secure parking that is located off sight 2 streets away. The gent on check in parked our car for us!

Breakfast:

Included in the price of your stay, the breakfast consisted of cold meats and hams, cheese, cereals, boiled eggs and fruit. Fresh coffee was made to order and you can have Bosnian styled coffee if you like. All in all, very nice especially with the ambient music played in the background in the breakfast room, nice touch.

Overall:

A well-managed and operated hotel, very clean and comfortable. Good knowledgeable staff, good service and good breakfast. Great location and a sound sleep had by all. I would certainly recommend this hotel to any visitors to Sarajevo. A good standard hotel, in a beautiful part of town – what more could you want!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank javab29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    45
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
81
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Situated in the heart of Sarajevo you could not wish for a better location. Bars, restaurants, supermarkets, bizarre, post offices and cash exchanges are literally on your door step. As the hotel is located on a busy main road there is no on site parking but if you ask at reception they do have a space witch is just metres away near the police station. The reception is home to a wealth of handouts, maps and magazines for you to use and browse. Access to the breakfast room can be found via reception and the back door opens into a small courtyard where there are two bars and a restaurant. Ideal if you have had a long day and you don't want to venture far. There is a lift that access all floors. The staff was awesome. Extremely friendly, very helpful, and always looking out for you. They even parked our hire car.

Room 4, 2nd floor:
The rooms are bright and homely consisting of AC, a full shower room/wc with a hair dryer and clean towels. A large mounted TV can be found in front of the bed which was very comfortable to watch with satellite access and the ability to hook up a laptop/netbook if required. The beds were single but pushed together make a suitable sized double bed which didn’t move in the night like some tend to.

Breakfast was of a continental style with fresh bread, cheeses and meats. Cereal and hard boiled eggs were also available. Tea and coffee was made on demand but never stopped flowing.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family and would stay here again if I visited Sarajevo again.

Room Tip: Room 4, overlooking the main road. The genrtal noise from to road is minimal but when the trams go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent the weekend here and couldn't have been more pleased. The front desk staff was friendly, well-informed, passionate about their country and as helpful as could be. They speak excellent English, if that matters to you.

The location is good (don't be fooled by the dusty side street it is on) and is right next to the old town shopping, restaurants and bars.

Rooms are basic but clean and the air conditioning and new TV worked like new. A basic breakfast was included.

A great value in an intersting city. Ask about a taxi tour of the mountains or war tunnels. They are cheap and interesting.

Room Tip: The front rooms have street noise unless you turn up the a/c fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupedtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in march of 2012 and really liked the hotel.

Like others say in their reviews, the staff was awesome. Extremely friendly, very helpful, and always looking out for you. The breakfast was good and the location is right on the main Bazaar. The bazaar is about 25 steps from the Hotels front door.

I would recommend staying here if you want an authentic experience without giving up any comforts.

The only negative I can think of is that since its close to the bazaar...if you want to go to sleep at 9PM on a Saturday night...its not going to happen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Awesome location, right in the Old town, the most helpful staff, clean and modern rooms with free wifi ...... I could keep on describing it, but my best argument for this hotel is - I've been in Sarajevo numerous times on business or vacation, and I never even thought of staying somewhere else! At Konak they make me feel at home :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zlatka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotor, Montenegro
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and we weren't dissapointed. The location was spot on for the old town and the receptionist accompanied us to the car parking as it was difficult to find. Both the guys who manned reception spoke really good English and were very helpful with recomendations of what to see etc.
Hotel was spotlessly clean with all modern fittings and facilities. We stayed in room 4 which faced the main road - this was the only downside to our stay as this main road has trams and traffic all night long. Even with double galzing, it made for a noisey night. I would recomend asking for a room that doesn't face the road.
Wi-fi was excellent throughout the hotel and the breakfast was varied and fresh. There is good access from the hotel to the old town as there is aback door which leads onto one of the old town alleyways.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't overlook the main road as the one we stayed in - room 4 - suffered f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Excellent location. Nearby parking. Very helpful staff. Spotless clean modern rooms, free wi-fi. Exceeded our expectations. I sincerely recommend this little hotel. Enjoy Sarajevo!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#4 of 67 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel VIP
Hotel VIP
#2 of 67 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#1 of 67 in Sarajevo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
Hotel Bristol Sarajevo
#3 of 67 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Boutique Hotel
City Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#8 of 67 in Sarajevo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Hotel Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Hotel Konak

Property: Garni Hotel Konak
Address: Mula Mustafe Baseskije 54, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garni Hotel Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within 50 meters from The Gazi Husrev Bey's Mosque and The Old Orthodox Church in Sarajevo's historical part Bascarsija, Garni Hotel Konak offers free WiFi access.All rooms are air-conditioned and come with flat-screen cable TV. Private bathrooms are equipped with hairdryers and toiletries.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet served every morning in the cosy breakfast room.Garni Hotel Konak offers room service, luggage storage and security boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Garni Hotel Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing