We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel comfortable clean beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel City Center Sarajevo
Ranked #18 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Sarajevo
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our stay here was very comfortable. The hostel is quite clean and has a great common area. Some people complained about the breakfast but I thought it was good for what you pay for plus they made great Bosnian coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofree1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Upgraded to studio flat on arrival - at no extra charge. Excellent facilities - kitchen, living room, clean bathroom, good wifi signal, etc.

Staff friendly and helpful - useful snippets of info e.g. how much to pay taxi drivers, gave us free tickets for a museum, ideas about where to eat and drink, as well as transport out of Sarajevo. Always polite.

Amazing central location.

Street can get slightly noisy at night but not too much of an issue. Beds reasonably comfortable. Some of the lightbulbs needed replacing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cristobaldela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It's a good place to meet people although over priced. The service is also pretty poor. they need to let customers know that Sarajevo doesn't have water at all between midnight and 5am. The beds are okay and there is a decent common area. The breakfast is pretty bad though, not really worth 3BM when you can get amazing food not far from the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Its easy to meet fellow travellers in this place. The location is very good, between the main street and the pedestrian-shopping street. But the hostel is not very clean, especially not the bathroom. We didnt use the kitchen, as it also needed cleaning. Its nice that the hostel sells beer, if they would ever actually have any. The guys in the reception were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederikBertelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had a great time staying here, the staff are very nice and helpful. my room was clean and quiet. walking around the city is nice everything is close. I will recommend this hostel, as you enter the building, it looks a bit rough but you go up to the third floor the hostel itself is great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurt_marten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here, despite some early morning "rustlers" zipping their bags for like an hour at about 5am - Remember the Hostel CODE! geez guys ;)

Location is bang on - right downtown near all the bars, the 'enchanting' muslim market etc.

Layout of the hostel is cool with sort of 2 common rooms, and decent sized dorm rooms with not too many beds packed in. Beds had good mattresses for a good sleep.

Staff are very friendly and helped me with advice on sights and sounds and good tips to travel around - Train vs. bus. vs Gea Tours (private van company).



Stairs? hell yah.. suck it up and enjoying a panting rest at the top :

Room Tip: Tip o' the day' Things mayyyy get noisy in the main common room so if you have a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schlampah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beware of the 3 flights of stairs! There is no lift here so if you have heavy luggage, be prepared to carry it up 3 very slippery flights of stairs! The hostel is quite well located, within walking Distance of the old town, and its right In the middle of the nightlife in Sarajevo. The lounge room is quite nice. It's not a huge hostel so it's almost set up like a house, you can lounge on the big comfy sofas and watch tv and go on the Internet with the free wifi (throughout the building might I add!) there are more stairs to the rooms as well to be aware of that. We had a private room which was spacious, with limited bench and storage space. The shared bathroom is ok but it's very hard to get into. You have to be ready to run for it! It wasn't the cleanest bathroom either, but not the worst. The breakfast is so basic we went to the local supermarket and bought cereal and our own milk and some yoghurt. They provide cornflakes or muesli with warm milk and some over ripe fruit. The room is air conditioned but beware that at night the pubs downstairs get very loud and you'll find it hard to sleep with the noise. All in all it was pretty good. 

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ness-of-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.3 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#24 of 69 in Sarajevo
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travellers Home Hostel
Travellers Home Hostel
#5 of 193 in Sarajevo
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balkan Han
Balkan Han
#4 of 193 in Sarajevo
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
#3 of 193 in Sarajevo
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
#2 of 193 in Sarajevo
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Doctor's House
The Doctor's House
#1 of 193 in Sarajevo
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel City Center Sarajevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel City Center Sarajevo

Address: Saliha Hadzihuseinovica Mukevita No. 2 3, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Sarajevo
Price Range: $14 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 reasons to book a bed at Hostel City Center Sarajevo :1. Reception 24/72. Safe, secure and friendly3. Amazingly comfortable beds4. Fast, free WiFi and computers5. Large lounge, dining room and kitchen with all mod cons6. Keycard access to Hostel - complete freedom and no curfew7. Fantastic location right in the heart of the beautiful old town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel City Center Sarajevo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing