We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Indeed!”
Review of Haris Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haris Youth Hostel
Ranked #12 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Sarajevo
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Haris Youth hostel is perched up above the old town area - the view of Sarajevo from the hostel terrace is fantastic.

Haris himself is really friendly and helpful and you will find notes on the wall from other guests saying so! He is really down to earth and adds to the charm of the place.

The facilities are simple and clean - but the friendly approach you dont find everywhere. Down the road towards the old town we found a wonderful little bakery with delicious freshly baked pastries!

Our only regret was that we didnt stay long enough to take one of the Tours they offer - sounded great!

BiH by far is an amazing country to visit! Go there!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milotales7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

This Hostel was great, Harris is a non stop workaholic. He provide you with the best service he possibly can. Be sure to go on his daily tour of the city, it was definitely worth it! Also a great way to meet people from the hostel. It is up a steep hill, so I recommend a taxi when travelling with bags or for the soft. But this does provide amazing views of the entire city! Kitchen is handy, Tv/DVDs for lazy times, and generally a good time had!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenechoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Haris is one of best hostel owners I have come across.He always very helpful and tries to make you feel at home.
THe view from the hostel is fantastic .There is an outside area to sit (too large to call it a balcony )and especuially at sunset time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Haris hostel quickly becomes ones second home in Sarajevo. It has a warmth and closeness to it, and the people working there is simply amazing! Yes, there is a the hill, and it might not be so fun to climb, but taxis are super cheap anyway- if you dont want to walk (8-10 min) to center of turkish quarter. The hostel has a good kitchen, WIFI, laundrythingy, its very clean, good outdoor area, barbeques(!) great common room, no smoking inside, and supermarket very close!

Haris also offers alot of diffrent tours - I went with him to Srebrenica, and on his Sarajevo Tour- wich were both great value.

Go-go!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Sure, there's a big hill you need to walk up and down. But if you're traveling you're some of the more adventurous sorts in the world to begin with and if you're lazy, you can always take a taxi which costs almost nothing.

Now onto the hostel. Haris is a brilliant hostel owner and this family-run establishment is the tip top of hostels. I had actually planned to stay at the other one in town but ended up here and couldn't have been happier. In fact I've already stayed here twice and now have spent a total of 6 nights. The community feel is combined with a friendly, clean atmosphere and space. the beds are comfy, the facilities are top notch and I couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay during my time in Sarajevo. In fact, I might even come back in a month to hang out for a bit.

If you are coming to Sarajevo, even if it's just for one night, this is the place to be. it's the perfect blend of information, fun and family. You'll miss it when you leave...if you leave at all.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperGuido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank karinej119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Matt75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hostel Check Inn
Hostel Check Inn
#13 of 199 in Sarajevo
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#25 of 70 in Sarajevo
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#32 of 70 in Sarajevo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
TSC Pansion
TSC Pansion
#54 of 125 in Sarajevo
15 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
#4 of 70 in Sarajevo
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartments Sarajevo
Apartments Sarajevo
#68 of 199 in Sarajevo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haris Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haris Youth Hostel

Address: Vratnik Mejdan 37, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Sarajevo
Price Range: $15 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haris Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haris Youth Hostel first time open a door for a backpakers in July 2003. We are small hostel with home relax and chill atmosphere. For everybody who wan t to feel real local atmosphere we guarantee that we will do all best to feel like home and learn something new. Welcome to Haris Youth Hostel ;) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Haris Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing