We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love Sarajevo n Staff in Hotel Divan!”
Review of Hotel Divan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Divan
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed September 23, 2013

this is the first time I stayed at this hotel. It was elegant beautiful and the service was tremendous. I was able to book the room at a great price and I would recommend calling the hotel directly. the front desk desk personnel was phenomenal

Room Tip: Every room has its own story to tell, so, free your imagination, relax n enjoy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Divan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice location at the city center, friendly staff, clean rooms. Good prices. Divan hotel is a sister hotel of Konak Hotel near to each other. Divan hotel is more new. Rooms are quite big enough and bathroom is well designed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed one night at B&B Divan in Sarajevo in August 2013. We enjoyed our stay at Divan because of the friendly staff and the excellent location.

The staff were helpful and gave us good tips on attractions and restaurants. We ended up eating excellent burek in a nearby restaurant, which was recommended by the staff. Our room was clean, nicely furnished, and the double bed was comfortable. TV, aircon & wifi worked well in the room.

Maybe the best thing about Divan is the location: Sarajevo's old town is just around the corner and there are many bakeries, cafés and cheap restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had to the opposite experience as the last reviewer, hence my 'excellent' review. I met honest people making an honest living, found my room to be very comfortable, and slept very well.. The construction must have been short lived because all I heard were the trams at night - the regularity and consistently of which i found comforting. I have traveled all over the US, Europe, and Central Asia, and if I did not want to hear the city I which I was visiting, I would stay in a Marriott.

When I checked in, the receptionist recommended Pod Lipom (just around the corner), and Bosnian meat pie with a glass of white wine was exactly what I needed after my 6 hr bus trip. The WiFi signal was fine in my room and in the dining room. Breakfast had non-grain options, and the hostess made me a cup of strong coffee using her espresso machine.

I loved the location of this hotel- very close to Bascarsija Square - and found it easy to navigate with this as my home base. I would stay here again and would recommend others to do so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacy28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The B&B Divan is a gem in a superior location. The concierge, Melika, is a wealth of advice stories of her childhood during the seige, and an overal enthusiasm for life that comes through in her thorough execation of her multifacted position at the small but hugely welcoming hotel There is a communal kitchen that can be used at any hour, tea, coffee etc. machine and biscuits as well as some original bosnian spirits available for your pleaseure.
The staff is extremely accomodating, the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean.

We would stay at this B&B Divan again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eldin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here after reading all the good reviews. I wouldn't enthuse as much as others - it was an average hotel and the cost was pretty steep (50 euros per night) given I had to change rooms (due to the noise from the trams and traffic all night) and given I hate the cigarette smoke (the first thing you notice when entering) Even if people arent smoking in the hotel itself, there was a small from the patio that filled the whole hotel with a stale lingering smell.

Its a small hotel on the smaller ring road/one way system within the city where the tram goes. Its location is good but its not a pedestrian area unlike other hotels. Two of the younger women at the desk were lovely - very pleasant indeed. Their mother (?) was more brusque but seems nice enough, another guy didnt seem to know much either but was pleasant. But in fairness to them after one sleepless night I must have looked like I was ready to cry or leave the hotel - so they suggested I switch rooms and were v accommodating.

Breakfast was pretty miserable: hard cold eggs, packaged milk, artificial orange drink, packed butter etc. Nice bread though. But coffee machine didnt work when I was there and I hate instant coffee. All this was set up in the smoke-smelling reception room. Some fruit was welcome though.
The next days I went out to get fresh coffee and pastries from the numerous nice cafes in the city.....
So overall an average stay, summed up as below:

pros:
central;
very very clean,
cheaper than the v unwelcoming Hotel Europa (which also smelt of cigarette smoke and where I didnt check in);
helpful and welcoming reception staff who helped not just us, but also people who came in lost and who needed to use the phone or who generally needed help.

cons: have to pay in cash (no credit cards);
smell of cigarette smoke;
noisy rooms on street side;
tiny and dated bathrooms;
water shortage so no water from 12 midnight until 5am (not great when you get back from a day out in 40 degree heat)
tired bed linen,
no water to drink in rooms,
no parking - or even place to stop for more than 30 second drop off in front of the hotel.

BUT...overall Sarajevo is such a lovely place, the people so resilient and open to chat to tourists about their history, fantastic architecture and the country's customer service is generally so good. The general welcome made me forgive and forget the cons and remember only the 'pros'.

Room Tip: dont stay on the street side if you want to leave the window open at night
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good location on the edge of the old town. Staff were very nice, with helpful tips on places to eat, how to get around, etc. The building was clean and tidy, though the smell of stale smoke was a little overpowering on walking in the front door.

WiFi was very irregular, which the staff warned us of on arrival. On numerous occasions, we had to ask for the modem to be reset.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.0 mi away
Garni Hotel Konak
Garni Hotel Konak
#10 of 68 in Sarajevo
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Old Town
Hotel Old Town
#7 of 68 in Sarajevo
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#6 of 68 in Sarajevo
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#25 of 68 in Sarajevo
78 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
#5 of 68 in Sarajevo
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Sarajevo
Courtyard Sarajevo
#3 of 68 in Sarajevo
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Divan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Divan

Address: Mula Mustafe Baseskije 54, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina (Formerly B&B Divan)
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: $65 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Divan 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Divan is situated in the heart of Sarajevo's Old Town, the mediaeval Bascarsija District. It provides free Wi-Fi in public areas and air-conditioned rooms with cable TV and a balcony. All rooms are neatly furnished and heated. They feature a private bathroom, some offer a balcony or views of Sarajevo's scenic old city. Guests can enjoy a continental breakfast buffet at the Divan Hotel. The reception desk is staffed 24 hours a day. The Divan is within 100 metres distance of the tram station. The main pedestrian street, numerous cafes, night clubs and restaurants surround the property. Free daily city tours are offered one per day. Cultural monuments are situated in the vicinity. Some of them include Sarajevo Museum, Gazi Husrev-Beg Mosque, an old orthodox church, Cathedral of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, Ashkenazi Synagogue (Jewish Museum). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Divan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing