We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views of Sarajevo - great value”
Review of Hotel Hecco Deluxe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hecco Deluxe
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is definitely a bit of a strange setup for a hotel, but once you get over that then it's a tremendous place to stay and a great base to explore this wonderful city.

The Hecco Deluxe is basically a tiny 12 room hotel which is balanced on top of a large apartment block right smack in the middle of Sarajevo and conveniently located next to the restaurants bars and culture of the Old Town.

The panoramic views in the restaurant/bar are truly unparalleled anywhere else in the city, but as the other reviews have said this a completely dry establishment so don't expect to have a beer while looking at the view. There are literally dozens of great bars within 5 minutes walk of the place so you won't need to wander far for a drink.

My only problem would have been the reception experience - the guy on the ground floor was nice enough but didn't speak any English (why would he, I suppose) - there was lots of pointing and gesturing to communicate to us that we had to go up to the 9th floor to check in - but when we did get there it was a little bit shoddy and there was no one on reception. We had to wait about 5-10 minutes until someone arrived to check us in. Other than that minor inconvenience it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cianjaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

During our stay in Sarajevo we ve discovered this place and have to say that its quite weird.

Its was warm Wednesday night and we decided to enjoy the great sight from the terrace, of course, we wanted some cool refreshment but we could not have regular cold beer, just one with 0% alcohol. Also there was no alcohol drinks of any kind, just juices, coffee and tea.

We took the juice but soon we was informed that we have to leave the place because at 11 PM they lock the the door.

Im not sure what kind of place is that but I would like to enjoy drinks I like and to enjoy the view for some time.

Obviously not at this place.

Waiter was also quite weird, not polite, did not provided the ash trays (smoking is allowed) even he saw that we re smokers...

Weird.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis Č
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel after many days on the road around Europe.
The hotel is conveniently located on one of the main streets of Sarajevo, close to all main attractions and all rooms have an amazing view of the city. The rooms are large, clean and well equipped. Even though you are in the middle of a busy area, the noise level is quite low and you can get a good night sleep.
However there are some cons to consider when booking this hotel. Most of the rooms are located on 11th and 12th floor, while the elevator goes only to the 9th floor. Smoking is allowed anywhere in the hotel and non smokers might not appreciate this. The restaurant does not serve any alcohol. You can consume alcohol in your own room, but you will have to buy it in a nearby grocery store. Curtains are very sheer and the morning light can be an issue if you like to sleep in. There is no access by car to the hotel.
We would most likely consider another hotel if we return to Sarajevo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

First of the Entrance is not perfect because people do live in the building. There is this little area that says hotel hecco all over it with a desk and we thought it was reception. ITS NOT. Get in the elevator and go to the 9th floor. THATS reception. From here up its all stairs. Next floor up is a cafe with an outside sitting area that runs around the entire building with unbelievable views of the city. Continental breakfast was fine. Toast, cereal, juice, coffee, fruit etc. We carried our luggage up to the top floor to a great updated room with a updated nice bathroom. TV was in the sitting area with a tiny couch and a little chair. Lots of English channels. No TV by the bed. A/C in the sitting area and the bed area (no rooms just separate areas). Shower head was really low but it was fine because bathroom is very nice. And I will repeat myself. The views are amazing from the room windows. Of course the location is great. The Ulica Furhadija is right when you walk out which is a walking street full of shops, cafes, and leads to Stari Grad and old Turkish area with many attractions. Also the other way down the street is a shopping mall and the Cinema is right next to that. Great Place to stay. Id stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Although hotel Hecco Delux is never my first choice when coming to Sarajevo, it is quite good. Location and view are just perfect, food can be better. Friendly staff. No alcohol in the hotel, but smoking is allowed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jovana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here for four nights and it was the perfect place to explore Sarajevo from. It's close to the old town and has great views over the city. Our room had panoramic views on two sides. The hotel was clean but did smell smoky. Breakfast was large and varied. The staff were helpful and spoke good English. Overall a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justjillymurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

When I booked the room I was expecting that this hotel will justify 4 stars. At our arrival there was one rude and indifferent receptionist who didn't even escort us to the room..Our room was located next to the elevator, 2 meters far away from reception desk so we can hear everything ( phone ringing, people talking until they are waiting elevator.. ). We ask for a matrimonial bed and we got two beds. Linen was smaller size than bed and it wasn't good quality.
Real surprise was awaited us in the bathroom - shower was rusted and broken, cables were sticking out of the wall and it was very dirty.
They didn't have hygiene bags, bathrobes and slippers...
Breakfast was ok but nothing special - bread, eggs, sweet breakfast, cheese, ham, coffe, orange juice and milk.
Over all, if you want to stay in this hotel you need to know that it does not justify 4 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Grad
Hotel Grad
#31 of 69 in Sarajevo
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sarajevo
Residence Inn Sarajevo
#11 of 69 in Sarajevo
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Opal Home
Hotel Opal Home
#21 of 69 in Sarajevo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hecco
Hotel Hecco
#46 of 69 in Sarajevo
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colors Inn
Hotel Colors Inn
#2 of 69 in Sarajevo
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Divan
Hotel Divan
#18 of 69 in Sarajevo
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hecco Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hecco Deluxe

Address: Ferhadija 2, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: $80 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hecco Deluxe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hecco Deluxe is a 4 star hotel located in the street Ferhadija 2, near the Eternal Flame, a monument and symbol of Sarajevo. The hotel is located in the center of the pedestrian zone on the last four floors of Sarajevo's oldest skyscraper, known as the JAT's skyscraper. We have tried to give it an extra dimension and we hope that you as guest of the hotel or restaurant customer will experience Sarajevo in a new light. Hotel has 15 luxurious rooms and suites. Each room and apartment is equipped with designer furniture, air conditioning, LCD satellite TV, free wireless internet connection, direct dial telephone, mini bar. Bathrooms are equipped with top ceramic, hair dryer, hydro massage showers and tubs as well as the emergency alarm call.On the tenth floor of a skyscraper is located Restaurant Deluxe led by top chefs team who will ensure to offer You the best international and national dishes from a selection of our cousin.From windows and balconies as well as from terraces with a summer garden restaurant Deluxe offers a breathtaking panoramic view of the historical center of Sarajevo and its environs.Hotel is particularly suitable for study and business trips due to its central location because it is located near all business and cultural centers, shopping centers and all the places where the majority of business meetings and fairs are held.Regardless of whether Your visit is of business or tourist nature we are confident that our hotels will justify your choice and trust given to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hecco Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing