We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reality”
Review of Hotel Alem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alem
Ranked #60 of 125 Sarajevo B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2013

i stayed the weekend asking by email 1 week ahead for a room in the new wing instead they put me the first night in room 147 where i put my shoulder out standing in the less thn 18 inch space shower provided by a over hanging wall. no newspapers the staff were friendly and the room the 2nd day good room 137. the old part of the hotel good for backpackers only.

Room Tip: room 137 for a couple single person in front of rerception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay here. The staff was incredibly friendly, especially at the seafood restaurant in the hotel! The hotel is about a kilometer or two walk from the city center, but it's a pleasant walk. A great deal all around. Also a good bakery and grocery store down the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHappyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great overnight stay. Able to eat an evening meal although we were late arriving. Beautiful room and very clean. Receptionist went out of her way to be helpful.Wish we could have stayed longer. Would go back anytime. Pritchard family, UK

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Sarjevo, BiH on our way home from volunteering in Visoko near by. we choose the Hotel Alem because the Guide to Sarajevo said it was a good value. For the price we expected to pay we expected a lot less than we got! we came in off the bus in the afternoon,with no reservation. we saw the most gorgeous hotel grounds, we thought we can't afford this! However, upon arrival we saw the price list was a very good deal. we were then told we could get a discount making it only 20 euro/night each. we waited no time at all and staff apologized for the wait! the room we got was as gorgeous as the rest of the hotel. very clean, very classy. the private bathroom was big and cleaned daily. the bed very comfortable.

the continental breakfast was great! it offered cereal, meat, cheese, two kinds of eggs, sausages, ect. the second day was a weekend and breakfast was a full breakfast to our pleasant surprise! the patio covered in grapes make for a cool place to sit and enjoy the surroundings with a drink.

the location was near enough to the downtown core that we could easily walk there, making trips to the museum or historical society easy. it was far enough away from downtown that it was not noisy at night. bakery and grocery store next to it.

hotel staff was very friendly, spoke perfect english, helped us call a cab, let us know when breakfast was, and let us check out later than usual(based on our flight time).

this is a gorgeous hotel, with crown moldings and little details that make this hotel really romantic and unique. it was clean, had amazing service, i would suggest it to anyone staying in Sarajevo, its a great deal, the breakfast was great, its a short walk to downtown and museum and historical society, close to bus station( walking there with our luggage was no problem) ( try to get a good map as some streets are curved)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The four of us went to Sarajevo for New Year's. The agency booked this hotel so that we did not have any saying in this decision. The two of us stayed in the new wing - spacious, modern hotel rooms and an excellent bathroom but at that time with no Tv or radio. We were told plasma TVs will soon be delivered. Our two friends stayed in the old part of the hotel - a suite furnished with old sofas and an old-fashioned bathroom. They did not have any heating in their bathroom, ours was not sufficient. However, room heating was excellent. Staff is very helpful, and the restaurant called 'the Pirate' excellent. Breakfast was served in a part of the restaurant that looks like an old mill, but again no heating. If you visit this hotel, you should except slow but very pleasant atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the new wing of the hotel. Modern beds, luxury bathroom, and plasma TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is one of the best budget category hotels I´ve ever stayed at. I paid 29 euros for a spacious, nice double room with a new, tiled bathroom. Staff are very helpful, and the hotel restaurant serves delicious bosnian dishes. Located some 2 kilometers from downtown, but easy to get there. (Just walk down the road towards the river, and there are trolley buses heading downtown, a taxi should not be more than 5-6 KM/2-3 euros). Also, they provide free, reliable WiFi in the hotel lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the residential area behind the hotel can occationaly experience noise from a number o...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank henkeeknes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Hotel Alem is slightly off the beaten path, but surpassingly better in every respect than the more expensive, centrally located chain hotels. My room was clean, quiet and comfortable; quite a bargain in price; and I took most meals at the hotel's excellent restaurant/bar. But what really made my stay was the staff - from cleaning crew to reception to management, Hotel Alem has the loveliest people I've ever met. I felt like a valued friend, not a cold source of revenue. I'll never stay anywhere else in Sarajevo.

Room Tip: Just ask the unfailingly helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
2.6 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#26 of 70 in Sarajevo
82 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#35 of 70 in Sarajevo
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
Novotel Sarajevo Bristol
#3 of 70 in Sarajevo
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hostel Like
Hostel Like
#39 of 201 in Sarajevo
28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
#16 of 70 in Sarajevo
272 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hostel Lucky
Hostel Lucky
#10 of 201 in Sarajevo
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alem

Address: Put mladih muslimana No 16, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Sarajevo
Price Range: $52 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alem 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing