We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sarajevo Hotel”
Review of Hotel Unica

Hotel Unica
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Unica
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Ashland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Sarajevo Hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked a room at the Hotel Unica after finding that the rooms at the hotel we originally planned to stay in smelled totally smoky. This was not the case at Hotel Unica, although there is a smell of smoke in the hallways (so many people there smoke!). All of the people at reception were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms and common areas were nice and clean. Our room faced an alleyway and was very quiet. Breakfast included a wide variety of good options, and great coffee. Plus, this hotel is centrally located. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

A simple hotel, very close (some 500 m) to e.g. the Delegation of European Union or the German embassy. Very nice service, staff always ready to help with smile. The rooms are clean but basic. Do not expect any fancy shampoos, hair conditioners or other body milks. No stationary either, even not a ball pen. The breakfast is very simple. 15 minutes walk to the historical centre. If you can get a corporate rate or other best rate in the Europa Hotel, the latter may be a better solution, more centrally located and with "full service".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaclavBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is a smart, clean and central hotel. I have stayed there several times and have enjoyed each stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and coped well with my colleague's humour.

I am surprised by some of the criticisms on this site. I am not overly-slim but still managed to cope with the Bosnian sized shower. I have had better breakfasts but not in Bosnia. I would recommend the narrow-minded to watch Al Jazeera on the hotel satellite TV - it is an international news channel and it may well broaden narrow minds.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamJollyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stayed with wife for a 3 nights in the end of September 2008 on the 1. floor toward parking. Almost new, very nice, clean and quite hotel in a center of Sarajevo with very friendly staff. Room little bit small and limitied breakfast. Everything is a just enough.
Have been other places and think a little bit expensive for a value but so long that is same price for the most of the others as well.
At the end, had nice staying, not regreting and will probably choose the same one again.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast, price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HogarNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I was a bit skeptical about this place, since I couldn't find any online reviews about it (it's brand new from what I can tell), but the website looked pretty good and I was recommended to stay here by the people who had invited me to Sarajevo in the first place.

My first impressions were that it was quite small. The rooms especially are very compact, although decorated very tastefully (minimalist certainly applies).

If you're even slightly overweight or even over-sized, you can forget being able to use the showers at all, since they are clearly designed for skinny people. I can barely manage and I am pretty skinny by anyone's definition of the word.

The breakfast is simple although adequate. I had to go to the supermarket on the corner to pick up low-fat yoghurt and milk, but the coffee and other pickings are not bad. I don't think you'd get an omelet if you asked for it though.

The management of the hotel (that is to say the guys behind the reception desk), are friendly enough, although they seem to be a but amateurish when it comes to such things as getting more than one laundry form delivered to your room at once (which means you have to ask each time).

Laundry seems a bit slow, i.e. you can forget same-day service, but they do promise 24-hour service for both laundry and dry-cleaning.

The rooms are well air-conditioned, although the air-con only seems to have one speed (full blast), so you have to choose whether you want to freeze or simmer, and there's not much in between.

One real advantage to this hotel is the free high-speed internet in the rooms and the free wireless up on the fourth-floor lounge area.

CNN seems to be the only international news channel available so, as usual you get the same three stories over and over again throughout any one news cycle. But the hotel also shows Al Jazeera, so you can tune in to that to see footage of western hostages being decapitated.

The hotel's location seems to be quite good, considering one is in walking distance of most government offices and the main pedestrian retail thoroughfare.

The hotel doesn't have any gym or pool or other such amenities, but is within ten-minutes walking distance of a pretty OK gym called FIS, which allows you to use it on a casual (walk-in) basis for the equivalent of about EUR 2.5. each time (not bad when you consider Fitness First will charge about USD 30 to 35 for the same privilege).

All in all, not a bad place, but at EUR 80 per night, which right now is worth almost USD 130, for which price I can get a really nice room at the Grand Hyatt in Jakarta (now that's a nice hotel), the value for money is questionable.

In short I would say this place is fine for a brief (3-day max) stay for someone here on government business. Otherwise, the Holiday Inn might be a better bet.

  • Liked — The free high-speed internet
  • Disliked — Slow laundry service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#6 of 68 in Sarajevo
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sokak
Hotel Sokak
#37 of 68 in Sarajevo
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hecco Deluxe
Hotel Hecco Deluxe
#27 of 68 in Sarajevo
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astra Hotel
Astra Hotel
#36 of 68 in Sarajevo
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kovaci
Hotel Kovaci
#35 of 68 in Sarajevo
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Boutique Hotel
City Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Sarajevo
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unica

Property: Hotel Unica
Address: Hamdije Kresevljakovica 42, Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Unica 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Unica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing