We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but...”
Review of Hotel Hayat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hayat
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just returned from Sarajevo. So yeah, Hayat is not so bad but the room on the third floor we got at first place was really awful. It was clean but to say it was small would be an understatement. Looks like it was built for hobbits. We changed rooms immediately and the one we got on the first floor was pretty good. Clean, spacey, bright and the bed was great. Bathroom was clean and big but the shower was leaking and that's the only thing that only kinda bothered us.
The staff is really really friendly, helpful and also young and if something bothers you you are free to complain and trust me they will do anything to fix your problem. Breakfast is not spectacular but if you really know anything about Sarajevo, you know you're supposed to eat in Baščaršija if you want to experience Sarajevo in its whole greatness. And while I'm at it, the hotel is only a few minutes away from the center and all the places where the magic happens.
So if you're looking for a reasonable ratio of price and quality....Hayat is the place to go.

Room Tip: If you're tall or claustrophobic, do not take the attic rooms!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hayat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just returned from Hayat hotel. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Or maybe it was just our room, since photos of other rooms look much nicer. Beside the location and kindness of the stuff, there in not one thing I could say was OK. Room; thin walls (the shower from the next room was as loud as an airplane, we heard all the noices from the whole hotel), bright rooms (when we turned off the lights, we could still read a book - too many windows with lights from outside (street or hotel)-my 3-year-old daughter had problems falling asleep!!)), bathroom was a disaster (shower leaking on to the floor (major flod every day), WC couldn't be flushed, a dim light, no shampoo, old, dirty equipment...), every day cleaning consisted only of changing towels, no making of beds!!, breakfast was horrible; scramled eggs that were really smelly, butter smelled of...??...
Do not expect their credit-card machine to be working - It never does!! I read reviews dated more then a 1 year ago, and all of them reported of "temporary" not working credit card machines!! I could go on and on writting about what else was horrible....
The only good thing is the location, 5 min walking to the Cesma and Bascarsija.
So the message to the owners; please repair your bathrooms, isolate the walls and renovate all the rooms, since you are advertising to be a 4-star hotel. Room number 103 is worse than a motel!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 101 - 105, 201 - 205 are not to be chosen!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ziva28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We had an attic room, two windows in the ceiling. Nice views. Bathroom was hilarious. Couldn't stand in the shower.. Bed was nice, towels and so changed and cleaned every day...

But we got "upgraded" from hostel to hotel, not sure why... Same price. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Wifi doesn't work in upper floors. There's a nice space downstairs where one can hang, though. Liked this place a lot. Maybe it's just part of the Sarajevo magic!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rottalainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were supposed to get a six person room, but they gave us two split up rooms instead, one of them clearly a two person room they'd squished another bed into. They changed us to a 6 person room for our last night, but by then two of our party had switched to another hostel, so that we ended up paying extra for the last night because we still had a six bedroom room. Every room in the hostel is so different, having seen three of them, so you might get a drip coffee maker and a baby bottle in a cupboard, or you might have a broken bathroom light, no lock on your door, and an overhead light that flickers on and off. No matter which room you get, you will not have wifi. You might get some in the lobby, if only one person uses it at a time.

The man we had to talk to may have been the rudest person I've ever met, the look on his face as you approach him before you even say anything saying, "Whatever you're going to ask: No. And I don't give a crap about you."

He could never do anything about our problems and was constantly charging us more for things but acting like he was doing us a favor.

The parking debacle: We told them the night before we wanted to leave by 7 and would need our van, which they'd parked in front of 3 other cars. They said it'd be no problem. We asked them at 6:40 am and were told it'd be just a few minutes. Then at 6:55 they told us shifts changed at 7, so the next guy would do it. He finally got there and started moving cars at 7:15, by which point we'd decided we might as well eat the non-rotten half of an apple and have a little coffee there while we waited. At 7:35 the guy told us he didn't have the keys he needed. At 7:40 we were told we had to pay for breakfast for all these days.

Apparently the breakfast we had thought was an awful complimentary breakfast cost $3 euro per person per morning. Various members of our group had eaten a little something or other on various days, assuming this crap was part of the price of the hostel, as it had been at all of our other hostels in the Balkans. The oranges were all sour and mealy, the apples half bruised, there's some cabbage and bologna, and the coffee was way worse than the toilet paper filtered coffee we made in the room.

After paying all their extra [--], we finally left at 7:45, 45 minutes after they said it'd be no problem to have our van out and ready for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A fiew minutes from the old town center witch is great, the hotel staff is verry friendly. When you enter the bedroom everyhing else becomes worse, the smell is terrible, the sheets aren't clean, the toilet is the worst. the breakfast is average. Great price

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms at the top floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our first room was tiny and lacked space to properly open suitcases. Lighting in the room was ineffective and like anyone would do, I pulled back the curtains to reveal windows that were floor to about 80cms high, and not providing much more assistance. Also, several of the lights were blown and didn't work. Lastly, the bedspread had been badly torn/worn and was darned within an inch of its life.

The problems really began when the shower flooded the bathroom due to ineffective seals on the doors. To their credit, on request they changed the room.

The next room, whilst larger had the following issues. There was a public balcony which we could access from our room. The curtain for this room was thin gauze, so anyone could see in (and also meant that the room was light from early morning). There was a raised lump in the floor which you would trip on every time (imagine a street hump, 2 or 3 inches high running across the room!). The room was decorated garishly with little thought, it seems that light fittings and wallpaper were chosen from the bargain basement bin. Lime green wallpaper and red and white wall sconces? Once of the walls was damaged and you could see the underlying meshing where the plaster had come off.

Lastly, the shower again leaked, not as badly as the first time. A couple of the lights again didn't work.

Television had minimal reception in both rooms, the latter, it was placed in a way that meant you could only watch it if you sat at the foot of the bed! Didn't matter anyway as I was really only able to watch ghosting and fuzz.

Breakfast buffet was minimal and quite poor. The eggs were burnt on one day and full of liquid the next. Horrid stuff. Bright pink mystery meat was avoided.

Staff at about 9pm one night were blasting out Youtube songs and singing away. When they weren't doing that they were playing games. Not a professional look. Their attitude in general towards myself was pretty rude as well with exception of one of the staff.

Also, you should note that the hotel is a dry hotel - no alcohol allowed.

Good location, minutes from the old town. I'd say that's the only good thing I can say!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good hotel, in a great location with very friendly staff.
All in all I'd stay here again as it ticks all the right boxes except one which is no laundry service is available - which if (like me) you were at the bottom of the clean clothes bag on an extended trip was a disappointment to say the least.
Obviously this is no issue if you have a bag full of ftesh clothes and/or have no need of such a service.
On the plus side it was one of the few hotels I've stayed in where wifi was really good in the bedroom in addition to the reception area and there is off street parking (if a little limited) if you arrive with your own vehicle. So if you do, I'd suggest a call in advance to reserve a parking spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.1 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#25 of 68 in Sarajevo
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#24 of 68 in Sarajevo
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#41 of 68 in Sarajevo
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saraj
Hotel Saraj
#47 of 68 in Sarajevo
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hecco
Hotel Hecco
#45 of 68 in Sarajevo
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Safir
Hotel Safir
#35 of 68 in Sarajevo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hayat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hayat

Address: Abdesthana 27, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: $23 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hayat 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hayat is a modern 4 stars hotel located at 27 Abdesthana Street. In less than a couple of minutes easy walk you arrive in the most attractive part of the city-Bascarsija. Hotel has 110 beds -43 rooms and 3 suites fully equipped with the newest and highest standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hayat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayat Hotel Sarajevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing