We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Hayat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hayat
Ranked #59 of 70 Hotels in Sarajevo
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the hostel, which is behind the actual hotel; you do go through hotel reception to get to your room in any case. The room was decent, if fairly basic, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, even helping us get a cheaper taxi to the bus station at check-out. The beds were comfortable and the room clean, as it was cleaned every day. The location is phenomenal - just a short walk away from the city centre. The only negative side was the fact that the free wifi did not reach our room, but it did reach the lovely garden in front of it, so it was not a problem at all. I'd recommend the hostel to most, except people travelling alone, as there is really no common space where you could meet other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intherain17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 193 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Good location near old town but can be a bit tricky finding. Rooms clean and tidy with wifi, friendly staff and a restaurant downstairs (we never used this during our short stay). Nice small communal balcony overlooking river and down into town. Overall good value and was quite popular with other guests but no laundry facilities and staff couldnt help on this issue.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offshore-tiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Perfect location, helpful staff and clean rooms.. the besy you can find if you want to visit Sarajevo properly. Private car parking (perfect if you are making the tour of Balcans). I really recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiordanoNicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

No aircondition in room. Shower was constantly leaking. Breakfast is terrible. Staff is always surfing the web instead of helping travellers. Great location. Beds are soft, but the pillows and the duvet are lumpy and hard as rocks. No big towels. Would not recommend this place to anyone. This is not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CecilieA503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hostel is nice but if you book the cheap rooms they are just horrible: too small and
the bed is uncomfortable.
The staff looks always very busy.
Only a girl who works in the evening seems to have some customer service skills.
We liked the location. Close to the old part of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saxlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am italian but I am writing in English to be helpful to as many people as possible.
The reason why there are many diffent opinions on this Hotel, is that there is actually a different hotel behind. To be clearer: if you book a room at a discounted price, you will be most likely sent to the backyard of the hotel, behind the main entrance, where they have dreadful tiny rooms at a cheper price.
Just be aware of this. Nothing works in those rooms. The bed is actually a sofa, there is no light, bathroom is tiny and while having a shower you'll flood it entirely. So, that cheap price is not a bargain, is a rip-off!
On top of this receptionists are arrogant and rude.
Just for you to know, now you make your choice

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giusep F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Except for the location which great, this hotel is a joke! Let me get to it in segments:
1) Room - torn bed sheets and towels, permanently leaking shower with constantly WET floor, toilet bowl that was placed on a piece of styrofoam low roof so that the shower is at its highest point 1,45 - meaning you need to kneel when taking a shower, hooks and hagers which were falling, window that if you opened it fell of the hooks .... there is no end to this list.
2) Breakfast - terrible in selection, quality and service - I have not seen such bad food in a long time in a hotel
3) Reception - uninformed and confused staff - we got 5 different answers as to whether they can or cannot iron the clothes.
The biggest joke is that this is advertised and appears on the hotel as a 4 star (****) hotel.
I do hope that this review will help you steer away from choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 481Ivan999481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarajevo hotels
0.1 mi away
Samm Seher Hotel
Samm Seher Hotel
#26 of 70 in Sarajevo
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herc
Hotel Herc
#32 of 70 in Sarajevo
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
Hotel Michele Sarajevo
#15 of 70 in Sarajevo
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grand
Hotel Grand
#50 of 70 in Sarajevo
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Divan
Hotel Divan
#19 of 70 in Sarajevo
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Central Sarajevo
Hotel Central Sarajevo
#7 of 70 in Sarajevo
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hayat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hayat

Address: Abdesthana 27, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Sarajevo Canton > Sarajevo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 70 Hotels in Sarajevo
Price Range: $34 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hayat 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hayat is a modern 4 stars hotel located at 27 Abdesthana Street. In less than a couple of minutes easy walk you arrive in the most attractive part of the city-Bascarsija. Hotel has 110 beds -43 rooms and 3 suites fully equipped with the newest and highest standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hayat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayat Hotel Sarajevo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing