We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the apartments!”
Review of Hotel Planeta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Planeta
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Minsk
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I did not enjoy my experience in this hotel. Everything is really dull, Soviet like! Pretty girl at the reception is the only thing that I liked! Breakfast is better eaten elsewhere! Don't waste your $15 and go to the centre. Any cafe or even restaurants will give you a better food for your money!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 300 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked for an Executive bedroom and requested high level floor, with view and non smoking. Exactly what I wanted. Nice view. A bit of soviet style, just enough to be amazing. Comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is probably the best you can get in Minsk - ex-Soviet but slightly more colourful and friendly. The location is good but the rooms simple and spartan. The front desk staff are helpful, if bureaucratic, but the room staff including room service not so helpful. Access to the hotel is not easy, given some one way streets and the need to drive round nearby buildings. There are good restaurants within 15-20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A very old type Sovjet style hotel. Rooms OK, but the restaurant is awfull and the buffet breakfast is the worst and the stone face service is consistant. A little smile would make it bearable. The bars are full of ladies, that offer their services. Next time I will spend 20 EUR more and hope for a better experience.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Torben V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel turned out to be the best of four I stayed in during my visit to Belarus. Good sized room with crisp, clean sheets. Good en suite facilities. Strong free wifi throughout the hotel. I had room 812, which I would book again. They advertise a gym, but it was closed when I was there so I used the park opposite for walking/jogging. It is about 15 mins walk to the city centre and there is a frequent bus service - but it's a nice walk around the lake. Staff are friendly, especially the woman who serves excellent coffee just by reception.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room, 812, and it was fine. At the inner end of the line near the lifts, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank breweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Smoking. Everywhere. People smoke in the lobby. They smoke in the restaurant. The corridors stink of stale smoke. As does my room. I return to reception and ask for a non-smoking room. "They cost extra" smiles the receptionist "$25". "What else to they have? More space? Bigger beds?" "Nothing. They are exactly the same. Just no smoking." "OK" I say reluctantly. But none are available tonight. It might feel like the Monty Python cheese shop sketch set in a soviet sanatorium, but at least they have learned the economics of supply and demand.

Back in the room the floor-keeper opens my window. WIde. The thunderstorm outside flashes and grumbles like an old tramp. Leaving the room to refresh itself in the shower, I set off to find the restaurant. Dark, wood-panelled walls, mirrored ceiling and plastic flowers. Late soviet disco beat pumps out from behind the empty stage. The caviar looks good value. But they have none today. Surprisingly they do have the grilled sturgeon. Even more surprisingly it is very good, as are the grilled vegetables. All of the staff here seem typically Belarussian - very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast next morning. There is a buffet with good range of hot food - several different sorts of sausages, potatoes, fish. But it is all ice cold. In the corner stands a woman with a portable gas burner. She fries me some eggs. I try to toast some bread in the seemingly hot but interminably slow grill, then give up and get some Rye bread instead. The Rye bread in Belarus is one of its finest features, as good as you will find anywhere in the world. The breakfast room has rows of simple tables, where people sit and chat, oblivious of the walls which have been lavishly decorated with interesting ceramic art. Behind my table is a tableau of an astronaut, maybe Gagarin, flying across the sky like a Chagall angel.

And one tip - buy bottles of water and snacks for your room from the shop at the end of the hotel lobby - it is a tiny fraction of the price in the mini-bar.

Room Tip: Ask for no smoking, and get the best room you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The total impression from the hotel is very positive. We booked a Luxe, the rooms were spacious, totally renovated, clean, with everything necessary available in the bathroom. Sleeping conditions were perfect. The furniture in the room and in the hotel lobby was quite tasteless but it didn't spoil the total impression. The staff at the reception were friendly and polite. The included breakfast was very good, with plentiful choice. In vicinity from the hotel there is a Victory park and Svisloch river, we were lucky enough to visit Minsk during the Day of the City, so we enjoyed fireworks and a show in the park, a kind of stylized knights tournament. Right in the next yard from the hotel there is quite a tragic place called "a Pit" ("Yama") where Nazis murdered thousands of Jews during the II World War but the local authorities did their best to make people forget this event and erected huge buildings all around, although people did not forget this heritage of Holocaust and still gather there.

It takes about 15 minutes to reach the nearest subway station "Nemiga" and the old city with the Cathedral and Troitskoe Predmestje if you walk in the direction of the Sports Palace, so the hotel location is also good. In general Planeta hotel is a good value for money and can be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minsk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yubileiny
Hotel Yubileiny
#23 of 44 in Minsk
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel & Business Centre
1.8 mi away
Hotel Orbita
Hotel Orbita
#19 of 44 in Minsk
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Minsk City Centre
2.4 mi away
Victoria Olimp Hotel
Victoria Olimp Hotel
#12 of 44 in Minsk
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belarus
Hotel Belarus
#5 of 44 in Minsk
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planeta

Address: Pobediteley 31, Minsk 220126, Belarus
Location: Belarus > Minsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Minsk
Price Range: $49 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Planeta 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Planeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planeta Hotel Minsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing