We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Planeta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Planeta
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Minsk
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The total impression from the hotel is very positive. We booked a Luxe, the rooms were spacious, totally renovated, clean, with everything necessary available in the bathroom. Sleeping conditions were perfect. The furniture in the room and in the hotel lobby was quite tasteless but it didn't spoil the total impression. The staff at the reception were friendly and polite. The included breakfast was very good, with plentiful choice. In vicinity from the hotel there is a Victory park and Svisloch river, we were lucky enough to visit Minsk during the Day of the City, so we enjoyed fireworks and a show in the park, a kind of stylized knights tournament. Right in the next yard from the hotel there is quite a tragic place called "a Pit" ("Yama") where Nazis murdered thousands of Jews during the II World War but the local authorities did their best to make people forget this event and erected huge buildings all around, although people did not forget this heritage of Holocaust and still gather there.

It takes about 15 minutes to reach the nearest subway station "Nemiga" and the old city with the Cathedral and Troitskoe Predmestje if you walk in the direction of the Sports Palace, so the hotel location is also good. In general Planeta hotel is a good value for money and can be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Planeta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 289 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

i was searching simple room for my stay in Minsk during my business trip here. Most of the hotels are pretty expensive here, choosing Planeta was kind of trade-off between price and location with good access to the city centre. What i liked most here was very tasty breakfast full of various local meals and its location - its situated on the riverside about 10mins by walk to nearest metro station (you should be prepared to spent cca 40mins to get to the centre). If you're busy traveller you can reach city faster by taxi but i was really satisfied to have a walk through the riverside boullevard.
Although it was quite cold weather in Minsk in March, the temperature in the room was quite high so i need to have the window open during my stay which was quite uncomfortable during the night - as my windows faced to quite busy road.
Room was comfortable, clean with lot of space, i didn't miss anything except internet (which is not included in the standard room) - for that price it's really sad that there is no free internet connection included as it's standard in the hotel of this category in Europe.
If you're finding simple room in the city of Minsk and to smell breeze from Soviet times, you're at good location ;)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the last four years, room quality varies.
I typically go for the business room which are reasonable and clean. This trip I upgraded to the Lux this is nice, two rooms, bedroom and sitting area, clean carpets and small minibar. A small coffee shop next to reception and a larger one further down. There is a casino which has changed over the last year, more slot machines a few tables - you can happily sit in the casino bar and just have a drink. Staff in the bars / casino are really nice and friendly. The upstairs bar is a nice place to hang out. Behind the upstairs bar is strip club. Its actually OK and the door staff are polite and easy going. Never really tried the restaurants, although the italian restaurant, accessed from the outside is rather nice. The hotel has good security so dont worry about callers to you room late at night unless pre -arranged. The building site mentioned by other reviewers has been completed, so little or no noise from outside. Taxi are plentiful, but can be sparse 08.00 to 09.30 but the receptionist will order on for you. They will give you the number of the taxi, which is clearly written on the doors.

Room Tip: go for the Business single or Businees double room or if you can try the Lux. These rooms have AC.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Staying here for a second time. Rooms are clean but poor. I should expect better shower for this price. Bed is ok, small TV manufactured by local company so if you wonder how the good soviet hotel looked like 30 years back - welcome to planeta. One important advise - don,t try to eat in the small Italian restoraunt on the back of the hotel. They have no idea about how to make food. What they claim as carbonara is not even close to what it should be and I was stupid enough to order onion soup (how ever for the price they charge you can forgive them a lot ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry_Timoshenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at Planeta in a single room. Room was very nice with a window faced residential block so it was very quiet. Room had a inner door so if you close it you will not hear noise from the corridor. It was very nice!
Very nice locaton - 15 min. on foot till the central square of Minsk. Near the hotel there is a beautiful lake and river.
The breakfast is simple but enough.
It is quite good if you feel comfortable in a former soviet style with a hostess on every floor of the hotel. The staff is very soviet and sometimes a bit rude.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank VictorEvchatov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was stayed in Planeta in the second part off April 2012. it was my third trip and first staying in this hotel. I think this hotel is better than hotel Yubileynaya and not so good as hotel Victoriya. But Victoriya is much more expensive.
My room was clean, not very little for one person.Breakfast was good, with good choice.Personal was polite. Location not close to centre, about 20-25 min. walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anar t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I enjoyed my one night stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean, even during the refurbishment I dindt hear any nosies. There are all nesesary services and the hotel (change, suvenir shops, bars etc) and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minsk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yubileiny
Hotel Yubileiny
#23 of 42 in Minsk
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belarus
Hotel Belarus
#6 of 42 in Minsk
405 reviews
1.3 mi away
BonHotel
BonHotel
#3 of 42 in Minsk
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
U Fontana Hotel
U Fontana Hotel
#33 of 42 in Minsk
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel & Business Centre
1.8 mi away
Hotel Orbita
Hotel Orbita
#17 of 42 in Minsk
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Planeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Planeta

Address: Pobediteley 31, Minsk 220126, Belarus
Location: Belarus > Minsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Minsk
Price Range: $49 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Planeta 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Planeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planeta Hotel Minsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing