We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best green places in Minsk”

Central Botanical Garden of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus
Ranked #18 of 161 things to do in Minsk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best green places in Minsk”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's a good place to promenade, to read a book, just to rest from the city fuss. The air is fresh and the flowers are beautiful in summer. The only thing that disappointed me was the fact that I couldn't find the place where to buy food, some were closed, some provided too limited choice. Except this, everything was great!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    41
    16
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Post-Soviet Botanical Garden”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This park had better days, but now it's not well funded, so it looks dull and outdated. In summer it's packed with people and newlyweds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaximMinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great way to spend the day”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The garden is very big and beautiful having a variety of plants I havent seen before, it's a wonderful recreation area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Romantic Venue on a Sunny Day”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Take you girlfriend -- don't go alone. Besides a wide variety of flora, there is a duck-laden pond to circumambulate and plenty of forested pathways to trek through. On the downside, the noise from the amusment park rollercoasters detracts from the peaceful, bucolic ambiance. Unfortunately, moreover, the weather in Minsk is such that apart from May, June, July and the first half of August, it is hard to score a sunny, or at least rainless, day. You pay at the gate two entry fees: one for the park overall and one for "orangeria" (where the tropical plants are housed); they don't have it set up so that you can pay for the orangeria at the entrance of the orangeria. It is worth paying for the orangeria. When I went pre-crisis price was 3000 BYR for general entrance and 2000 BYR extra for the orangeria for an adult. Expect to pay about triple this now. Still excellent value for money provided the weather is good. (Closed Mondays) Although you can buy drinks on the premises, don't count on the food (last time I had gone the shashlik stand was closed) so I wouldn't advise going on an empty stomach. You can easily spend three hours at "Botanicheskiy Sad." Over the years I have visited many times.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardThomas2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I liked it a lot”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been in this Botanical garden a few times. This is quite big and lovely Botanical garden with many usual and unusual plants from all over the world. Park has got a little lake with swans and ducks, lots of benches to sit and to enjoy food or to feed squirrels :) lol. But there is one but- the park is gorgeous from the end of May till, I would say the middle of July (as I assume, they cut many beautiful flowers (seasonal flowers) preparing for next season and it looks a bit empty, at least for me (as if there are no fields of flowers, I am not really interested :/). There is indoor green house with lots of tropical flowers and plants that I would advise to look at (a little charge applies)...I also would advise to take a map, not to get lost :).
Next to the Botanical garden amusement park- Park Cheluskincev (it is quite small park and not many rides for teenagers but it nice for family with children).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AuraVik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Botanical Garden of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus also viewed

 

Been to Central Botanical Garden of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing