We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great but it's Mexican in Tirana”
Review of Tirana Mexican Cantina - CLOSED

Tirana Mexican Cantina
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: A warm atmosphere with a friendly staff that serves delicious food. We have the best Mexican cuisine and make the most delicious risotto and homemade pasta!
Restaurant details
Description: A warm atmosphere with a friendly staff that serves delicious food. We have the best Mexican cuisine and make the most delicious risotto and homemade pasta!
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The atmosphere is nice and it's very clean. The waitress was very attentive and spoke perfect English. I made the mistake of ordering nachos. They were probably the poorest attempt at nachos I have seen anywhere in the world. A cold plate of flavoured tortilla chips with cheese out of a tube, some cut up tomato and salsa. I also ordered a salad that had grilled eggplant, zucchini and onions which was very good. They redeemed themselves with the salad so I will go back again and try something else. Give it a try but DON'T ORDER THE NACHOS!

Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estelaarapi, Manager at Tirana Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback! We have definitely upgraded the nachos, however finding actual tortilla chips in Albania has proven to be a real problem. We are hoping to find some new suppliers that may have them though.
Happy to hear that everything else went well! Hope to have you dine with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

I and my family of six went there and ordered a wide variety of entrée's. Everyone left happy and full. We all love authentic Mexican food and I would not say this was super authentic but it was good none-the-less. We all wish the food could have been spicier but we understand that most Albanians do not like spicy food at all and they have to cater to the clientele they have. The only warning I would give is do NOT order the nachos appetizer (unless you like flavored Dorito-like chips with off brand cheese whiz - none of us ate it except my 8-year-old daughter who doesn't know any better :-). My guess is they can't get ahold of normal corn chips anywhere - I know that we can't find them anywhere. We will definitely visit this place again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estelaarapi, Manager at Tirana Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We are definitely trying to find ingredients that are as authentic as possible. We look forward to having you dine with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

You would never expect to find a Mexican restaurant in Tirana. I'm glad I checked it out because it's one of the best Mexican restaurants I have ever experienced. I've traveled extensively in Texas so I am comparing this place to some serious competition. I am hooked on their chicken burritos. Once you've sampled the local cuisine this place deserves a try. You'll find a lot of folks from the USA embassy eating there at lunch time. The owners used to own a restaurant in Detroit so language isn't a problem. The staff are friendly and the service is quick. Be sure to check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pops D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estelaarapi, Manager at Tirana Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Thank you! It is always a pleasure having you dine with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank fiammetta_fiamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Luana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tirana Mexican Cantina also viewed

Tirana, Tirana County
Tirana, Tirana County
 
Tirana, Tirana County
Tirana, Tirana County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing