We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Et`hem Bey Mosque
from $27.70
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $1,321.00
More Info
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
104
101
29
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
101
29
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small mosque beautiful mosque remove your shoes ottoman architecture religious freedom wall paintings his son clock tower under communist rule skanderbeg square take pictures the main square under construction worth a visit our tour guide frescoes prayer
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Et'hem Bey Mosque is an 18th-century mosque located in the center of Tirana.
The Mosque most noted feature being its 35 meter tall spire which contains a spiral staircase to the top. The tower was for many decades the tallest building in Albania’s capital, and it is considered by many to be the most beautiful mosque in the country too. Closed under communist rule, the mosque reopened as a house of worship in 1991, without permission from the authorities.

Thank springbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Аuthentic, cozy like most of the smaller mosques. Surviving the communist earthquakes. Currently under repair

Thank isb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

One of the most beautiful old mosques I have ever see.
Standing beautifully in its simple made material and it’s eye catching next to the clock tower.
Unfortunately I couldn’t see it fully due to restoration process taking place at the moment but pleased go see it.

Thank Hisham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

There is not much to see but the setting is perfect. Again a place you cann't mis for it id situated in the center of town.

Thank johannesb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

The mosque was under construction work so not possible to visit. But central placed on the Skenderbej square. There are different info about this buiding on pages on internet..

Thank Baross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We passed by the mosque, but unfortunately it was under construction (since june 2018). Maybe next visit

Thank IwanBanens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

Apparently this is the only one still standing out of eight mosques that were built in Tirana in the 1800-1900 century. The chapel was finished in 1820-1821. Although a huge mosque, with four minarets, is now under construction in the city (see pictures below). Unfortunately we were only able to view the mosque from the outside due to the heavy construction and what I assume is restoration. I would be curious to know if non-Muslims, in the future, would be able to visit the inside of the beautiful old structure.

Thank reise-tanta-di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

One of Tirana's most historic and interesting buildings, filled with history and memories definitely a must see if you are coming to the city

Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

This mosque is right beside the Bell Tower. Our tour guide didnt even mention it nor its significance but when I was googling attractions in Tirana I remembered we passed by this mosque. Its now under renovation and boarded up so maybe thats the reason why our tour guide didnt mention it.

Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

The Et'hem Bey mosque is one of the oldest and beautiful mosque in Albania , the imam there is very friendly and a good person.

Thank arjancarja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews