We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there for the beer”
Review of Shakesbeer

Shakesbeer
Ranked #230 of 621 Restaurants in Tirana
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Go there for the beer”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is a very good beer garden, but I did not like any of the dishes. There are plenty of better places you can eat in Tirana. So go there and enjoy the beer with some cheese plate.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxed place with good beer”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Although Shakesbeer is located in “Block”, surroundings of Enver Hoxha residence packed with cafés and restaurants, the place can still offer some comparative advantage – garden is nice and large, as well spacey indoor. Furniture is simple but comfortable and adds to brewery type of atmosphere. Food is very good, especially meat dishes. Beer selection would allow you to find taste of choice. Service was very good, and staff speaks English, which is not the case at many places. Shakesbeer is worth visiting if you’re looking for relaxed night with a cold pint.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilutinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Passable”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had so many outstanding meals in Albania that we were quite disappointed by Shakesbeer. Fun idea but the food and service were mediocre. It was fun though to see the restroom designators - Angelina Jolie cut out for women and Brad Pitt for men

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good place to spend some times with friends”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The atmosphere is pretty nice at "Shakesbeer", a place full of funny sayings starting from its own name. The food is tasty, promoted with fantasy and the decorations are sweet. The service waiters can get a little "drunk" when they have a lot of people to serve to, but that is not a customer's problem. I remember asking once for mix grill with rice, served on the wooden plate. They did not bring the rice and used a normal plate, which hurt my gastronomic joy at that moment. When I finished, I reminded the waiter about the rice. He apologised and brought me a plate of rice. He was not being ironic, he was just being not professional at all. Well, there are quite a few similar stories I have experienced at "Shakesbeer", so that is why I will never go there for a formal dinner with important guests. It's perfect to go there with guy friends, so if they do not bring you the same quality "babanace cheese" two times in a row, you can just start mocking the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Central Tirana”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have been a regular customer to Shakesbeer (in the Blokku, Rr. "Brigada 8-te", between Rr. "Deshmoret e 4 Shkuritt" and Rr. "Vaso Pasha", quite near to the Sky Tower) for the last year and half. I've been there numerous times with colleagues for lunch and few times with family for dinner.
Petro, the Cook, invariably chooses excellent meal combinations and, when asked to do so (as for instance when I went there with the family), prepares real special and exquisite treats. He is a true artist, one of those Cooks that love what they do and do what they love. Several times, when he has fresh fish that he personally gets at the harbour (in Durres I would suspect), such as very respectably-sized tuna or sword fish, he lets me know and there we go and get the very best of the best. For instance, no where else have I ever tasted such marvellous grilled tuna steaks, which Petro treats as if the best beef they were.
And he also prepares an absolutely great super fresh tagliatelle with shrimps and saffron which tastes like nowhere else.
An absolute must visit in Tirana, believe me.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PAlmeida55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakesbeer also viewed

Tirana, Tirana County
Tirana, Tirana County
 
Tirana, Tirana County
 

Been to Shakesbeer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing