We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Albanian town house pretty well located for the centre of town. Bathroom and water facilities inadequate.”
Review of Hostel Albania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Albania
Ranked #40 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Tirana
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hostel could be a fantastic experience for the weary traveller if some investment in basic facilities could be made. Two bathrooms for potentially thirty people is only made workable by the complete lack of hot water for hours on end. While Albania may struggle for water in the summer, the lack of water at Hostel Albania is at best annoying and at worst contravenes health and safety and poses sanitary risks. There was no water on either of the nights we stayed and you had to wait until the owner turned up at eight in the morning to turn it on. If you like the smell of unflushed toilets and overflowing bins of excrement laced toilet paper then do not hesitate to book forthwith. A complete lack of any air conditioning makes for a pretty restless nights sleep. The location of this hostel cannot really be faulted but it does have the air of a hippy squat. The management have clearly work to do to raise the standard of this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toooldforhostelsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lived there with my family. Incredibly nice and helpful owners. Lots of dogs and cats as children could play with.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjarne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice place with helpfull staff with walking distance to everything to see and do in Tirana.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. Friendly and laid back staff were on hand to welcome me. Kitchen has the first juicer I have seen in any hostel. Living area indoors is a bit dark and not too comfy for chilling out in, but if the weather is nice the garden has nice places to hang out in. I looked at the large dorm room in the basement which seemed a bit damp and open plan for my liking (but I could imagine how that might be nice and cool in the August heat). I opted for a 6 bed dorm upstairs. One of the 'walls' in the room was actually just a double glass door between the dorm and the living area which meant that it was always possible to clearly hear what was happening on the other side (a possible problem if you like an early night and others don't). Claas (the owner) was a lovely guy and took a bunch of us out to Blokku for a few drinks. Main problem I had was with the water pump which came on every few minutes all through the day and night and was a bit annoying. Ultimately, it's a fairly basic hostel with potential to be great if your expectations aren't too high.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at Hostel Albania and it was great. We really loved that place. Its clean, the rooms are big and the beds are comfortable. but this is what we expect if going to a hostel. In the end it was much more than this. Claas ,the owner knows everything about the country. We didnt planed our trip to albania that well and he offert so much information's and we just follwed his advice and had one of the best holidays ever.
it started with the pick up at the airport that was arranged for us. Claas and his staff have been so polite all the time that you feel more than welcome. The garden has so many fruit trees i couldn't even count them. they just started to build a beach and beach bar while we where there. you can sit in the oriental lounge and smoke a water pipe. we had a all you can eat bbq for around 2,50€ per person which was amazing.
all in all i recommend this place to everyone who is visiting tirana. we really enjoyed it so much!

Room Tip: We took the private double room. Its a sweet room with a nice wall painting and a private terrace. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in Hostel Albania for one night, paying £22.74 for a private double room with shared bathroom.

The benefits of this hostel are that it’s in a reasonable location, situated 15 minutes to sky tower/main bars and restaurants and 10 minutes’ walk from museums (it is hard to find on a quiet back street so look out for signs). The staff were also helpful and knowledgeable; answering all our questions about onward travel.

Unfortunately, the downsides outweighed the positives on our stay – the private room we stayed in was located under the main house adjacent to the garden area, overall the room felt a bit unused as if it isn’t usually used as a bedroom and we weren’t expected. The patio doors to the room and connecting door to a dorm couldn’t be locked so we didn’t feel comfortable leaving our camera, I-pad etc. The washing machine was in the kitchen above our head and was used throughout the night so it was noisy, the bed sheets were damp and it was really cold (we were provided with a heater when we asked). The only small bathroom in use was in the main house accessed by going outside; when we left early in the morning there was no hot or cold water in the taps so we couldn’t wash.

Compared to other hostels on our trip of similar price the room wasn’t good value, the hostel seems very sociable and the dorms could be better option but I wouldn’t recommend the private room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great hostel and a perfect base for exploring the city. The dorms are clean and the sheets are fresh. There is free WiFi, lots of information, free breakfast and a nice sociable garden area and chillout lounge. The hostel is managed by a German couple, Lira and Claas are perfect hosts and the hostel has a nice chilled vibe about it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tirana hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#18 of 93 in Tirana
136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tirana Backpacker Hostel
0.2 mi away
Trip'n'Hostel
Trip'n'Hostel
#1 of 73 in Tirana
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Freddy's Hotel
Freddy's Hotel
#6 of 73 in Tirana
196 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#59 of 93 in Tirana
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Idea Hotel & Spa
Idea Hotel & Spa
#28 of 121 in Tirana
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Albania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Albania

Address: Rr. Beqir Luga, Tirana, Albania
Location: Albania > Tirana County > Tirana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Tirana
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Albania is perfectly located in one of the oldest parts of Tirana. Our Hostel is the perfect spot to discover Tirana day and night because we are close to everything to see and do in this big city. Close to all bus stations, just a few steps to the biggest open market, not far from the nightlife area in Tirana and surrounded by cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. Hostel Albania is also the first choice if you just like to relax a bit away from the hustle and bustle that this fast and noisy city is famous for. Sitting in our huge garden you won`t feel like you are in Tirana, and the different areas like the oriental lounge, the beach part, BBQ area or the bar will be there to ensure that everyone will find his perfect spot to do whatever you feel like doing. Smoke a Shisha, drink a homemade Raki, put your meat on the fire or pick your own fruits from one of our 25 fruit trees like lemons, oranges, mandarins or pick some grapes that are growing all around the garden. You are welcome...Hostel Albania is also the best choice if you need a base camp from where to discover whole Albania. As we were working as tour guides for different agencies in the past we know everything about what to see and where to go in Albania and we are happy to provide all the information you need to discover this beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Albania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing