We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostel Albania”
Review of Hostel Albania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Albania
Ranked #39 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Tirana
Stockholm
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hostel Albania”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2012. Friendly and laid back staff were on hand to welcome me. Kitchen has the first juicer I have seen in any hostel. Living area indoors is a bit dark and not too comfy for chilling out in, but if the weather is nice the garden has nice places to hang out in. I looked at the large dorm room in the basement which seemed a bit damp and open plan for my liking (but I could imagine how that might be nice and cool in the August heat). I opted for a 6 bed dorm upstairs. One of the 'walls' in the room was actually just a double glass door between the dorm and the living area which meant that it was always possible to clearly hear what was happening on the other side (a possible problem if you like an early night and others don't). Claas (the owner) was a lovely guy and took a bunch of us out to Blokku for a few drinks. Main problem I had was with the water pump which came on every few minutes all through the day and night and was a bit annoying. Ultimately, it's a fairly basic hostel with potential to be great if your expectations aren't too high.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
8
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at Hostel Albania and it was great. We really loved that place. Its clean, the rooms are big and the beds are comfortable. but this is what we expect if going to a hostel. In the end it was much more than this. Claas ,the owner knows everything about the country. We didnt planed our trip to albania that well and he offert so much information's and we just follwed his advice and had one of the best holidays ever.
it started with the pick up at the airport that was arranged for us. Claas and his staff have been so polite all the time that you feel more than welcome. The garden has so many fruit trees i couldn't even count them. they just started to build a beach and beach bar while we where there. you can sit in the oriental lounge and smoke a water pipe. we had a all you can eat bbq for around 2,50€ per person which was amazing.
all in all i recommend this place to everyone who is visiting tirana. we really enjoyed it so much!

Room Tip: We took the private double room. Its a sweet room with a nice wall painting and a private terrace. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauli1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in Hostel Albania for one night, paying £22.74 for a private double room with shared bathroom.

The benefits of this hostel are that it’s in a reasonable location, situated 15 minutes to sky tower/main bars and restaurants and 10 minutes’ walk from museums (it is hard to find on a quiet back street so look out for signs). The staff were also helpful and knowledgeable; answering all our questions about onward travel.

Unfortunately, the downsides outweighed the positives on our stay – the private room we stayed in was located under the main house adjacent to the garden area, overall the room felt a bit unused as if it isn’t usually used as a bedroom and we weren’t expected. The patio doors to the room and connecting door to a dorm couldn’t be locked so we didn’t feel comfortable leaving our camera, I-pad etc. The washing machine was in the kitchen above our head and was used throughout the night so it was noisy, the bed sheets were damp and it was really cold (we were provided with a heater when we asked). The only small bathroom in use was in the main house accessed by going outside; when we left early in the morning there was no hot or cold water in the taps so we couldn’t wash.

Compared to other hostels on our trip of similar price the room wasn’t good value, the hostel seems very sociable and the dorms could be better option but I wouldn’t recommend the private room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great hostel and a perfect base for exploring the city. The dorms are clean and the sheets are fresh. There is free WiFi, lots of information, free breakfast and a nice sociable garden area and chillout lounge. The hostel is managed by a German couple, Lira and Claas are perfect hosts and the hostel has a nice chilled vibe about it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Absolutely loved this hostel - its got all the facilities you need, a great little garden/bar area and i found it to be spotlessly clean. All of the staff were great - informative and welcoming, with tips about anything you could ask. Tirana has a crazy buzz about it, and this place is like a little oasis in the middle of the madness!! I'm sure there are cheaper options in the city, but you won't regret paying a little over the odds to stay here. The only gripe is that it is a little difficult to find, but just asking a local sorts that out very quickly!

Would stay here again without a doubt. (Hope the kittens are doing okay ;) )

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckeonba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

First up what is good about the place: the garden is quite nice, and the location is pretty central. The Wifi actually works (most of the time). And some of the non-permanent staff is really nice. Not so much the managment however (a german/albanian) couple.
They do not provide for the most basic cleansiness or services. None of the famous albanian hospitality is felt here. Few things work the way you expect them to. Particularly annoying is a very loud waterpump, that constantly disrupts the silence you might want to enjoy every once in a while. You can hear it in the whole house, that is how loud it is.

We have stayed at quite a few places in Albania and this was by far the worst deal we got, because we could have gotten a nice hotelroom at the same price or less. First of, the managment makes very little effort to make you feel good. The breakfast does not include even butter, the slices of ham are thinner than a piece of paper and you get only two of them. This is particularly striking as eating usually is a great experience in Albania thanks to excellent fruits and vegetables and other food stuff and the generosity of people. Not in the Hostel Albania. So we would avoid it in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faber12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tirana hotels
0.7 mi away
Vila Verde Hotel
Vila Verde Hotel
#66 of 91 in Tirana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#17 of 91 in Tirana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tirana Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trip'n'Hostel
Trip'n'Hostel
#1 of 64 in Tirana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freddy's Hotel
Freddy's Hotel
#6 of 64 in Tirana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#56 of 91 in Tirana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Albania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Albania

Property: Hostel Albania
Address: Rr. Beqir Luga, Tirana, Albania
Location: Albania > Tirana County > Tirana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Albania is perfectly located in one of the oldest parts of Tirana. Our Hostel is the perfect spot to discover Tirana day and night because we are close to everything to see and do in this big city. Close to all bus stations, just a few steps to the biggest open market, not far from the nightlife area in Tirana and surrounded by cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. Hostel Albania is also the first choice if you just like to relax a bit away from the hustle and bustle that this fast and noisy city is famous for. Sitting in our huge garden you won`t feel like you are in Tirana, and the different areas like the oriental lounge, the beach part, BBQ area or the bar will be there to ensure that everyone will find his perfect spot to do whatever you feel like doing. Smoke a Shisha, drink a homemade Raki, put your meat on the fire or pick your own fruits from one of our 25 fruit trees like lemons, oranges, mandarins or pick some grapes that are growing all around the garden. You are welcome...Hostel Albania is also the best choice if you need a base camp from where to discover whole Albania. As we were working as tour guides for different agencies in the past we know everything about what to see and where to go in Albania and we are happy to provide all the information you need to discover this beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Albania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing