We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, safe & clean”
Review of City Hotel Tirana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Tirana
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Tirana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, safe & clean”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This hotel is in a good location close to the Blokk area (shops,cafes) and an easy walk to Scanderbeg Square (currently under construction!). It's down an alley so relatively quiet and next to the Primeminister's place so very safe as his security patrols the street outside. This is reassuring if you're a woman travelling alone.There's also a handy 24 hour minimarket very close by for snacks, drinks and more.
The room I had was compact but clean and functional. I could just about see a mountain in the distance from my window but the hotel is in a built up area. Some upper floor rooms have balconies.
Breakfast was fine and included croissants, ham, cheese etc. Staff seem pleasant and try to help. They speak good English and can also organise tours for you.

Room Tip: Double check they are clear about airport pick up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escaperealitywow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    50
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
21
43
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The front desk staff is fluent in English. The room was clean. The hotel is very convenient to the local restaurants and shops. There was no English language TV in the room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Good clean hotel in a central location. Good breakfast provided. Friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caterinavegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We spent one night in this hotel and were pretty pleased with our choice. It is not a fantastic place but clearly a top choice in Tirana thanks to the location, cleanliness and good service (incl. reliable transfer to the airport). On the negative side, the internet connect was way too slow (temporary issue?)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Spent one night there in June 2010, for eur 50 incl breakfast. If requested, the hotel will arrange a shuttle taxi for you from/to the airport for eur 20, which is a very good price according to tourist guides (basically equals the price of regular taxis).
Hotel is situated some 5-10 minutes walking distance from the Skaderberg Sq in a quiet area
The room was small but clean, the breakfast ok.
The only thing is that the receptionist (and it is not only this hotel but the other one I stayed in when in Albania) wants to keep your passport until you check out. You need to argue with him.

Overall - this was my first trip to Albania and to be honest, I was little worried about it, but this hotel meets western standards very easily.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUXPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The Cityhotel is really well placed, right in the centre of town, but nestled in a quiet street away from the trafic. It is clean and comfortable but a little sparse on amenities - not a problem if you are out working all day. Rooms are spacious, air conditioned and have a mini bar, internet access etc. No lift for those who hate walking up stairs and no coffee lounge etc. I stay there regularly and at the price, it cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam-Rye-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is fantastic! So close to some fantastic restaurants and only around 10 min walk to Skanderbeg Sq.Having the 24hour supermarket and bank right next to the hotel is great. The room was clean and with all the modern things you need, the only thing was the bathroom was a little cold! Although I was there in the middle of winter in the summer time it would be nice! All the staff were more than welcoming and recommended a wonderful traditional Albanian Restaurant a 10 min taxi ride from the Hotel, on top of a hill with amazing food and wine! I Overall I would definatley stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tirana hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#18 of 91 in Tirana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nobel
Hotel Nobel
#26 of 91 in Tirana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Theranda Hotel
Theranda Hotel
#11 of 91 in Tirana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Millennium
Hotel Millennium
#24 of 91 in Tirana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Alba
Vila Alba
#9 of 91 in Tirana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirana International Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Tirana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Tirana

Property: City Hotel Tirana
Address: Rruga Ismail Qemali, Nr 8/1, Tirana 355, Albania
Location: Albania > Tirana County > Tirana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Tirana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Tirana 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Tirana is a pleasant family-owned hotel with exquisite service located in the very excellent and confidential heart of Tirana. City Hotel is totally renovated in 2014. Only a few meters away there are the Main Governmental and Legislative Institutions, Palace of Congress, International Cultural Center and the embassies of: USA, Italy, France, Holland, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Tirana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing