We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
2
14
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
14
9
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2017

The bathroom had a threatening sign in case you left water overflow from the tub, my room was probably wiretapped, the absence of guests gives the hotel a haunted atmosphere, the large painting of Kim Il-Sung and Kim Jong-Il in the lobby don't let you forget where you are. Simply spectacular!

Room Tip: Odds are you can pick any room for yourself.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KryptoNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

This hotel was a pleasant place to lay your head. The room decoration left something to be desired, but after a day of touring, it was a comfortable place to relax for the night, although the bed was rather hard. The duvet was extra thick and combined with the heated floor, the room got rather hot. Luckily there was an A/C unit, and if all else failed, the door to the balcony could be opened, to allow some cool night air inside.

The bathroom was adequate, with a good selection of toiletries and the hairdryer worked well. Only around six TV channels were offered, and only two of these were in English, but you don't go to North Korea to watch TV.

There was a large fridge and a safe, and I particularly enjoyed the multi adapters for electricity, which were excellent for charging all cameras, phones, etc. at one time.

Breakfast was limited, but served fresh, with enthusiasm and the hotel shops offered an eclectic array of items you wouldn't really want, such as fabric conditioner. There is a bar, which served a reasonable selection of drinks.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Leopard_Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

By most standards this hotel delivered. It was comfortable and clean, staff were very formal and i could not get a smile out of them. ROoms have basic amenities. I would stay here again as there was lots to do in and around the premises.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Visited here on the off chance when our car had a puncture, It was such an improvement on the Koryo Hotel where we were staying and which we had been told was the best in the city, that we got our guide to change it for us. We were told the Pothonggang Hotel had recently been renovated so maybe it wasn't as good as it is now. We can definitely recommend it if you are staying in the capital.
Marks out of 10 would be 7 which is very good for North Korea.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bennySouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

This 5-star hotel is well located in town and offers all the comforts without the big brand names of international chains. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. All the expected amenities are included. Staff are very helpful and courteous. Good gym and the food here is amazing! A fantastic selection.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Gurleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews