We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Koryo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pyongyang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koryo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Pyongyang
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Hotel as your expectation. For a satisfied label service we can directly check in there. After check in, just forget every things. They are behind you for take care all of yours. So, It is the great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mahbubur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Koryo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Speechless,the best hotel ever.Well let say for NK this is great.Friendly Staff.Amazing revolving Bar.Really Fast lifts.great breakfast and selection on prime products.Superb Shop with High end quality products

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stefano7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at the hotel from 8th to 15th October 2013. The hotel is good. It's clean with spacious rooms, a bathroom that includes bath, shower, hair-dryer and selection of shampoos, body lotion and of course soap. There's no face flannel and the towels are bit thin. However they are adequate if you take your own flannel and use that to wipe off excess moisture first after showering. The TV had both Al Jazeera and BBC World News (not available to domestic viewers apparently). Although a kettle, cups and saucers were provided there were no tea bags or coffee, so take your own tea bags. At an outside supermarket that we were permitted to visit briefly, a jar of coffee (priced in the local currency) was about 50% more expensive than in the UK. The shop attached to the hotel seems reasonable but I only bought bottled water there. 5 bottles for one euro. Take a supply of one euro coins; there's never any change and everything seems to cost one euro wherever you are in the country. Laundry was also reasonable. 1 shirt, vest and pants cost me the equivalent of just under £3 and they were returned the same day with the shirt nicely ironed and folded. Breakfast can be a slight disappointment. The service is a bit slow and only 2 slices of toast are provided. One freshly poached egg each is your allocation and one type of jam. The 'fruit' juice is entirely synthetic though palatable but the yoghurt is very good. You won't see any cereals or even milk - except in powdered form for your tea or coffee. (In fact I never saw any liquid milk anywhere). More than one cup of tea or coffee is supposed to be paid for at the rate of one euro per additional cup, but our group somehow managed to negotiate 2 cups each without additional payment. You won't spend much time in the hotel, but the rooms are comfortable with firm beds and warm duvets (at least for the October temperatures). I've stayed in many worse places, but on returning to Beijing the contrast with our hotel there was stark. The Koryo was a bit dim and dowdy. But then anyone deciding to travel to North Korea presumably doesn't expect very much and the Koryo will exceed those expectations by a good margin.

Room Tip: You don't get to choose, and you will probably be the only occupant of that floor!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cielward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Koryo Hotel in Pyongyang was superb. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. Like in many Asian hotels, beds and sofas are rather hard, but your days in the DPRK will be so busy and full of surprise that at the end of the day, you could fall asleep on a washing line. Bathrooms are adequately proportioned, spotlessly clean, and have powerful toilets (no messin'). Be warned that you can't grab a hot shower after midnight, as hot water gets turned off during the small hours. The room has all the conveniences of a modern hotel, including a minifridge, tea and coffee facilities, power sockets, television, radio, and ample storage space. There was no internet or wifi connection, but it was possible to receive BBC world news, Al Jazeera, and DPRK state television channels on the flat screen TV.

Breakfast at the Koryo Hotel is interesting, there's plenty of food available, but not the best range, particularly for my wimpier western taste-buds. My main complaint is that the restaurant was not particularly well signposted, and due to this, my friend in fact accidentally gatecrashed a foreign delegation for breakfast.

The hotel offers several places to grab a refreshing Taedonggang beer, including a revolving restaurant and bar offering splendid views of the city. There is also a convenience store on the ground floor, where you can purchase all manner of items, including bottled water, drinks and snacks. The hotel also offers a 24 hour post office (but you might have to wake the post-woman if you're up late writing postcards). Another facility I made use of was the excellent and inexpensive laundry service.

If you're visiting the fantastical city of Pyongyang, I would strongly recommend the Koryo Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Previous reviews have covered most details but there are a few points to add.
The only socket for round pins is in the bathroom, and with no ventilation, this isn't ideal for charging a camera/phone. Other sockets have slots so make sure you have an adaptor for both.
Our tour operator recommended taking a bath towel, as the hotel ones are small and thin. However, it was humid during our stay and with said lack of ventilation in the bathroom, an ordinary towel would never have dried. Best stick with the hotel ones. Might be an idea to pack a spare loo roll; they seem none too keen to give you another until yours has finished completely.
Prices are generally quoted in Euros in the shop. US$ are accepted but need to be converted, so Euros are probably the best option. Take plenty of small notes and 1 Euro coins, as change can be tricky.
The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds, and a 1950s floral carpet. The bathroom appears to be made from pre-fabricated plastic and just slotted into the space; so no need to worry about water getting down the gap between the bath and the wall. The micro-brewery did not have any 'black' beer, but the 'yellow' was OK. Red wine is about 8 Euros a bottle, but white is very expensive at about 50 Euros. Breakfast is OK; toast and fried eggs always available, together with a selection of local food. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the hotel only appeared to have about 100 guests during our stay, so fortunately there was never a long wait for the lifts.
No chance of venturing out without your guides, but this was expected. As you won't have nay choice of where you stay, this is perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: Great views from upper floors
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The standard rooms at the Koryo were much larger and nicer than expected. There is a nice little seating area with interesting views over the city. Annoyingly, there are no curtains in this bit, so light filters straight into the room in the morning. The bedroom itself was ok – beds were clean and comfortable.

The swimming pool in the basement is nice, although it seemed like I might have been the first Western to ever use it given the hassle it took to enter. For the record, you have to pay to use it (around EUR 3), but it’s quite nice, with a Japanese style wash room in the back. Breakfast was ok, some days there was good choice, others not so much. The rooftop revolving bar was fairly nice, although you may need to request for the rotation to be turned on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's not a bad hotel and surely beats anything the locals would be staying at. Aside from the North Korean propaganda stuff hanging everywhere, it feels just like a 4-star hotel anywhere else.
The beds were clean, the food decent and apparently there's an option for karaoke at the bar too (tragically I missed out on that, but after seeing the Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese and South Koreans do karaoke, I'm dying to see what North Koreans doing Eminen would look like).
If it's not like you get an option where to stay in Pyongyang, as the Great Successor's adoring followers will tell you where to stay, but if you end up here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Tell the employees how much you too adore the Great Leader/Dear Leader/Great Successor and certainly...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank utpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koryo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koryo Hotel

Address: Pyongyang, North Korea
Location: North Korea > Pyongyang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Pyongyang
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
Koryo Hotel Pyongyang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing