We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
1
5
8
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1
5
8
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018

A very nice hotel not far from São Tomé city center. Only 15 minutes walk to the downtown area. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful and the breakfast was really good, especially the coffee. The room was always clean and the bed was comfortable and I had a good sleep every night.

In São Tomé, there are power failure occasionally. But this hotel has got a generator, which will run (unfortunately not always) when there is a power failure. But for me, there was really not a problem. The Wifi at the hotel was very fast, when there is power.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017

The hotel manager cheated us in many ways! You can't trust him and you can't even have a conversation with him, because he get's aggravated and threatening. We were scared and bullied into paying his overprices. He was not transparent about the price of food, the car service that picked us up from the airport (a 12 minute ride for 15 € !!???), and he made up his own exchange rate. He also put us in bad situations with taxi-drivers. Because of the language barrier we were dependent on him to communicate to the drivers (he called by the way) where we were going and what the prices were, and they were insane. He said this is what it costs. Once we found our own taxis a couple of days in the vacation, we found out that this is NOT what a taxi costs. We had been overcharged by the hotel manager and the taxis he called.
A taxi driver actually assaulted us in the hotel because of the manager. He wanted to charge us 150.000 to drive from the restaurant Filomar to Cocoa hotel. When we wanted to negotiate with the help of the manager who was the only person who could communicate, he just said "this is what it costs, you have to pay him, I don't want the police here!". When we insisted he help us tell the driver this was an insane and unfair price, he just walked away and cursed at us in Portuguese. The driver then grabbed my iPhone which was lying on the table beside us, and tried to run away with it as payment. We quickly threw the driver 200.000 and he then gave us the phone back. It was just an insane experience and we were so chocked by the unwillingness of the HOTEL MANAGER to help us! He did not care about customer service AT ALL. He did not even care about our safety.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 778kristoffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016

We stayed two nights after we arrived in Sao Tome, partly to save money and since it is close to the airport. Saving money did not work out. The prices posted on the website are confusing and the pictures do not align with the prices states. We checked in and went to rooms without confirming the prices -- only when checking out we found it would cost 30 euros more than we expected. Hotel’s owner was unwilling to reduce the price at all. And in general, the rooms are over-priced – clean but only basic/functional. Maybe you pay so much for AC? Dinners were tasty if simple, no complaints. Breakfast was included and very basic but the bread and coffee were delicious. Since the town itself offers little and the best part of Sao Tome are the beaches, next time we will skip staying here and go straight to a place on the water.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moniek_Accra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

We booked a night via their website which included an airport pick-up. The driver wanted to take us to another hotel as 'the hotel was overbooked'. We were driven to a seemingly random hotel. We insisted the driver take us to the Cocoa where the manager became aggravated and said he'd sorted the situation for us... This guy clearly had little competency in running a lodge/hotel - offering advanced bookings, And blamed the over-booking on a delayed flight out of São Tomé. We stayed elsewhere, but we we were hugely disappointed with the manager who seemed dumbfounded by the idea that a booking made weeks in advance should not be canceled hours before we arrived - without notice. We were refunded the booking cost but left to find our own accommodation late in the evening.

Oh, and they sent me an invoice for my 'stay' 5 months later.

Avoid.

Date of stay: May 2015
Thank woours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2015

Situated in the middle of the small city of São Tomé, everything is walking distance. There are few sights to see but you can walk to all of them. The rooms (bathrooms included) are clean and comfortable. Unless you'd like to sleep in (The rooms windows give on a high school courtyard...) this is a good, fair place.

My recommendation upon visiting São Tomé though, is to have a good grasp of Portuguese, no one here speaks more than basic english or french, so when it comes to explaining a discrepancy on your bill... best of luck to you!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MapleTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews