We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very goog option”
Review of Omali Sao Tome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omali Sao Tome
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Tome
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Tome Island, Sao Tome and Principe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very goog option”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I just love the Omali Lodge has simple facilities and modern, has a very good customer service, the staff are always very attentive and polite, the rooms are spacious and very clean, has a good free internet. The restaurant offers very varied and tasty food at a good price. Good location, opposite the beach, 3 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the capital city by the side of the city.

I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation. It is much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Boutique Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    60
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
52
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel on business.
Friendly staff collected me at the airport and took me to the hotel where a very welcome cocktail was waiting for me.
My room was clean and attended by friendly efficient staff during my stay.
Wi Fi was adequate and certainly better than I expected.
The pool is clean as are the surrounding grounds.
My overall impression was that of friendly and efficient staff doing their utmost to help whatever the request. The whole hotel had a relaxing atmoshere with none of the "wariness" sometimes found in other African countries.
I will certainly stay at this hotel again and would recomend it .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WearyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest

We endeavor to give the warmest welcome in Africa. Thank you for acknowledging all efforts to make your stay comfortable and to provide committed service. We hope to welcome you back at the Omali.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Boutique Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poliamba, New Ireland, Papua New Guinea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Omali Lodge several times and every time it has been a pleasure. The staff are great, very friendly and helpful and the food is the best in Sao Tome! It was an oasis of calm and tranquility, but great fun round the bar. It is the only place I will stay in Sao Tome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent 10 days at the Lodge on a business trip and found this hotel perfect for my needs. It was very close to the airport and to a professional diving center. From the pick up at the airport to arrival at the hotel I already felt very welcomed and knew I would enjoy my stay. The hotel assisted in procuring trusted drivers and obtaining needed contact information. Nice place all around!

Room Tip: I chose the most economical room but the pool side rooms would be my next choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Omali. On an island where services and recourse are limited, we pride ourselves in going the extra mile to take potential frustrations out of a business day. It is good to know that you had the opportunity to explore the island and experience some of the great activities on offer.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in one of our Family Suites by the pool side.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Boutique Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I lived in the Omali Lodge from 15 to 22 February 2013. The hotel is 5 minutes from the airport of Sao Tome, on the ocean. Between the hotel and the beach - the road, the distance frjm the hotel to the brach - 20 meters. The beach is sandy, the water is very warm, a lot of the locals swimming. Impossible to take any valuables to the beach!
The hotel is not big and located around the pool. The pool is nice, the waterfall, the water is warm, plenty of sun loungers. Plenty of greenery and flowers, staff carefully care for the area. We lived in a Junior Suite, rooms are good, all the devices work, but the rooms looked a bit old. The main drawback - no safe box in the room.
Breakfast is poor and the same every day, the hotel restaurant of good quality, tasty dinners, but they do not know how to make cocktails.
Staff friendly and try to help where possible. I want to say many thanks to Ms. Charle Bornman, she is very friendly and helpful, I think that she supports the quality of service in the hotel successfully.
So, I can surely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Junior suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikhailYekaterinburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Omali and the positive comments that you have given. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay. Training our staff to be attentive and friendly is important to ensure a wonderful guest experience.
We certainly appreciate your positive criticism, with these comments we can evaluate what needs to be added and changed or training that we need to give. I am happy to report we do have safety boxes in all our rooms. We were waiting for the new shipment from South Africa, which was delayed for a few months. The breakfast buffet has been changed. It is still relatively small, but very tasty. We offer a breakfast menu for those individuals whom would like a bigger breakfast.
We are busy with a service training program and cocktail training is high on the priority list. A wonderful cocktail on a tropical island is a must, my sincere apologies for failing to deliver on this important aspect.
Ms. Charle Bornman is very dedicated. Thank you for recognizing her commitment to quality service.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Boutique Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stay here whenever I come to Sao Tome. I generally come for work but I have also brought my family here and found it to be great for both scenarios. The rooms feel less like hotel rooms and more like small suites. The open-air aspect of the hotel is wonderful and makes for a quiet stay. The staff mostly speak English, which is a rarity in Sao Tome and nice after working all day with translators, and are super friendly and helpful. The restaurant is the best thing about the hotel. I know that if I am tired from a long day's work that at least I can get a good, quick meal at the restaurant. The bar is set up in a cozy way, making for a great place to read your book, use their wifi, or chat with folks hanging out there. The staff is very helpful when you want to plan tourist activities as well. They set me up with a Sao Tomean tour guide who spoke French and some English and he gave me a great tour of the south part of the island. My only complaints are small: often the wifi in the rooms is not working and the breakfast buffet is mediocre. The wifi is admittedly a challenge for everyone in Sao Tome and the breakfast could be greatly improved with the addition of an omelet bar. Some complain about the far out location of the hotel but I find the staff can get you a taxi that will escort you wherever you want to go for a reasonable cost so the distance doesn't bother me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmapcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Omali. Thank you for honoring us by staying here every time you visit the island. We like to think of the Omali as your home away from home, especially to our return business guests.
Regarding the wifi, it is a bit of an on-going battle, I hope that the fibre optic cable has improved the quality of the wifi. It is still not perfect, but we shall continue to improve the service.
We have changed the breakfast buffet and included quiche as an egg option on the buffet. To ensure a cook quality hot breakfast we choose to stick to a breakfast menu with options, which one can order from the kitchen.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, should you have any special requirements that need to be taken care of, please do not hesitate to contact us before, during or after your stay.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just returned from three nights at the Omali. The grounds and pool area are beautifully landscaped and the rooms are nicely posititioned around the garden and are comfortable, cool and nicely decorated. This hotel feels both simple and luxurious at the same time. The staff was very friendly and attentive. And the location is ideal for exploring the island. We highly recommend this hotel. The tennis court is actually in better condition than it initially appears. Not all the staff speaks excellent English, but there is aways someone available who does.

Room Tip: The larger suites are excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give an informative review of The Omali. We are glad to know that your experience was so positive. We shall continue to train our staff to be attentive and welcoming. It is our aim to assist our clients in a language of preference. This can be a bit challenging at times, but we certainly endeavor to assist in this important part of hospitality. We have some projects planned for our facilities during 2013 and the tennis court is on the list. We trust we shall welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Tome
0.0 mi away
Pestana Sao Tome Ocean Resort
0.0 mi away
Pestana Equador - Ilheu das Rolas
0.0 mi away
Miramar by Pestana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bom Bom Principe Island
Bom Bom Principe Island
#1 of 1 in Principe
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweet Guest House
Sweet Guest House
#1 of 18 in Sao Tome
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roca Belo Monte Hotel
Roca Belo Monte Hotel
#1 of 6 in Santo Antonio
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omali Sao Tome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omali Sao Tome

Property: Omali Sao Tome
Address: Praia Lagarto | Praia Lagarto, Sao Tome, Sao Tome Island, Sao Tome and Principe (Formerly Marlin Beach Hotel)
Location: Sao Tome and Principe > Sao Tome Island > Sao Tome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Tome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omali Sao Tome 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omali, meaning 'ocean' and 'source of life', is the perfect location from which to explore the natural and cultural wonders of the equatorial island of Sao Tome. This stylishly decorated boutique hotel has suites for honeymooners, families and business travellers. All rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, air conditioner, Satellite TV, safe, telephone, coffee-making facilities and mini-bar.Hotel facilities include an air-conditioned restaurant, bar with terrace overlooking the beach, 24-hour reception, Wi-Fi internet connectivity, laundry service, meeting room, tennis court, swimming pool with poolside bar, as well as airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omali Sao Tome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing