We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets all your needs”
Review of Omali Sao Tome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omali Sao Tome
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Tome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stay here whenever I come to Sao Tome. I generally come for work but I have also brought my family here and found it to be great for both scenarios. The rooms feel less like hotel rooms and more like small suites. The open-air aspect of the hotel is wonderful and makes for a quiet stay. The staff mostly speak English, which is a rarity in Sao Tome and nice after working all day with translators, and are super friendly and helpful. The restaurant is the best thing about the hotel. I know that if I am tired from a long day's work that at least I can get a good, quick meal at the restaurant. The bar is set up in a cozy way, making for a great place to read your book, use their wifi, or chat with folks hanging out there. The staff is very helpful when you want to plan tourist activities as well. They set me up with a Sao Tomean tour guide who spoke French and some English and he gave me a great tour of the south part of the island. My only complaints are small: often the wifi in the rooms is not working and the breakfast buffet is mediocre. The wifi is admittedly a challenge for everyone in Sao Tome and the breakfast could be greatly improved with the addition of an omelet bar. Some complain about the far out location of the hotel but I find the staff can get you a taxi that will escort you wherever you want to go for a reasonable cost so the distance doesn't bother me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmapcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Omali. Thank you for honoring us by staying here every time you visit the island. We like to think of the Omali as your home away from home, especially to our return business guests.
Regarding the wifi, it is a bit of an on-going battle, I hope that the fibre optic cable has improved the quality of the wifi. It is still not perfect, but we shall continue to improve the service.
We have changed the breakfast buffet and included quiche as an egg option on the buffet. To ensure a cook quality hot breakfast we choose to stick to a breakfast menu with options, which one can order from the kitchen.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back, should you have any special requirements that need to be taken care of, please do not hesitate to contact us before, during or after your stay.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 156 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just returned from three nights at the Omali. The grounds and pool area are beautifully landscaped and the rooms are nicely posititioned around the garden and are comfortable, cool and nicely decorated. This hotel feels both simple and luxurious at the same time. The staff was very friendly and attentive. And the location is ideal for exploring the island. We highly recommend this hotel. The tennis court is actually in better condition than it initially appears. Not all the staff speaks excellent English, but there is aways someone available who does.

Room Tip: The larger suites are excellent for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give an informative review of The Omali. We are glad to know that your experience was so positive. We shall continue to train our staff to be attentive and welcoming. It is our aim to assist our clients in a language of preference. This can be a bit challenging at times, but we certainly endeavor to assist in this important part of hospitality. We have some projects planned for our facilities during 2013 and the tennis court is on the list. We trust we shall welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Since the last 2 years, I have been traveling every 2-3 months to Sao Tomé & Principe and I always stays at the Omali Lodge. This boutique hotel is really charming with its coco trees garden, swimming pool and tennis court. The rooms are very pleasant, large and comfortable, very clean and quiet well decorated, a lot of small attention which makes the difference... The staff is always smiling and do its best to offer you with top services whatever the request is...I can say that I have experimented it with a business hat as well as holidays one and it was always perfect!!! On the top of that, the restaurant is the best of the island with a large menu covering different appetites and origins...and for a small island as Sao Tomé & Principe, it remains one of the best place to be in order to meet friends and spend a very good evening... The Hotel is very well situated, in the beach front and very closed to the city center and the airport which is highly appreciated at arrivals and departures... Omali Lodge is from far the best hotel in Sao Tomé & Principe....Then do not hesitate!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the swimming pool and closed to the restaurant are the best and have wi-fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe-Perles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the informative review and the beautiful words used to describe The Omali amenities, restaurant and staff. It is our commitment to be worthy of your review consistently.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am leader of a group of scientists that has been staying at the Omali off and on since 2006. I have even written a blog posting about the Omali and attach the link below. The other reviewers have described the Omali amenities quite sufficiently; I would simply add that what really sets it apart from the places like the Pestana and Miramar is the character of the place. The staff are like old friends, and just about everybody doing anything interesting in the islands ends up at the Omali Bar. I feel it is sort of my island home and my island friends are eventually always there. It is the meeting place for folks who make the island magic what it is. Here is the blog link:http://www.calacademy.org/medialibrary/blogs/gulfofguinea/?m=201112

Room Tip: most of us prefer to pool level rooms.... noise is not really an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobDrewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is our pleasure to be the host of the scientist team and we are honored that you consider The Omali your home away from home.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent 8 days in Sao Tome last year and Omali Lodge is the perfect base to explore the island. Very friendly staff, good food and fantastic cocktails. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for. Lovely grounds, beautiful pool and a tennis court (needs a bit of a refurb). Sao Tome itself is the real winner though. The hotel can get you a local guide and he/she will take you exploring. The food (crabs, bread fruit, fresh fish) is fantastic as is the scenery. Go inland and see the volcanic towers and cocoa plantations.

Go to the less-explored end of the island where you can go searching for turtles at night and stay on a deserted beach in eco-huts (bit basic but your own patch of paradise). Definitely visit the famous chocolate man who will give you a tour and give you plenty of the tastiest chocolate in the world. Can't wait to go back and I'd definitely stay at Omali again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wahala-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest

I cannot express the beauty of Sao Tome and the comforters at The Omali better even if I tried. All I have to say is: “THANK YOU AND MANY HAPPY RETURNS!”

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed in the Omali after several stays at the Pestana, the competitor in the same price range. Omali certainly offers a greater level of comfort in the rooms. They are well maintained, supplied and very large. The price I had was a corporate one, which makes a lot of sense. At regular prices, this hotel may still be somewhat overpriced. It has great food, especially dinners. Breakfast is somewhat thin (here Pestana is clearly in the lead), although decent. For most items you have to pay extra. Internet at the time of my stay was reachable only at the reception and still very slow (the latter is common for the entire island). Staff are helpful, nice and speak English. There are other things you can do, such as diving provided by the same hotel complex (and highly recommended). Finally, the hotel is not so central, but everything in Sao Tome is within a 5 minute ride. The airport is within walking distance, literally. Basically, it's a great choice if you're prepared to pay a little extra.

Room Tip: Suites are nicer than rooms, but more expensive. None of them have yet wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BorisDivjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable and positive remarks. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Omali and took the opportunity to explore the activities offered. The Omali staff and managers are available to book various exciting options on the island.

I am happy to advise that we have internet in the rooms. We are also hopeful that the internet speed on the island will increase to world class speed this coming December with new technology that is being put into place.

The Omali is indeed close to the city center and a minute away from the airport, therefore a great choice for business, holiday or to stay overnight before departure.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Omali Lodge is set across from the beach and has spacious, en-suite rooms with air-conditioning, televisions, mini-bars and telephones. The beds are very comfortable, and linens are in good condition with amenities set out in the spacious bathrooms.

There are English speaking staff on hand to assist, and the service is excellent.

The gardens are beautifully set out around the swimming pool, and the restaurant offers sumptuous meals either served in the dining room or on the terrace, facing the ocean.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully set out and offer privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive remarks and noticing the efforts from staff and managers to ensure a wonderful guest experience.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Tome
2.7 mi away
Pestana Sao Tome
Pestana Sao Tome
#1 of 3 in Sao Tome
391 reviews
2.4 mi away
Miramar by Pestana
Miramar by Pestana
#3 of 3 in Sao Tome
159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sweet Guest House
Sweet Guest House
#1 of 21 in Sao Tome
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praia
Hotel Praia
#6 of 21 in Sao Tome
24 reviews
26.4 mi away
Praia Inhame Eco Lodge
Praia Inhame Eco Lodge
#1 of 2 in Porto Alegre
115 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mucumbli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omali Sao Tome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omali Sao Tome

Address: Praia Lagarto | Praia Lagarto, Sao Tome, Sao Tome Island, Sao Tome and Principe (Formerly Marlin Beach Hotel)
Location: Sao Tome and Principe > Sao Tome Island > Sao Tome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Tome
Price Range: $230 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omali Sao Tome 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omali, meaning 'ocean' and 'source of life', is the perfect location from which to explore the natural and cultural wonders of the equatorial island of Sao Tome. This stylishly decorated boutique hotel has suites for honeymooners, families and business travellers. All rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, air conditioner, Satellite TV, safe, telephone, coffee-making facilities and mini-bar.Hotel facilities include an air-conditioned restaurant, bar with terrace overlooking the beach, 24-hour reception, Wi-Fi internet connectivity, laundry service, meeting room, tennis court, swimming pool with poolside bar, as well as airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Omali Sao Tome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing