We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Sao Tome, though relatively overpriced”
Review of Omali Sao Tome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omali Sao Tome
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Tome
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great choice in Sao Tome, though relatively overpriced”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed in the Omali after several stays at the Pestana, the competitor in the same price range. Omali certainly offers a greater level of comfort in the rooms. They are well maintained, supplied and very large. The price I had was a corporate one, which makes a lot of sense. At regular prices, this hotel may still be somewhat overpriced. It has great food, especially dinners. Breakfast is somewhat thin (here Pestana is clearly in the lead), although decent. For most items you have to pay extra. Internet at the time of my stay was reachable only at the reception and still very slow (the latter is common for the entire island). Staff are helpful, nice and speak English. There are other things you can do, such as diving provided by the same hotel complex (and highly recommended). Finally, the hotel is not so central, but everything in Sao Tome is within a 5 minute ride. The airport is within walking distance, literally. Basically, it's a great choice if you're prepared to pay a little extra.

Room Tip: Suites are nicer than rooms, but more expensive. None of them have yet wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BorisDivjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable and positive remarks. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Omali and took the opportunity to explore the activities offered. The Omali staff and managers are available to book various exciting options on the island.

I am happy to advise that we have internet in the rooms. We are also hopeful that the internet speed on the island will increase to world class speed this coming December with new technology that is being put into place.

The Omali is indeed close to the city center and a minute away from the airport, therefore a great choice for business, holiday or to stay overnight before departure.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    60
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
52
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingstone, Zambia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Omali Lodge is set across from the beach and has spacious, en-suite rooms with air-conditioning, televisions, mini-bars and telephones. The beds are very comfortable, and linens are in good condition with amenities set out in the spacious bathrooms.

There are English speaking staff on hand to assist, and the service is excellent.

The gardens are beautifully set out around the swimming pool, and the restaurant offers sumptuous meals either served in the dining room or on the terrace, facing the ocean.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully set out and offer privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive remarks and noticing the efforts from staff and managers to ensure a wonderful guest experience.

Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The hotel is 5 minutes away from the main airport and separated from the beach by only a road. Sitting in the bar or restaurant, you may enjoy the view of the sea. Idyllic !

The rooms are very pretty and exceptionally clean. Staff very honest and no valuables are ever missing.
Extremely friendly and accommodating staff, Hotel well managed/run by Mr Shaun Meintjes.

The food is of highest quality - the portions are massive - exceptional value for your money.
Tasty/delicious cappuccinos and the most awesome peanut butter ice cream made by an in-house chef, (Trevor Pienaar) in addition to this lodge and its surrounding, a truly worthy experience. Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChancebyChanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for noticing all the wonderful expects of The Omali. This is indeed a great hotel to holiday, stay during a business trip, overnight before flying out or meeting the locals in our friendly bar. The Omali Bar and Terrace is indeed a place where you can forget that you are on duty and make new friends.
Kind Regards
Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Brilliant, no attitude staff, very good facilities. Katharina, one of the managers has been a great help to help with island's logistics and advice. Just to manage your expectations, this is a contemporary hotel, no ecolodge in the city of Sao Tome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review. Katherine is indeed a very valuable member of our team and knows the island well. Our front line staff and managers are the perfect people to assist to make suggestions to tailor make the wide range of options available in Sao Tome.

Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We emailed and let them know we were visiting for our anniversary, and they upgraded us (gratis) to their best room, the honeymoon suite! It was very nice, with a large king size bed and luxurious bathtub for my wife to soak in.
This is probably the nicest hotel on Sao Tome. The rooms are arranged sort of between bungalow and town-home style in a compound around a pool and meeting/party area, and the bar/reception/restaurant is inviting and pleasant. The service is friendly and generally competent. If you speak a little Portuguese it does help you get closer to what you want! I would certainly stay here again!
Sao Tome itself is pleasant, full of friendly, gregarious people with little or no crime to speak of, and wonderful beaches, lagoons, diving and fishing. All in all, a nice place to relax and explore. Bring plenty of cash, as credit cards (outside the hotel) are almost totally useless.

Room Tip: Let them know ahead of time if this is a romantic vacation for you, maybe you can get the honeymoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Klang01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeciliaFourie, General Manager at Omali Sao Tome, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for honoring us by spending your anniversary at The Omali. It is certainly our priority to make the stay of our guests wonderful and memorable, but even more so with special occasions.

We encourage all guests to advise any special occasions or requests. It is our pleasure to accommodate these requests to the best of our ability.

We are looking forward to welcoming back at The Omali.

Kind Regards

Cecilia
General Manager
Omali Lodge Luxury Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel, rooms and public areas are beautiful -- designed with style and comfort in mind. Rooms are spacious and the swimming pool is gorgeous. The food is quite good as well. The staff could not have been nicer. A couple of quibbles: wi-fi is available near Reception only, and it's maddeningly slow (less the fault of the hotel than a general issue on the island), and I wish they'd do a better job of mosquito-proofing the public areas at night. Pack a lot of insect repellent! But overall, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on Sao Tome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralphhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I stayed in Omali Lodge this summer and it was the perfect base to explore the island. The friendly staff helps to organize your excursions and speak multiple languages. Also spacious and luxurious rooms and great food. Good seafood but also loved the curries!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Tome
0.0 mi away
Pestana Sao Tome Ocean Resort
0.0 mi away
Pestana Equador - Ilheu das Rolas
0.0 mi away
Miramar by Pestana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bom Bom Principe Island
Bom Bom Principe Island
#1 of 1 in Principe
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sweet Guest House
Sweet Guest House
#1 of 18 in Sao Tome
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roca Belo Monte Hotel
Roca Belo Monte Hotel
#1 of 6 in Santo Antonio
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omali Sao Tome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omali Sao Tome

Property: Omali Sao Tome
Address: Praia Lagarto | Praia Lagarto, Sao Tome, Sao Tome Island, Sao Tome and Principe (Formerly Marlin Beach Hotel)
Location: Sao Tome and Principe > Sao Tome Island > Sao Tome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Tome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omali Sao Tome 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omali, meaning 'ocean' and 'source of life', is the perfect location from which to explore the natural and cultural wonders of the equatorial island of Sao Tome. This stylishly decorated boutique hotel has suites for honeymooners, families and business travellers. All rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, air conditioner, Satellite TV, safe, telephone, coffee-making facilities and mini-bar.Hotel facilities include an air-conditioned restaurant, bar with terrace overlooking the beach, 24-hour reception, Wi-Fi internet connectivity, laundry service, meeting room, tennis court, swimming pool with poolside bar, as well as airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omali Sao Tome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing