We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
0
7
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
0
7
4
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2015

Located very close to the airport, the hotel is clean and spacious. Ask for a room with a sea view as the view is really lovely across the bay. There is also a veranda all along the length of the hotel which is lovely to sit on. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and you there are 2 or 3 restaurants around the hotel, making it very convenient to go out for dinner close by. It is located a bit far away from the town centre, but a half hour walk around the bay or a 10 minute taxi (yellow mini bus) will get you there!

Room tip: choose a room with a sea view if possible.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 140lucianar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very close to the airport (200 meters) so it's very convenient to stop here on arrival or before departure. Rooms are not splendid but have everything that is needed including free wifi. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Floor carpets in the corridor need cleaning.
Very good restaurant with modern kitchen. The food is really tasty - one of the best in town.

Room tip: The rooms with the sea-view are quiter than those facing the road.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex-124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the O Bigodes hotel on her first day in Sao Tome. The hotel is literally a five minute walk from the airport. The hotel owner's wife also works at the hotel and came to greet us upon arrival. The owner picked us up and took us to the hotel. We had just arrived on an overnight flight and were still a bit dreary eyed and had had problems with our visa for Sao Tome. So, the nice welcome by the O Bigodes owner and the ease of getting to the hotel and registration was a relief.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. They spoke sufficient english to help us and always had a smile for us. They even allowed us to use their local mobile phones to make various calls.

The rooms are basic but clean with air conditioning. You need air conditioning in Sao Tome town. Its very hot and sticky. Our room looked out to the bay which was also very nice. We had a nice breakfast at the restaurant although the price was higher than we had expected! We would have stayed longer at O Bigodes had it not been for our ambitious schedule and short period of time.

We were trying to decide whether to rent a car and go around the island or to use a taxi/private driver. We met with a taxi driver and he suggested an itinerary which would have required us returning to Sao Tome for several additional nights versus staying in the Rocas or other country hotels. However, the amount of money he was asking for we decided that we'd might as well rent our own vehicle and just get lost on the beautiful island. We tried to find a rental car agency at the airport to no avail. We also went to a number of the larger hotels and asked people on the street to no avail. We eventually found Martinho, whom works at the Omali Resort hotel. He has a side business renting cars to visitors. Martinho was great and provided us with a car for the next day at our hotel. Martinho could also recommend a guide if you'd like. Most of the local guides would know where the best spots are for swimming in the waterfalls and the trails through the green mountains. Our guide was a young guy. He wasn't provided by Martinho but we had met him while looking for a vehicle and his confidence and vivaciousness convince us to take him along with us on our travels. It worked out great for the most part but don't let them keep the keys to the vehicle if you allow them to drive. Our young guide would take off in the car and we did have a few problems which Martinho was great at fixing and righting the situation. Our young guide didn't think anything wrong with this as he was very 'Leve, leve' (calm). The people of Sao Tome are very nice and welcoming and as there are very few tourists the place is like a paradise!

Make sure that you bring enough Euros, USD, or Sterling. The ATM's do not take international cards and so you have to exchange currency at the bank. I tried to use my debit card to get cash from over the counter at the bank and it was declined by my UK bank! If you want to get cash from a card you have to go to one of the international hotels and you actually need a credit card (not a debit card!). The credit card will also work over the counter at the bank but a debit card will not!

All and all we enjoyed the O Bigodes and absolutely loved Sao Tome.

Room tip: Ask for the bay side!
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank turneeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Hotel was on the outskirts of town, near the airport. A small modest hotel but very nice, overlooking the bay of Sao Tome and out over the Atlantic as well. Possibilities for a bath when there was a small beach directly beside the hotel. The hotel had a terrace where you could sit and enjoy. Directly beside the hotel was a restaurant with delicious food and friendly service. The only drawback was that there were the mosquitoes at night so you had to have protection to avoid being bitten as much as I was in the beginning.
The rooms were small but still reasonable and pleasant with air condition of course. We slept very well there too.
If I'm going to Sao Tome again I want to stay at the hotel again, not on anything else. Do not like big luxury hotel.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Khamlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews