We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great satisfaction , perfect comfort and a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malabo
Certificate of Excellence
rabat morocco
1 review
“Great satisfaction , perfect comfort and a warm welcome”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Accustomed to the luxury Sofitel, I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel, the benefits are of a high first full conformity hotelieres of luxury. My stay was very pleasant and I would like to congratulate the management of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghalighali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Ghalighali,

Thank you very much for your comment, it is always a pleasure to give a luxury experience to our guest.

Best regards

Sylvain Chauvet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    60
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
40
25
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
198 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

If finding an excellent hotel in South Africa is something easy, staying in a good hotel in west Africa is much less easy.
However, after staying at Sofitel sipopo in Malabo, I start to change my mind cause this really good hotel experience was totally unexpected in term of design, comfort, cleanliness but service as well.
Ideally located next to a golf course and facing the ocean, this luxurious hotel could be the pride of west Africa.
Very modern, this really well designed property is like a mirage but it's well real and you'll find the highest standard expected from a Sofitel brand hotel.
Staff is really welcome and we can see how proud they are to work in this hotel. Consequently they all provide an unparalleled level if service for west Africa. All of them are smily, nice and efficient. They always greet you with a warm "hello" and I've been truly impressed.
Rooms are great. Large windows overlooking ocean or golf course, very spacious with an immaculate and ultra comfortable "signature" bed, very beautifully appointed with African touches and very well equipped. I've stayed in a 35 sq. meters deluxe and didn't want to leave meaning the atmosphere is very good. Same satisfaction with the luxurious bathroom, very clean and with Hermes amenities. (I just regret there wasn't a separate shower... Maybe in the suites...). To be honest I've never seen such a wonderful accommodation in west Africa.
Concerning F&B, if breakfast is absolutely amazing with a great selection of high quality dishes (very good smoked salmon, yummy Serrano ham and hot chocolate to die for) and well presented on an elegant buffet, I've been a bit disappointed by the dinner quality and the room service selection. I'm sure the excellent management will improve it soon.
A few other things have to be settled like fake flowers on the bar tables which is unfortunate in a tropical area and make the garden more lively would be a "plus".
But to resume, let's just say Sofitel sipopo will provide you the best you can imagine. Wifi is working very well, there is a very decent fitness center, a large pool and an elegant spa and the whole team working with heart to make you feel like at home.
Congratulations and for sure an high recommended hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dar Mr Chaplain,

Thank you so much for your comment on Tripadvisor. I had already received your letter left to my attention at the reception. I must say that it is very rare to have someone take so much time to say good things about his stay.
I will definitly share you comment with all my ambassadors.
I hope we will have the occasion and pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

An unique experience on Bioko Isle. The sunrise over Horacio Islands is breathtaking. Excellent management and trained staff, which makes your stay in SOFITEL Malabo Sipopo Le Golf unforgettable. Must mention here the gorgeous golf course, his management and perfect maintenance. Thanks Sylvain, Bernard, Nicolas, Mario, Ana and all the rest of staff members.
Certainly we will come back.

Room Tip: Select a sea front room, the view is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear AdrianCI,

Thank you ver much for your comment. We are glad we managed to give you a Magnifique moment. We have already shared your comment with all our ambassaords.

We are looking for seeing you again soon.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Hotel is in an excellent location, with half the rooms overlooking the sea, those at the front look out on the golf course. Great pool, spa, and fitness centre. The rooms are large and very well apppointed. But for me, the best think about this hotel is the staff and management. Friendly, efficient, relaxed and always helpful. It is always a pleasure to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Of course the sea rooms are the most preferred. But the other rooms look out over a beautiful golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Peter,

As a long stay guest, I am proud to read your comment. It is sometimes difficult to satisfied a long stay guest over a long period and I am glad we succeed.

Thank you again and be sure that I will share your comment to all the ambassadors.

regards

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bata
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very nice hotel, the best i have never seen in Equatorial Guinea.
Superb rooms, amazing view from the balcony (our room was facing the sea).
Not to mention the legendary sofitel bed, which invite you in a world of "relaxation".
The staff was very friendly, impressive!
Possiblity to do fishing or Jet ski in blue waters and many other activities (spa, golf...)
Very very good and relaxing week-end!
In short, we will definitly come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your comment that we will share with our team. As you, we start to have lot of people coming to spend the week-end that is really new in Equatorial Guinea and in Malabo.
We hope to see you again soon for another relaxing week-end.
Thank you

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bata, Litoral, Equatorial Guinea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sofitel Malabo Le Golf is by far the best hotel in Equatorial Guinea! I live in Equatorial Guinea since 2007, and spent the week end in this Hotel. What a great moment of calm and relaxation! Warm welcome at the reception, with a refreshing chocolate drink (very nice after air travel), decoration design and classy, rooms IM-PEC-CA-BLES (not mentionning the bed which repairs your body after a good night of sleep ... Patent "MY BED" ... Back pain ? Did you say back pain ? Don't know what you're talking about !), impressive and delicious sunday buffet, and of course, the sea (you can fish!), the pool, the golf course and the SPA... All the highest Sofitel standards are there. And to add some little effect, we have seen the "Nzalang", which is the national feminine football team, representing Equatorial Guinea in the feminine African Cup.
In short, this Hotel is meant for those who are looking for a special moment in a special place!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Switoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Switoo,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here specially coming from mainland to relax in our hotel.
We are glad as well that you appreciate the worldwide Sofitel bed concept My Bed.
We really hope to see you again and make your next stays more & more ralaxing.

Thank you

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Deceided on a weekend break from Malabo City. Checked into Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf from Saturday to Sunday. Service at the hotel was great and the check in smooth. Got a beautiful room with a sea view and balcony. Enjoyed the buffet in the restaurant in the evening.
Stuggelig to get out of the extremely comfortable beds the next day, we spent time by the pool, had a lovely Sunday lunch at the restaurant, then a walk around the island, and more time by the pool, before it was time to head back to reality again. Late check out on Sundays was a nice surprise. Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf is a peaceful place and a bit magic in the evenings with all the lights. Unfortunately didn't have time to test out the golf course which looks great, or the spa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topsy540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Topsy540,

Thank you very much for your comment, and glad Sofitel Sipopo helps you to spend a stressless week-end. As you can see, we have so many thing to do that a week end is not enought to discover so we hope to welcome you soon to try our golf course and of course our SPA with specific treatments for specific needs.

Hope to see you soon again.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malabo
12.7 mi away
Hilton Malabo
Hilton Malabo
#4 of 13 in Malabo
154 reviews
10.6 mi away
Magno Suites
Magno Suites
#2 of 13 in Malabo
81 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sofitel Malabo
Sofitel Malabo
#3 of 13 in Malabo
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ibis Malabo
Ibis Malabo
#5 of 13 in Malabo
104 reviews
24.5 mi away
Fini Hotel Bobende
Fini Hotel Bobende
#4 of 5 in Limbe
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Djibloho
Grand Hotel Djibloho
#1 of 1 in Djibloho
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf

Property: Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Address: | Zona Sipopo, Malabo, Bioko Island 00209, Equatorial Guinea
Location: Equatorial Guinea > Bioko Island > Malabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf Hotel Malabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing