We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“little paradise in Malabo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malabo
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“little paradise in Malabo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel may be a little faraway from the city but it doesn't take longer to go to the airport than if you were in the city.You will be surprise by the quality of the service and how beautiful are all facilities. Large , luminous rooms; beautiful view on the sea from your large terrasse . The pool is large and , very important for travellers, cleaned every morning and clear as if you were in the Caraïbes. Of course the golfers will enjoy the golf course in the tropical forest.
The staff is efficient and the management will do the best to help you .
So really worth a stay

Room Tip: As the building has a sinusoid chape some rooms are a little more luminous with 4 windows instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alain l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Alain,

Thank you very much for your comment. We will make sure our service will be even better for your next trip.

Sylvain chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
39
21
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mulhouse, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice hotel,very friendly and lovely staff, helpful.Great stay.Nice spa Nice golf, fantastic area!
Very clean rooms, well decorated, good bed.
Very good "sunday brunch" with nice local decorations and tasty food.

Room Tip: Room "sea view" (pool side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krawec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment. I am glad you enjoyed as well the hospitality, the room and the food.
We hope to satisfy you again during your next trip.

Best regards

Sylvain Chauvet
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here during a conference that was attended by many dignitaries. Given the security and disruption that comes with the movement of Heads of State, the Sofitel took this in its stride. The staff are professional and courteous and the management don't hide in their offices but seem to be out in the hotel public areas during most of the day meeting and greeting guests, asking how your stay is and if there is anything they can do to make it better. The hotel and its surroundings are beautiful and relaxing from the private beach to the world class golf course that sits just behind. The food is the best that I had in Malabo and comes with a French flair. You even get a bridge out to a private tropical island. A true tropical paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Simken,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. Telling us that we managed to give you a french flair is the best compliment you could give us. In Sofitel, we like to make the link between the local culture and the French Flair (or elegance). I am really happy that you enjoyed all our team from waiters to managers.
We hope to welcome you again in Sofitel Sipopo.

Best regards

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Sofitel Sipopo is a little paradise in the middle of Equatorial Guinea. Beautiful surroundings, stunning and comfortable bedrooms, impeccable service and delicious food which makes you feel like you could be in the centre of Paris. All topped with the best service ever- thank you for making my trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouska H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Anouska H
Thank you very much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to write it. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been traveling for work through Africa since 2002 and this hotel is by far the BEST I have ever stayed at in Africa. My only issue is that it is rather isolated if you wanted to get out to town. I don't think I've ever seen a taxi at the hotel - although there is a good police presence with a station less than 1/2 mile down the street and several substations closer.

1. Rooms are spacious with a refrigerator (small) and nice flat screen TV (only English stations are news - they could improve on that).

2. Bathroom is big, some rooms only have a shower and some have a bathtub that is huge.

3. Breakfast was included and offered a very wide variety of foods to include fruit and lots of bread and the usual breakfast food (eggs & omelets to order)

4. Staff is attentive to your needs - although I have seen the manager walk within 10-15 feet look at me and not say a word on several occasions (at least 2x daily during a 1 week stay) which I thought was rather odd since he addressed almost everyone.

5. There is a large golf course in the front of the hotel and the back offers a nice ocean view with a small island you can walk out to via a small bridge - look over the side as you walk and you will see many different types of small fish. Also there are lots of shells on the beach too...

6. A/C is VERY good as are the hot water and electricity.

7. Internet is good too but it is wired, only wireless in the lobby.

8. Room service is reasonable and quick - with food arriving at your room usually in less than 20 minutes.

9. They also have three .5L bottles in the room of water for you to drink - I brush my teeth with the hot tap water and have no issues but I wouldn't drink the water - only bottled.

10. The island behind the hotel has lots of potential for scuba diving if you are interested but you should bring your own gear (snorkel & mask). There were several people spearfishing while we were there.

Would I return - YES, it really is a comfortable stay here your only concern would be transportation around the island. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: I would go for the ocean view if you can afford it - I really enjoy the HUGE bathtub. Don't forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Mr Jay,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel and we will make sure your next stay will be even better.
I take note on your 4th point. I am personnaly back today to Malabo from my annual leaves and I would ask you to send me an email just before your next stay. I will personnally welcome you and make your stay to be "Life is Magnifique".
Thank you again.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Location is conveninet, especially for attending a conference. Rooms are convenient, but not top notch. Food is of very high standard. Beautiful golf course, but very average fitness facilities. Service is good, but defiitely room for improvement. Wifi is a problem and only free access in the lounge. Overall a good place to stay, but rater overpriced.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank michiel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Michiel,

Thank you for your comment that are always positive to us. As you said even if the service is very good, there is always place for improvment ad we are working on it daily.
I hope we will welcome you again soon in our hotel. I will organize something for you to get Wifi in your room.
Thank you again.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels (including the Sofitel brands) in different countries and the Sofitel Malabo Sipopo now ranks as one of my many favourities. The hotel was clean, the staff very very friendly and the food was fantastic. I wasnt quite sure what to expect on this very first trip to Malabo and the Sofitel Sipopo was indeed a surprise. You will have to visit to appreciate its warm hospitality amid lush greenery, lovely beach and the view of Mount Cameroon from my room. Absolutely breathtaking. The only fault i have was that there was no network coverage on my phone throughout (which is somewhat annoying when you're on a business trip!) and getting a taxi from the hotel (Sipopo) into Malabo was a nightmare! Apparently taxis are not allowed into Sipopo!! Overall, a top class hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the ocean view! The view is simply amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Stephen,

Thank you very much for your comment. On weekly basis, we share all comments on tripadivsor with our ambassadors (in Sofitel we name ambassadors all our employees) and I guess they will be delighted with your comment.

Hoping to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malabo
8.0 mi away
Sofitel Malabo
Sofitel Malabo
#3 of 13 in Malabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
10.0 mi away
Magno Suites
Magno Suites
#2 of 13 in Malabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hilton Malabo
Hilton Malabo
#4 of 13 in Malabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ibis Malabo
Ibis Malabo
#5 of 13 in Malabo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Anda China Malabo
Hotel Anda China Malabo
#6 of 13 in Malabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Djibloho
Grand Hotel Djibloho
#1 of 1 in Djibloho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf

Property: Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Address: | Zona Sipopo, Malabo, Bioko Island 00209, Equatorial Guinea
Location: Equatorial Guinea > Bioko Island > Malabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf Hotel Malabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing